Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
This is the second time we've stayed here. It is convenient to the functions we attend. This time was different then the last, different room. This room was not as comfortable and was rather noisy.
2 out of 5
by mathteacher from WP, CO

You get what you pay for!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The happy bird in the lobby.
Cons: Please see above.
Location: The location was fine. An easy walk into the heart of Salida and the river as well as easy access to Monarch Ski Resort.
It got an excellent rating so I thought it must be some hidden gem. Wrong. It was as clean as it could be considering evrything needed to be thrown away and replaced or remodeled. The fan in the bathroom was not even hooked up and there was a crack between the door and the jamb providing a line of sight into the hallway; not a desireable thing in a hotel door. Apparently it got some awards for a number of years but the last year for an award was 2011. Doesn't count any more. The breakfast consisted of a lot of highly processed white foods, yuck. If I was 20 and broke it would suffice but not any more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very affordable and clean!

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Location: Great location to everything
The hotel had beautiful hand made furniture and touches. Beautiful bird in the main lobby every morning was a true delight to listen to. Very clean rooms and plenty of pillows to choose from. The staff made up the room each day and tucked our daughters teddy bear in at the same time! The hotel staff were very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Great breakfast

Posted Apr 1, 2014
We thought that it was a quirky clean hotel with lots of unique touches. My daughter said that it was the best hotel breakfast she had ever had. Our room was clean and comfortable. We had a nice stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business overnight

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable, not badly priced, internet worked well in my room
Cons: Breakfast was not very well maintained. They should add scrambled eggs. There are only grains to choose from: waffles, toast, muffins, rolls, cereal.
Location: Lots a places to eat. I was working at the airport and just stayed one night.
The door didn't fit the frame very well and I could see into the hallway from the bathroom sink. The breakfast was not maintained very well. Supposed to be from 7 to 9, but there was nothing left when I got there at 8:30. It was ok other than those two things.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Stay

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Very nice hotel. Staff was extremely pleasant and the room was comfortable and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by C from Colorado

Nice comfortable room.

Posted Mar 20, 2014
We only stayed here one night but it was convenient and comfortable. The only thing that kept it from getting excellent all the way around were the towels, not very plush. And they could use some updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Colorado Springs

Nice Hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Location and comfortable beds
Cons: Improve breakfast
Location: 20 mins from ski mountain.
Overall nice hotel. Breakfast was very minimal. No hot food or fresh fruit. Egg choice was hard boiled eggs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by T.C. from CoS

Nice place

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Nice friendly staff. The only complaint was the thin walls. Some jerk woke the whole place up at 2:30am yelling down the halls. My guess is that he was drunk, lost, and was looking for his room. Other than that, everything was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful experience

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Over all an A. The hotel owner was so friendly and helpful. He was so hospitable and pleasant it was the true definition of excellent customers service.