Ratings based on 506 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Good central hotel, spectacular views.

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Doormen charming and helpful, large spacious interior, easy and helpful check out.
Cons: The (female) receptionist on our check-in was unfriendly and looked bored! 2 bath robes would have been nice.
Location: So much to see, all within walking distance. Advantage of being next to the Danube, easy access via Chain Bridge to Buda castle area and to all Pest.
Easy to stay in, rooms lack certain character but all essentials included. Good lift service to rooms and excellent daily cleaning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom k

The hotel by the river

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Great hotel and if you pay enough you can get a room with the amazing view of the river Danube. I was disappointed with the TV situation. One channel in English, which was sky news. So that's all we watched. No film channel. You can borrow a DVD player from reception which is a hassle and they had six rubbish films to offer. Staff excellent. Would recommend the hotel though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in modern deluxe hotel

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Was pleasantly surprised to find this 4+ star hotel so well situated and reasonably priced for the quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location!

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Wonderful hotel as a base for exploring all the major spots in town!!would have loved to have had a price that included breakfast. Still a wonderful comfortable stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic food, service

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Everything, including food views, staff
Magical stay, the beds are so comfortable, staff fantastic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom england

Husbands 50th surprise present.

Posted Oct 30, 2014
An amazing hotel in a beautiful city. The hotel was immaculate with the most comfortable beds. The staff went out if their way to help us too. We did not have breakfast as it was too expensive. There was a little cafe around the corner that served breakfast at a fraction of the price. I would recommend this hotel for its ambience and location. We had a spectacular view of the chain bridge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: The location, the interior and the staff.
Location: The hotel is situated opposite Chain Bridge. There are many restaurants and shops nearby and we managed to see most of the sights on foot.
I made a big mistake by not booking a room with a view of the Danube. The hotel foyer is beautiful but my room was a little dull. I was also a little disappointed that the only TV programmes in English were News channels. The spa and pool were very good and I had a wonderful massage. The staff were very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view and great location

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Comfortable beds and beautiful view towards the river! It's definitely worth to pay the extra price to get that view.
Cons: I thought the rooms needed to be painted! There were several scratches and marks on the wall. The hotel is so nice that this is an unfortunate detail.
My favorite part about this hotel was definitely the fabulous view (for rooms looking out towards Buda and the Danube). And just a few steps out the door and you're right in the pedestrian center of Pest. You can either walk along the river and hop into different restaurants, or take a walk along the insider pedestrian shopping streets. Or, in the other direction, you will be at St. Michael's in 5 minutes, or by crossing the bridge, at the foot of Buda hill. All in all, in addition to being a very comfortable hotel, it's a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect break - central, stylish and top service

Posted Oct 21, 2014
We arrived on Friday evening with my parents for a weekend city break. We had upgraded to luxury rooms with views over the river and let the hotel know that we were celebrating a couple of birthdays - when shown to our rooms we were not only treated to amazing views but a glass of champagne as well. It was a perfect finishing touch and set us up to enjoy a wonderful stay. We swam each morning in the pool which nobody else seemed to do - had the pool and sauna to ourselves every day. Hotel staff were professional and polite which is what you expect at a Sofitel but many of them went the extra mile and were very friendly too. We will go back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ipswich

Very Central

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Pool. Location. View. Comfort. Impressive lobby.
Location: Chain Bridge. Hop on Hop off buses are a must. Gellert or Rudas Spa. Dinner at Spoon the Boat - just outside the hotel is divine.
Excellent hotel, great position. A room with a Danube view is a must. Comfortable and all conveniences you need. Indoor pool is lovely. Extrememly helpful concierges and bellhops. Always taxis handy. FAntastic.