Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bog

Great service

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Excellent attention, old rooms and public areas. Wi-fi problems, excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Thomasfrom Miami, Fl

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is very nice, breakfast is excellent, no negatives at all
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Big clean hotel but don't eat here!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
This was a big clean hotel in the centre of town. Most suitable for business trips - the staff spoke little English and had no info on tours or things to do. Went for a meal in the restaurant and it was inedible. Please don't eat here!! Complained which led to 2 days hassle to take food we hadn't eaten off our room bill!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom COLOMBIA

WORST HOTEL AND EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE

Posted Jul 2, 2014
I had the worst experience of my life in this hotel. First of all, i had paid for a " suite " but when i arrived at 11 pm they gave me the oldest room that they have and when i tell to the front desk that i had selected a suite, they just told me that they were full even when i had booked 3 months ago. After 2 hours claiming to them, they accepted to change me for another room that was better but nothing for a " 4 STAR HOTEL " AS THEY SAY. At the following morning i went to talk with the manager and asked for a refund of my money, but they just came up with a lot of excuses to avoid the refund of my money. At the end the booking manager tried started to talked to me in an offensive way and we almost ended fighting. Finally i just decided to go to the intercontinental hotel which was perfect. I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL. IT`S OVERPRICED, DIRTY AND OLD.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Mariafrom Florida

Lots to improve

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was our second stay at El Conquistador. While I had booked a superior room, the only one available was one with a King Bed that was overheated. To combat the heat, the window needed to open all night, and the lights and traffic noise from the street kept us awake. We moved to a non-superior room with two bed - still warm but cooler. Unfortunately, the next night a pipe burst on the top floor putting two or the three elevators out of service - and we requested to move to the other side of the hotel to avoid water creep. The first room we were shown had black mold on the walls, and the second, while larger, reeked of mold, but none was visible. The room was unrennovated (bidet contraction attached to the toilet! The price was good, but we paid in other ways.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by HKGHolafrom Hong Kong

Pleasant Stay

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
A quite low profile apartment hotel close to main street & within walking distance to major attractions in Santiago. Although it is a rather old premises, it is still well kept. The room we stayed was quite large, with two bedrooms & two baths inside. There was a open kitchen & two more beds at the living area. It was clean & all the toiletries were provided in the bathroom. Staff was quite nice, though most of them did not speak English. We paid in US dolar cash & saved 19% tax!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PEBfrom Quito, Ecuador

Good for the price

Posted Apr 21, 2014
We stayed a week from April 11, 2014, family of 4. Having two preteens, it was nice to have separate bedrooms. We had the suite with two bedrooms with one bath in between, which was accommodating for us. The hotel itself is very old, but they have updated some of the rooms. The breakfast was great, the staff was very helpful with shows, suggestions, etc and it was nice to be centrally located to walk. The city was working on Suipacha street, which caused a lot of dust and wasn't well lite at night. Overall, it was good accommodations for the price. The wifi was excellent, no problems like the reviews I read prior to going. Overall, needs more updating, but sufficient. We were out of the rooms most of the time anyway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Branfrom L.A

Street construction

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Street construction made taxi service very inconvenient
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Genefrom USA

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was way above our expectations. It was super. .The staff was always ready and willing to help us in any way. They spoke good English. A Steakhouse across the street was also great and offered a great exchange rate.