Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sergey from CA, USA

mediocre - but good locaiton

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is located about 10 minutes walk from the chain bridge and 200m from metro station - so location is OK - but remember that most attractions (except the castle) are located on the Pest side. Rooms definitely show their age and hotels does have smoking floors - make sure you check that you get nonsmoking one if that matters. Said that, the rooms are clean. Lobby is always crowded and it takes few minutes before you can get to someone @Reception. Breakfast is of average quality. Bartender in the lobby bar is nice and friendly. Another thing wotrh mentioning is that we were charged ~20 euros per room of some sort of tourist tax on top of prepaid hotels.com reservation. It is mentioned in the reservation confirmation but you have to look for this notice. Overall - good location, appropriate price - but below the standard of other Mercure hotels in Eastern Europe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Zingeborg from UK

Great location

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was in the perfect location for my needs to visit family near by. Rooms a clean, well appointed, with coffee making facilities and mini fridge. Great view over Vérmezõ Park and Castle Hill. Only slight hiccup on arrival after late check-in (1:00 AM) - was given key to a room already occupied - opened the door to find someone asleep in the bed!!! Went back to reception to be met by a rather red faced receptionist at the elevator, offering profuse apologies for giving me the wrong key! Funniest thing to happen to me in a long time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel nice location

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Stopped for a long weekend good base location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Solo traveller

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for 3 nights, pleasant enough. Bang on 4 stars. Nice restaurant - food was good. Staff friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a great breakfast

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Lovely breakfast and good restuarant
Location: The hotrl is close to Buda castle and a shopping centre is close by
hotel is relatively well positioned to all facilities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Word from London

Great hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was fantastic, clean, comfortable and good service, everything you'd expect. It's location is in an area with very little going on, although it's less than 5 minutes from a metro station, 30 minutes walk to the top of Castle Hill (lots of stairs involved) and about 20 minutes walk to the chain bridge (if walking through the tunnel that runs beneath the Castle Hill). Buffet breakfast was good but the same foods appear each day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Zsolt85

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dave from Phoenix

A hidden gem.

Posted Aug 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel has a good location on bus lines and near the Chain Bridge. Check in was very easy and everyone was professional. The room was comfortable but smaller by American standards but still large enough for my mobility scooter to park in the room. The cost of this room was amazing for what I got. Very reasonable and included wifi and breakfast. The room had a nice double bed small, 19" flat panel TV with 1 BBC channel I could understand. It had a desk, closet, in-room safe, refrig and a coffee/tea service. My view looked out onto the back of Buda Castle, great sunrise. The included breakfast was very good. It had a nice selection of cereals, breads, eggs, Hungarian food, cheeses, yogurt, fresh fruit, meats, even herring. I suggest if both sides are open eating in the smaller one as they have a few items the other did not, like the herring. By the front desk there is a small room with computers and a printer that I used allot to print documents I needed for meeting. I had a few questions about the local are and again the front desk was quick to respond. I will b back for an extended stay and plan on booking here.