Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, Maryland

Nice small hotel close to center.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Appealing historic character, friendly, helpful staff. Good breakfast, free tango lessons!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tish from London

Excellent stay

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful rooms, friendly staff, great price
2 out of 5
by Chris from San Francisco

No Continental Breakfast, no Hair dryer unless you

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: only location. but there are a lot of hotels in the block. don't need to stay in Rooney's hotel
Cons: The Ads about the hotel is not true. Honesty needs to be in the owner's heart. No hot water either.
We stayed there for 13 nights, but Now even I checked their website, it still shows as " All rates include Continental Breakfast, WIFI & Tango Classes. Studio, suite ideal for 2 people, equipped with double bed, en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning, hi-speed internet wi-fi access, cable TV, frio-bar, hair-dryer, safety deposit box and private balcony in 2 of the 3 Studios. When we got to the room, there was no hair dryer only the hook up on the wall. My husband tried to borrow one from the owner and was told that there is no hair dryer provided for studio room, however we can pay USD60 more PER Night to upgrade one level up to have hair dryer in room. How rediculous was that!!! We just went to one store called Pigmento and got one with 169 pesos.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Botique Hotel of the 20's era.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: It looks like a through back to the 20's
Cons: The room is not impaired friendly, mostly because of some stairs and the bathtub.
Location: As we arrived very late, we did not take advantage of anything nearby.
The hotel was hard for the transport driver to find. There was no lighted neon sign on the entrance. The elevator is something out of the past. It would fit two people and some luggage. The hotel staff was nice, and the room was comfortable. If you have any trouble stepping into a bath tub, this is not the place for you. The tub / shower was an old ball and claw with high sides and no anti slip surface. The entry door must be nine feet tall and has an old fashioned key. We had room 13 which is odd, as newer hotels seem to shy away from 13. The transport fee from the airport to the hotel turned out to be $66 not $50 as advertised. We arrived very late (11:30 pm), and did not get a chance to view any of Buenos Aires at night. The breakfast was good and the other guest were also cruisers. The taxi ride to the port was short even though there was a lot of traffic. It cost $20 US and worked out fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The reception desk ladies and two gentlemen were very helpful and provided assistance in making ferry reservations. I was most appreciative and found the staff to be very professional. The neighborhood was a bit loud at night but vibrant for young people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Anna Sage from Kilcullen

Quirky place to stay

Posted Mar 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Well located hotel, can be difficult to find though! We were happy with our stay, room was lovely and the staff, especially Aurellia, were very helpful.Breakfast was adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paulo

Very well located

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: The old fashion stile and staff
Cons: The lift, definitely.
It seems to be strange when you arrive at the holtel. There is a very old fashion lift to take you to the 3th floor where the hotel is located. However, the rooms are preatty much clean, well organized, staff is great, breakfast sufficient, close to the subway and several bus stops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mary from Baton Rouge, LA

European style hotel.

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: The staff was definitely tops. Despite its well-worn appearance it was a unique place to stay and added to the flavor of being in Buenos Aires.
Cons: The faded elegance added to the charm, and to change it would make it like any other hotel.
Location: The location was very convenient, not far from the center of town, close to the subway, a bus stop outside the main door, and lots of shops near-by.
My husband and I spent six days in Argentina over the Christmas holidays. The hotel was very much in the style of a European hotel or pension, or B&B. It was located on the third floor of a charming turn of the century apartment building with a birdcage elevator and winding marble stairs. The building, like so many other buildings in Buenos Aires was shabby, though with a certain faded elegance, definitely past its prime.. There were probably 15 guest rooms, very high ceilings, tiny bathrooms, hardwood floors, furniture that looked as it had come from grandmother's attic. A nice breakfast was served each morning with fresh fruit, cereal and an assortment of breads, as well as coffee and tea. The staff was very friendly and most helpful in lining up reservations for day trips and restaurants. We observed that the other visitors were European and enjoyed meeting and visiting with them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by BA from Atlanta, GA

Great Staff, But A Need For Attention

Posted Nov 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. They deserve the highest rating. The downside of the room was its lack of attention by maintenance. The refrigerator did not work and was not repaired after a request. The room had a slightly musty odor. The air conditioner did not work, although no request was made to fix it. The location was very convenient to the Subte. The wifi connection to the internet was strong.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bill from Southern California

Old Romantic Hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Pros: The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The free breakfast was very good. There is a reading room and cocktail lounge.
Location: There is an excellent steak restaurant two blocks away that opens up early and takes credit cards. (Many are cash only)
Rooney's Boutique Hotel is very romantic. The building is about 160 years old and the rooms reflect that time period. High ceilings, tall doors, old style elevator, take you back to yesteryear. We could only stay two days but would have liked to stay longer.