Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Castle Keep

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Location Well maintained property. Rooms furnished with beautiful antiques.
Cons: Only a bath tub and hand shower in bathroom.
Location: Short walk to Fisherman's Bastion, Mathias Church and Presidential Palace.
Beautiful hotel adorned with antiques. We chose bronze level accommodation and found it to be excellent. Rooms were spacious with good beds. Small kitchens included in suite. Small corner grocery store within 5 minute walk was perfect for food for breakfast. Had dinner in restaurant one night and were very satisfied with the food and service. Only downside was only a large bath tub and hand shower in bathroom - no shower. Very satisfied and would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with some drawbacks

Posted Jul 4, 2010 on Hotels.com
On arrival we were given a silver suite even though we had booked a gold. We were not told about it and only "discovered" it later in the day. To rectify this they gave us breakfast each morning which we had not paid for. The hotel advertises invididually controlled airconditioning, but the airconditioning unit for the whole hotel is not switched on. The temperatures were in the high 20's but even after repeated requests over 4 days they would not switch on the aircon. They did however provide us with a fan. The rooms however are enourmous and spotlessly clean. The hotel had a great feeling to it, however it is not in the heart of budapest, but on the hill in the castle. This has great views of the city
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

What an experience

Posted Jul 3, 2010 on Hotels.com
My wife and I are Tour Conductors for group tours, and we came over a couple of days early to scout new cities. I took a flyer on this hotel based on all the reviews from multiple sources. Even then, I was somewhat skeptical because of the great deal I was getting on the rate. The place was as advertised and more. It truly is an all-suites boutique hotel, in the heart of the Castle District. The room had a large (for European standards) entry room, complete w/Baroque-style furnishings - quite elegant. It had a small kitchenette w/2-burner stovetop, a microwave, dishes and cookware, a mini-bar, and a complimentary bottle of wine. Wired internet was free, and if you don't have an ethernet cord, they will provide one. The bedroom was nice, the bedding was fine, and the bathroom was very nice. They still have a touch of the Europe of 20 years ago in that there was no shower door or curtain. The tub had a handheld showerhead that worked perfectly, you just need to think ahead a little. We only got to stay here one night, but we will ALWAYS come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted May 28, 2010 on Hotels.com
Rooms, service, hotel, courtyard, location - couldn't be better. Don't bother with breakfast, it's overpriced and poor quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by RS from Cambridge UK

One of our favourite hotels

Posted May 17, 2010
Our second visit confirmed our opinion that the St George's Residence is one of our favourite hotels in Europe ( the other being the Wentworth Hotel, Aldeburgh, Suffolk) We were welcomed by a young receptionist, with great charm and unforced friendliness. The staff were delightful and went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Our room was a Bronze Suite - last time it was a Silver - but even though supposedly less glamorous, it was still most attractive, spacious and comfortable. The food was good and reasonably priced - my only gripe, as a vegetarian is that there were not many vegetarian options - but this is a universal problem. We will go back again and soon. The location is wonderful and provides scope for our favourite pastime of evening walking. As I said in my last review - maybe, when we are extremely ancient, we will contemplate moving in for at least part of the year - much more fun than an old people's home. ( And cheaper!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

First class

Posted May 6, 2010 on Hotels.com
This could well qualify as the best hotel value I have ever experienced...and I have stayed in countless hotels! The rooms are enormous and beautifully appointed - even the plumbing fittings are beautiful. The kitchen was remarkably well equipped with lovely glassware and accoutrements - not that I had any intention of cooking. I had a bronze suite overlooking the lovely courtyard and felt like I was in a ballroom, particularly when compared to Asian hotels. The hotel staff were very helpful and eager to please. 10/10 without doubt . Budapest is such a gloriously beautiful city and this hotel is wonderful place from which to explore it. I hope to get back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from St. Catharines, ON

St George Residence - Once in a lifetime

Posted Apr 26, 2010 on Hotels.com
This hotel is stellar. Staying there is like staying in a castle. The property has been a residence of one sort or another for centuries and when you see its current decor of marble, wooden antiques and gilding, you feel like you have taken a trip in a time machine. Our bronze apartment was so large that it had four separate rooms including a den and entertaining room. The room was immaculate always. The staff were all friendly and well versed in how to get around Budapest. The restaurant was excellent and one hidden delight is the inner courtyard which is perfect for breakfasts. The stone walls of the residence create an absolute stillness broken only by birds chattering. Nestled among other historic buildings in the Castle District, this is a once in a lifetime experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent Hotel. Luxurious, friendly and a great price

Posted Jan 16, 2010
Excellent hotel, located in the centre of Buda. Beautifully decorated - free glass of champagne on arrival and complimentary bottle of wine. Staff very helpful. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sherman from San Diego, CA

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2009
Large spacious suites; very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Reading PA

Outstanding - Much more than a hotel!

Posted Nov 1, 2009
This hotel was exactly like it is pictured on their website. Very elegant, the rooms were very large including the huge bathroom with soaking tub. This is by far one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. The kitchen was great with everything available you would need. The location on the Buda side is good but in the evening there is very little to offer. I was there in October and when I got off the bus from Pest at night, I was often the only one on the street. Of course it was raining the whole week which kept many people in doors. That being said, there are a few good restaurants nearby (the cafepierrot a few doors down was excellent for fine dining), the bus is very convenient and runs every few minutes witheasy access to the metro. If I ever went back to Budapest I would not even consider another hotel.