Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Chris L. from Pennsylvania

Basic but fine for my needs

Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just a couple of blocks from the Palacio del Congreso and a moderate walk to Microcentro, Calle Florida, and the Casa Rosada, the location is perfectly fine for touring Bs.As. The hotel is halfway between two subte stops, both less than two blocks from the hotel. The room was fairly basic but very large--we asked for a twin and got a triple with plenty of room to walk around. It was older (love the high ceilings) but kept in decent condition. A/C worked well enough. Large bathroom, although shower stall was a little small. Good wifi signal (free) in our room, but connection was very slow. Note some other rooms can have poor or no wifi signal, so try to stay near the central elevator core if you need wifi. Strong and fast free wifi is available in the neighboring Starbucks if necessary. Hotel staff friendly and helpful, although English spoken is limited.
1 out of 5
by Marshall from Canada

Deeply regretted staying here

Posted Dec 24, 2013
Pros: Location was OK, but not great.
Cons: This hotel should close its doors and go out of business because the owner doesn't seem to take upkeep of the place seriously.
Location: Metro station with a link to other lines close by. Close to the Congresso building at end of Av de Mayo. Decent cheap restaurants. A little slummy
I foolishly booked 4 nights in this hotel based on some positive reviews I had read. Big mistake. I had paid for a room with a double bed, and ended up in a cramped room with a single. The old, poorly-maintained elevator rarely worked. TV didn't work and even though I asked three times to have it fixed or changed rooms, the staff failed to coply throughout the 4 days. All fixing it would have required was changing the faulty cable, but the staff was just to lazy to make any sort of effort. When I expressed my displeasure, the surly kid at the desk suggested that I go ¨complain on the internet.¨ So I did.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chris L from Pennsylvania

Close to Congreso and good restaurants

Posted Sep 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed our time at Hotel Mundial. It's an older building but in decent condition. We booked a twin and were given a triple corner room, so we had a ton of space. Decent beds; A/C included. Bathroom decent but a little smallish (but not uncomfortably so). Furnishings fairly basic. Couldn't get wifi from our room at the end of the hall; had to go to lobby or elevator area to get signal, and it was often slow. Front desk staff friendly (and some English spoken) but front desk was always swamped, so if you have questions or need to check out, give yourself an extra 10 minutes. Location great--1.5 blocks either direction to Subte stops, just around the corner from a top-rated Peruvian restaurant (Chan Chan--definitely worth a visit!), and only a few blocks to the national congress (to the left) and the Avenida 9 de Julio (to the right). Easy walking distance to the Teatro Colon, a moderate walk to Calle Florida and the Casa Rosada, and about 30 minutes to the heart of San Telmo. A convenient and good-priced laundry service is around the corner behind the hotel (if you don't want to pay the hotel's rates for laundry). All in all, would definitely stay there again if the price is right.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is very reasonable priced and is in a great location with reasonable parking very close by. Staff was very good, one word of caution is make sure you have hotels.com copy of booking just in case.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to centro.. So its safe

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Great staff.. Room ok... Bit location is great and safe. Great hotel for the price. I would go back to this hotel :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for what you pay

Posted May 23, 2013
It was not bad but the room was freezing even though I asked the people in reception to fix that. The location was probably the best part. I liked the shower. :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zeke from Australia

Excellent Value! Very happy we choose this hotel.

Posted Apr 21, 2013
Excellent value. We stayed here our first 4 nights in South America and couldn't be happier. It is within walking distance to downtown, and is in a safe area with restaurants etc. Mario (manager) was very helpful and spoke perfect english which helped us a lot. Very friendly staff. Hotel had a lot of character, nice high ceilings and balcanys. Buffet was great too, lots of variety...meats, cheese, fruits, cereal, cakes, you name it! All you can eat too. Will be staying at Hotel Mundial if we ever come back to BA. Muy Bien!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Polly from Colorado

Noisy, Tiny, Dirty

Posted Apr 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was conveniently located to the Subte (one block away) and 9 de Julio, and in a pretty safe area but the three adjectives I would use to describe it are NOISY, TINY, and DIRTY. I am a small person but this room (single) was like living in a shoebox, and the bathroom was exceptionally small. It was noisy all hours of the day and night and they put me right by the old, noisy elevator which seemed to be running 24 hours, so I had to wear earplugs to sleep. For an "updated" hotel, my room was very dirty. I found a few hairs in the sheets and ripped towels, scuffs all over the walls, stains in the carpet, the shower door was broken. The bed was okay, but seeing as I found some stray hairs in the sheets, I was a bit grossed out. Wouldn't recommend a stay at this hotel unless desperate and need a cheap place. Breakfast was okay, nothing special.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by hh from canada

Okay but tired

Posted Mar 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Older hotel in need of renovation. Bathroom has been upgraded but room itself needs attention. Flooring worn carpeting and need of repainting. Clean to the extent possible given worn condition
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Moni from Buenos Aires, Argentina

Great location

Posted Mar 16, 2013
Pros: Medialunas are the best ever and the balconies and stuff is great
Cons: Old and lacks updating
Location: The most centre location just far from Palermo
Hotel is clean and great location. It is just bit old and out of date