Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2010 on Hotels.com
Pretty nice place except for one problem. The first apartment they gave me had a glass sliding door with a broken lock. And this was a big problem for me that made nothing else matter. I called the reception, and the lady said there was nothing else available at the moment and that the maintenance man won't be back until the next day. She told me everything will be okay and that she'll have the lock fixed the next day. Still feeling uneasy, I went up to the office, and finally got her to get me a different apartment. That one had a broken lock on a window, but I settled with that. Other than that, it's very spacious, and it's literally a furnished apartment.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

Not what it was!

Posted Jun 25, 2010 on Hotels.com
lacks maintances all around. walls are dirty internet slow frunture looks cheap and is woren. Stayed there last year and it was much better!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Priced 'Ok' but lacking in many areas of service.. would stay elasewhere on return.

Posted Oct 28, 2009
Athenea is an apartment block and an affordable option for lower cost accomodation in Buenos Aires. The locality rocks and for that reason I loved our stay in the apartment; however there were some issues that sadly never were resolved. The floor was never wiped once; it was very dirty and coffee stains sat on the floor the whole time, as an example. Beware: Do not stay on the 8th floor! The apartment next door is privatly owned and a staff member at Athenea said she considered it acceptable for the owner to play guitar and music until Midnite; he plays until 3am often. I complained and was downgraded a room on another floor and never reimbursed for the smaller room without the balcony I paid for.Athenea is good, cheap, budget accomodation that is nearby to all the buses and taxis so you can get in and about the city with ease. Negative: We were unable to make long distance or cell phone calls due to you needing a phone card- their brochure advertised these could be purchased at Athenea on arrival; they had none and never got any in as promised. We walked around the various kiosks for 3 days asking locals to sell us one of these 'cards' but alas, they had not heard of the phone cards and use pay phones; these are coin operated and coins cannot be obtained in this part of Buenos Aires; you need a bank for that and there is no bank in this Palermo area. So it is not wise to go there without your own Mobile. Atenea staff were unable to assist at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Long Beach

You get what you pay for

Posted Oct 18, 2009 on Hotels.com
This experience is comparable to house sitting in a studio in a semi sketchy neighborhood. The studio itself was clean and served a purpose, which was for sleeping and showering. This is not a hotel by any means (this is actually an apartment building), no concierge to assist or give tips. If you are on a budget this is a good option and safe as there is a door person 24 hours that must unlock the front door in order for residents to enter the building.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice Apartment, but NOISY

Posted Jul 22, 2009
I really wanted to give this place 4 or 5 stars. I really did. The guy up in reception was kind and very nice. The room had nice modern furniture in it, cable TV and (spotty) wireless internet for free. The kitchen was complete, everything was great. Then night came and the noise began. I came home at 4am after a night on the town. Early, by Argentine standards. I fell asleep, but one hour later was woken up by loud electronic music and a party above me. The party lasted until 8am. Next day (a Sunday), just very loud conversations between tenents above me, around 6am. It seemed like the electronic music never stopped--I tried to take a nap and I could here it banging so loudly, it was practically shaking my bed. My buddy, who stayed in the apartment across from this one complained about the same thing (two apartments per floor). Nice folks running the place, but niceness doesn't buy sleep. With so many different options in Buenos Aires, why spend the night under a disco?
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Not a bad place at all!

Posted Jul 15, 2009
The staff were very accomodating and polite. I found the room was clean and the maid service was excellent. Only issue was the distance of the apartment from everything essentially. It can take you about 30 minutes via taxi to downtown, which is a major hassle with all of the traffic issues in BA. The Cafe on the corner was excellent for food and service. Overall, not a bad place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

It was a very comfortable; safe place. We liked having an apartment.

Posted Jun 10, 2009
The only negative. It was not well located in terms of proximity to the Subte. However the accomodations were great. The staff was wonderful. It had a terrific roof top deck with a grill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from tacoma

not bad, a few drawbacks

Posted May 21, 2009 on Hotels.com
first, the positives. this place is extremely well-priced considering everything you get - it's basically a studio apartment with a full kitchen and a sofa. much more comfortable than what you might get elsewhere in the same price range. it's a new building that's well-maintained, it has a pool and laundry facilities, internet access is included, your dishes are done for you, and there's a doorman 24 hours a day. the staff is friendly and courteous and they spoke the best english i could find during our time in buenos aires. really, it was everything we could have wanted in that regard. all that said, there are a few downsides, the biggest being the location. the hotel is in a residential area that is situated quite far from the nearest subway station, so if you aren't renting a car and plan to do some sightseeing you will need to either walk 10 blocks each way or take a cab there. this wasn't really an issue for us as we planned to do a lot of walking anyway, but it may present a significant problem for some. second, the neighborhood is experiencing a bit of urban renewal and as such your stay at the hotel will be marked with a LOT of noise and all the related issues, such as construction dust and torn-up sidewalks. finally, while certainly not the worst neighborhood in buenos aires, it is also not the most upscale, and this may bother some travelers. we had two other minor issues as well. first, the floor of the unit is concrete, a stylistic choice that matches the look and decor of the building. the problem with this was that the floor would predictably get quite cold. problem easily solved by turning up the heat and not being barefooted, but still worth noting. also, a seemingly well-intentioned staff member walked into our room one morning, i assume to begin housekeeping, as my wife was still sleeping and as i was in the bathroom. highly awkward, especially with the language barrier. this was an honest mistake and not something i imagine that happens often, but again, it is worth noting. all in all i think this is a good choice for a good price. just be aware of the drawbacks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Virginia, VA

Good value!

Posted May 20, 2009
Not really a hotel, no name on front of building, for example, and not exactly as advertised, but they said they would change (i.e. there was no blowdryer, robes, iron, DVD, CD, etc). However, if you are looking for a nice spacious modern room with balcony, fridge, coffee maker, microwave, TV, local phone service and wireless internet, then you cannot beat the price. There is daily maid service. Building pretty new. Also, best if you can keep to check-in/out times. We came early and had to hang out with doorman an hour till the hotel person came (no good if you do not speak Spanish, but hotel person is bilingual.) Again, the suites part is good, especially if you take advantage and buy supplies upon arriving (paper towels, coffee, drinks, food). Not in center of action, but long walks or taxi will get you there. Of course, for general safety reasons, we did taxis at night. There are 3 local cafes on the block and nearby kiosks. Quiet neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

excellent apartments

Posted May 17, 2009
Great location within walking distance to Palermo Soho and SUBTE station (15mins to centre of town). The apartment was excellent, very clean and well maintained. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The map they gave me of Buenos Aires was the best I found there! I would definitely recommend this hotel.