Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Better than sleeping in the streets

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Cheap rates; free breakfast; free wifi
Cons: Hotel needs major refurbishment.
Location: Hotel is in the center of the city. The location is near the Oblisk which is a major attraction.
Room was extremely hot. I tried to turn on the air conditioning but was informed that the air conditioning is turn off during certain months. Could not sleep entire night. Rooms are simple, furniture basic. Towels are limited and small and look used. Guests are noisy in other rooms with no consideration for other guests. Long wait for elevator, walked up stairs most of the time. Hotel is located in a seedy block. Do not walk around after it gets dark. Hotel is located next to a seedy girl bar. They harass you every time you try to walk into your hotel; luckily they open late so most guests are already inside the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo, Brazil

Good location, fair price, hotel needs some repair

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Location - especially if you plan on visiting Buenos Aires by foot, subway, or bus - very accessible, walking distance to stations and landmarks.
Cons: Breakfast - please add some basic fruits to it
Location: There are lots to be done around this hotel (walking distance) - Obelisk, Casa Rosada, Plaza de Mayo, Museums, Tango shows, etc.
This hotel is located just two blocks away from the Obelisk, walking distance to the main subway station, Florida street, Casa Rosada, etc. So location is by far the best about this hotel. Shower, heating, etc. all worked fine, but the hotel itself is kind of old and needs some repair (similar situation to other hotels in the same area, as far as I could see). But to be fair, there were some repair / remodeling in progress. Breakfast is okay, would be better if they would simply add some fruits to it, for example. Staff members were helpful and professional. Free Internet works great.
2 out of 5
by Anne from Buenos Aires

Rough area by night, especially for a woman alone

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Although centrally located, one block from Av. 9 de Julio, near pedestrian shopping streets (Lavalle and Florida), bus stops and subway stations, the hotel’s street (Suipacha) gets really unsafe after 10pm; one staff member warned me against numerous robberies by night. At this time, Suipacha is under construction, one very narrow path on each side allows the street access; if you are attacked, no chance to escape. Greeting at reception was OK. My room had been repainted the previous week; paint dust remained on shelves, chair and radiator, as well as stains on carpet and bathroom floor. These white paint stains would have been better used to hide dark stains on sheets and towels… In the morning, the hairdryer didn’t work; “it’s not offered anymore”, answered the receptionist. The private safe was also unusable. The breakfast buffet was correct (coffee/tea, pastries, juice, cereals, toasts) and the waitress kind and helpful. Unlike the receptionist who was on duty the morning I left, not very smiling and enthusiastic when I asked him how to get to my bus stop; he directed me to the wrong place. In short, the Argentina Tango Hotel is not an option if you expect a friendly environment with clean and adequately equipped rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Barb from California

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was not what we're use to. Towels were raggedy, it was an old building so not everything was in great shape but it was clean and the staff were nice, pleasant, and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vina del mar, chile

Cheep for a reason

Posted Apr 12, 2014
The staff wasn't very friendly for all of the 3 nights that we were there. The bed was 2 twin beds pushed together and one was higher than the other. The airconditioner worked but we had to put towels under it because it leaked. We notified the staff about the leak and they seemed bothered that we complained and did nothing about it. So we run the air conditioner for a few minutes until there was a constant stream coming down, stop it, wrong out the towels and then start it again when we couldn't take the heat anymore. This made sleeping interesting. Not all of the lights worked, the shower leaked so that there was a lake waiting for you when you were ready to get out and our room keys stopped working periodically which was a problem when we arrived at night. The breakfast was toast or pastries with pre packages jam and butter. No coffee. Our room was cleaned only after the first night. There was a safe and it was surprisingly functional. The hotel is in a great location but it is dangerous to be on the street after about 9 or 10. I only paid $25 a night but in the end I thought even that was a bit much for our experience. Book with caution. Our trip was still great because we only slept in the hotel but I am not sure how our accommodation could have been worse.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mike from USA

Great location but needs some maintenance

Posted Apr 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location and nice lobby. Some of the staff were friendly and helpful but others not at all. Plumbing problems and burned out lights were negatives
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mike from USA

Good location but maintenance not a strong point

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is located right in the Microcentro which makes it very convenient. The rooms were clean, the lobby looks quite modern and pleasant and some of the staff were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the upkeep was substandard. We stayed in three different rooms during two different stays. In the first room the shower holder was broken so you had to hold it in your hand and the bathtub leaked on the floor. Also the cold water stopped working so it was not possible to flush the toilet. There were also tiles which had fallen off of the wall in the bathroom. In the second room the shower holder was also broken and when I turned on the water in the bidet it shot shot straight out of the wall next to the bidet. In the third room the both lights next to the bed were burned out as well as one of the overhead lights. The next day after two requests I was given a light bulb for one of the lights. Burned out lights in the dark stairwell also.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Josefa from houston

good hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
I will come back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Buenos tango hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Great position. Ask for a room with a safe Very quiet at the back. Bathrooms can do with an overhaul. Towels need replacing.