Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angelo from New Jersey

Excellent hotel for the budget minded

Posted Apr 2, 2014
After several years of staying at a different Apart-Hotel we decided to make a change and we were pleasantly surprised with this "old gem" what lacks in certain amenities or comfort of a four or five stars hotel is compensated for the friendly staff and the FABULOUS breakfast buffet and is near a lot of "must see" items in Buenos Aires. You could still "feel" the "charm" when famous writer Garcia Lorca stayed at this hotel around 1930. And if you want to visit and enjoy a "boliche atmosphere" of Old Buenos Aires don't miss a Saturday Show at the Guyana (half a block) from the Castelar: Four or five hours of Argentinian songs and dance , dinner and wine for less than US $ 60.00 and you can walk back to the hotel (You can't go wrong, but better reserve an spot Saturday afternoon)
3 out of 5
by iram

Wouldn't stay here again

Posted Mar 31, 2014
The hotel is very old and tired and needs a good luck of paint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by daniel from atlanta, GA

What I can say is SO GOOD!!

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Breakfast, maid service, and SPA Elevator was working with super high speed.
Cons: Wi-Fi didn't work in the room. However, it works well on the lobby area with high speed.
Location: Ideal place to reach within walking distance- theaters, shopping, restaurants, tourism, etc.
As soon as I arrived in this hotel reception desk and opened my room, I fell in love with this hotel. Friendly staff, and maids as well, so comfortable beds and pillows, big space of room that I could do physical exercise inside the room, nice furniture. The bathroom was tiny but perfect for me cuz I am slim. Before arriving the hotel, I was worrying about street noisy that other travelers complained in their reviews. I just prayed God to help me and the room I stayed was totally quiet and I had a perfect rest. Great breakfast, and spa facility was very impressive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

A little history

Posted Apr 1, 2013
Pros: a feel of the old days, central location
Cons: bed a little hard
Location: great location in the heart of the city amongst shopping and sight seeing
Great old historic hotel with european influences, located in the heart of the city, basic rooms but stylish overall appeal, concierge very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by kiwi_chicas_abroad

hot spot

Posted Dec 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
Great location, friendly helpful staff. Great place to relax after a long 24hrs travel with steam and sauna rooms and a spa...all for a very good price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Castelar Hotel, Buenos Aires, AR

Posted Aug 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
Wonderful!! We really enjoyed the service and convenience. The staff was very friendly, helpful and protective. My wife actually left her purse in the lobby one afternoon and it was retrieved by security almost immediately without any incident. It is located close to theater district and most attractions. We were there mostly for my business and it was centrally located with almost everything within walking distance or through subway access. The cleaning staff was extremely responsive to our every need. Room service was very fast and efficient as well. We will definitely stay there again and recommend to all. Almost all clientele are from Latin America but staff does speak English if need be. Of course we are bilingual so had no difficulties.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Castelar Hotel Spa

Posted Jan 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel, attentive staff, generous breakfast buffet with variety, opportunity to utilize spa, gracious front desk personnel (some multilingual) . Close proxmity to public transportation (bus and subway). Or, easy to obtain taxi. Nearby charming resturants, coffee shop (with mate), fabulous "typical" pizza establishment. Felt like safe neighborhood. Internet access in lobby and rooms. Great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seal Beach, CA

A Pleasant Antique

Posted Mar 8, 2010
The hotel just celebrated 80 years of operation. By today's standards the rooms are small, but ours was clean and in good shape for it's age. We enjoyed the included full breakfast. The desk staff were generally helpful, but don't let them book a city tour for you. They booked us on a 2 hour tour that spent the first hour and a quarter in a Greyhound type bus going from hotel to hotel picking up more customers, all with no narration. Our 2 hour tour lasted 3 1/2 hours, but was drive by of historic buildings with little or no historical background to put things in context.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Rio de Janeiro

Bed and paint

Posted Oct 23, 2008
The overall condition of the Castelar hotel is good, but could be even better if they paint the inside door of the room and have a better mattress.