Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

this is a cheap hostal. Not a bussiness hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Pretty good hostel

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hostel really does tick most of the boxes of a great hostel. The location is great - easy walking distance to the microcentro, and San Telmo is a really atmospheric barrio. The staff all spoke English well, and there was plenty of chill out areas. The hostel was kept really clean and I did enjoy having my bed made for me everyday! I went on both of the free tours that they offered. The tours weren't great, but I appreciated them because they helped me get settled into the city, and meet a few people. The breakfast was sufficient - toast, 3 types of cereal and, um, cake. The kitchen was way too small, and under equipped to deal with the peak season numbers though. The beds in the dorm were really comfy, however they really need to fix that super squeaky bunk in room 504 (possibly the same one mentioned by a previous reviewer). Also, the shower cubicle was a completely stupid design. They are mixed dorms, which for me meant getting undressed, and dressed in the shower. But there's no where to do it other than right in the shower cubicle. And trying to balance on one foot whilst I pull my pants on, whilst trying not to get them wet seriously annoys me. But, other than that last little rant, top hostel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by christine from ireland

couldnt' find fault with this place

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed everything about this hostel.. from the staff welcome on arrival to the breakfast in the morning.. this place is clean, comfortable and combines all the great things about a hostel with the comfort of a budget hotel.. as hostels go it's a bit pricey, but it's worth it.. particularly when you are staying a few nights.. they also have a free activity pretty much every day - tango lesson, walking tour etc.... loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jenny from Washington, DC

Good Value

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall, America del Sur is a nice, clean hostel at a good price. We did not stay in another hostel in Argentina so I cannot compare it to anything. The location was good for visiting the area around San Telmo, and cabs were easy to flag down if you wanted to go to another part of town. The grocery store across the street was very convenient for snacks and drinks. The staff was very helpful, although they provided us with some wrong information about getting soccer tickets and my friend missed the game because it sold out. We really enjoyed hanging out on the patio and in the common area. The wifi throughout the hostel was an added bonus. Breakfast was very basic with a lot of bread products. Some fruit would have been nice. Room was fine, but the shower in our room was very tight and did not drain properly. We had an interior room, and on a Saturday night, it was still very noisy in the courtyard area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Neal

Awesome, laid-back and friendly hostel

Posted Aug 11, 2013
We loved our stay at America Del Sur. It's more like a sociable hotel than a hostel. Location: In the San Telmo district, 5-10 mins walk from the subway, and walking distance from great restaurants and bars in the San Telmo area. There's a supermarket directly opposite. Rooms: We stayed in a double room with ensuite bahtroom. Our room was clean, well presented and had a TV, fresh towels, shower gel in the bathroom and even a hairdryer! Our room was at the front of the building and you could hear noise from the bar over the road until quite late, but bring ear plugs and it's fine. Social areas: The communal areas are great, with a nice social space on the ground floor, an attractive garden/ courtyard, and a TV and computer room downstairs. The kitchen has everything you need. The hostel is very sociable but if you are looking for a 'party' hostel you might find this one a bit too laid back. It was perfect for us though (late 20s/ early 30s couple travelling around South America). Staff: The team at America Del Sur and happy, friendly and knowledgeable. They went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and to give us tips about Buenos Aires. They organise activities for every day of the week, which are a good way to meet people. Overall, we'd definitely recommend America Del Sur. It has won many awards and rightly so - it's the best hostel we've stayed at in South America so far and very good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by alex from Bo'ness, UK

great value for money

Posted Jun 11, 2013
Pros: English speaking staff couldn't be more helpfull
Cons: A bit of street noise
Location: Great location. 5 minutes from metro and close to bars
Enjoyed my stay any wouldn't hesitate to return. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

good value for money and easy access to everything

Posted Jan 5, 2013
Location: Very central
Very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff. Hostel is central to many attractions or easily accessed by rail line which is close by and buses. Supermarket across the road was very handy. I highly recommend this hostel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by NoraB

Highly recommended!

Posted Jul 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
I stayed at this location after a recommendation from my nephews who had stayed there themselves. The hotel was easy to find. The San Telmo neighborhood feels safe. If you arrive on a weekend the area might seem deserted but be assured that it is bustling during the week. The area is also well service by buses and within easy walking distance to the subway. The staff was welcoming and friendly. The staff is multilingual and communication was never a problem. There is light airy reception area with a big comfy couch, tables, and an outside patio. There is a common room in the basement with a big TV, more comfy couches, and 3 computers with free internet access. My room was on the second floor and faced the street so it was noisy but I always wear ear plugs to sleep so this wasn't a problem for me. Light sleepers should ask for an inside room. My room was big and comfortable. Soft bed. Good lighting. Heater worked great. I found the big brass room key hard to use and was confused by the necessity of using a card to get the electricity to work. This required locking and unlocking the door from the inside which took some practice and was irritating. I also found the shower room style a bit messy. The shower was strong and hot which is what really matters. The best part of my stay was the great things the hotel offered - walking tours, BBQ night, knowledgeable friendly staff, cheap shuttle service to and from the airport, currency exchange.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great hostel

Posted Aug 31, 2011 on Hotels.com
Really nice hostel, with excellent, friendly staff. The common areas are very comfortable, and although they play music during the day, everything settles down by about 11pm. The only negative of note was that all the double rooms are at the front of the hotel which can be very noisy. I'd recommend requesting a room on one of the upper floors.