Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by RMN from California

Great Hotel that is considerably improving

Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
The group that own the Alvear just bought the Hotel Plaza, once the most upscale hotel in Buenos Aires. Under this new management is regaining the old glamour and the excellent service. For a few years the hotel was a kind of abandon, with old and deteriorated rooms. Not anymore, now is a valid 5 star option in BA
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by catalina from california

Great hotel on Florida st.

Posted Jun 17, 2013
Pros: It is beautiful, comfortable and in an excellent location to see this beautiful city.
Location: It is on Florida st. a pedestrian shopping street near good cafes and restaurants.
We had a wonderful time and it has a first class luxury bar and restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by AJ from Ontario, Canada

A good choice for downtown B.A.

Posted Jan 31, 2013
Pros: the quality of service, kept track of complex luggage situation
Cons: slow elevators
Location: good central location in a quite safe area of B.A.
It is an old-style, stately hotel, getting a bit tattered but great location, service and an exceptional bar!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Nancy

Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
We loved the location of the hotel. There were many local restaurants, shoppings areas, and "sites" within walking distance of the Marriott Plaza. The staff at the hotel was beyond friendly and extremely helpful. My only complaint is that while air conditioning was great in the hotels common areas it was not working well in the guest rooms. In 90 degree plus weather you NEED air conditioning.
4 out of 5
by David from Los Angeles

Not meeting my expectation

Posted Jan 4, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Old
Location: Next to the shopping street, Florida street.
This hotel is in a historical building at a very good location. All the amenities are getting old. I would prefer stay a newer hotel next time in the same location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cuchi from Long Island, NY

Great location and friendly staff

Posted Dec 10, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Small bathroom and noisy air conditioning
Location: Right on Plaza San Martin, a great spot from which to explore the city
Our room had a view of an unkempt garden and was located across the hall from the service elevator, which was sometimes noisy. The bathroom bidet prevented the door fom opening completely and was unnecessary. The bed was very comfortable and living area quite cozy. We enjoyed chatting with the staff at the Plaza Bar and got great tips on shopping from the front desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from Philadelphia, PA, USA

Solo college student

Posted Jul 2, 2012
Pros: Plaza Grill was fantastic!
Cons: I couldnt get the vent in the shower to work.
Location: Perfect. Centrally located.
The hotel was perfect for my one night stay. It had all the amenities that I needed and was clean and I felt perfectly safe. The plaza grill was a little pricy but once you eat you won't regret it; money well spent. The hotel staff despite my language barrier were amazing and extremely helpful with my luggage, getting me a cab, check in and check out. I would recommend this hotel for solo travelers. I didn't get out but the location in Buenos Airea was also perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Federico from Costa Rica

Very Tight Rooms

Posted Mar 26, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: The room size
Location: Walking distance to everything important.
Hotel has a great location, good enough fitness facility and the concierge was great in helping us make restaurant and show reservations. The only thing that disappointed me was the size of the rooms and bathrooms. Extremely tight for a Marriott. Otherwise well recommended.