Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Location is good!

Posted Jul 20, 2014
It is located just by the side of the beautiful Danube. You can enjoy the nice view of the Parliament Building from the hotel room!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great hotel close to transport

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Good service responsive staff and good location. Clean and well serviced
Cons: No laundry facilities available and the price/cost of having laundry done was very/too expensive. We found one laundry mat in Budapest much cheaper.
Location: Close to the transport system which you can use to get anywhere you want to go cheaply. Cafe's and food stores close by.
Very welcoming staff after a very long travel time of 27 hours. Lovely people and very helpfull
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by rob from Toronto the great

4 Days in Budapest

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: We ate at the morning breakfast buffet. Children eat free. They had a good selection of fresh food.
Cons: The food options for children.
So we just came back from our trip to Hungary yesterday. We spent 4 days in Budapest staying at the Novotel Danube hotel. The hotel is modern with very decent amenities. Rooms are clean. Make sure you choose to stay in a 'river view' room which has views facing the Parliament building across the Danube river. The hotel is on the Buda side and close to the Castle and the Fisherman's Bastion, both sites a must see. The Hop on Hop Off bus tour has a stop not too far from the hotel. It is a good way to get about the city. 5000 Forints gets you an adult pass for 2 days. Mind you it is a 'yellow' stop line which is a different route than the 'red' line and will impact where you can go (mind you it is easy to switch between the lines from bus to bus). We were traveling with a 4 yr old child. The dinner menu is very limited for children. We ordered the pasta with meat balls which we thought would be great. The pasta was cold. The sauce was a tomato paste mixed with peppers (I think) and the meat balls were meat patties. My child ate the pasta but would not go near the other items. Not a great children's menu at all. Good location on the Buda side close to some major sites. You are isolated in the evenings though. You can walk along the river which is beautiful but you are not near other restaurants or even a place for a coffee or ice cream. You will need to take a cab across the bridge to the Pest side to experience some of the nicer restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by couple from Warwick, England

Holiday stay

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Very smart, helpful staff.
Cons: Food was too pricey for us.
Location: Right on the bank of the Danube with views that are hard to match. Discuss public transport with staff, this can be a bit tricky if you don't know how
Very clean and professional hotel. Staff very helpful and have very good command of English language. Had lovely view of the river too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for visiting Budapest.

Posted May 30, 2014
Location: Metro very nearby and accessible for travelling around the city. The bus tour was excellent for a first time visit to to the city.
Excellent accommodation for a family wishing to explore the city and surrounding area of Budapest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Peterborough, UK

Great Location

Posted May 29, 2014
The outside of the hotel doesn't do it justice. Inside is what matters and it doesn't let you down! The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are a good size and comfortable. Try and get one facing the river if you can. The location is perfect, with most things within walking distance. If walking isn't your thing, the metro and tram station is only 200 metres away. I would highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location across from the parliament building

Posted May 23, 2014
Great restaurant,comfortable rooms, great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 10, 2014
Location: Nearest Metro and trams just 300 yds away which take you into city centre in 10 minutes and run very frequently. Must visit Palace and Matthias church
Loved the location, opposite the Parliament building which looks stunning in the evening sun. The room was a good size with an excellent large shower/wash room and separate toilet. Also a two-seater settee to watch TV. Free use of a safe and a mini bar in which to cool water or own juice. Although only there 3 nights the bed linen was changed on the third day. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant had a good selection of food at fairly reasonable prices. All in all an excellent stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sissy from USA georgia

my stay at the novotel budapest

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: the location. right on the danbue river, across from the parliment.
Cons: a top sheet on the bed and BLEACH the towels, so that they are brighter.
Location: metro only 2 minutes away most things walkable.
i had a very nice stay . i was checked in right at my arrival. everyone was very nice and helpful. order a cab when ever i needed one. breakfasr was very good, many varieties. my room was nice. i only had to ask for a sugar refill and it was brought to me very fast. i will be back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from Worthing U.K

Great city ,great view, great location

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Location and service standards
Cons: Replenishment of breakfast buffet was slow in week days
Location: Much better to stay in the quieter Buda and travel to attractions via excellent transportation network
My wife and I were celebrating our 35 year wedding anniversary and we not only got an up-grade to a river/parliament view but also a bottle of champagne and some nicely presented fruit. Staff at the hotel could not do enough for us and attended to our every need. Total responsiveness to customer demand of a 5 star standard in a reasonably priced 4 star hotel. We stay a lot in Novotel hotels around the U.K. but we have never experienced such service across the board from every member of staff. We will be returning and have already recommended the hotel to friends and family.