Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom empire bay nsw

Nice old hotel near restaurants

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Hotel is near restaurant area but is fair way from waterfront so if cruising from or to a closer hotel to pier would probably prefer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver

Down town close to everything

Posted Nov 17, 2014
A good place to stay after completing a 36 day cruise. All is in walkable distance. A busy street lots of action nearby
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, a little dingy

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Beautiful building, stunning ceilings and art all around, carpets are shabby and worn. We got a corner suite and the room was huge, if a little dark. Overall, a good experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom dfw

BA

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Location, amenities
Cons: Improve a/c
City break, new location. Needed central hotel close to shops, restaurants and transport links.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom columbus, oh

The best hotel during my South America trip

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Architecture and internal decorations, spacious rooms
Location: Location is great, it is within walk-in distance to the Mayor Plaza, Casa Rosada, Metropolitan Church, congress building, Evita museum, and etc.
Savoy hotel is the best during my trip in South America (Peru, Argentina and Brazil). It is an old building with unimaginable detail decorations. We felt like in an architectural structure. All rooms are with high ceilings, our room is also very spacious and clean. Staffs are very helpful, helped us with our trip and taxi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bermuda

Great hotel close to shops, restaurants, everythin

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Close to everything, shops, restaurants, places of interest, etc.
Cons: Lighting in the vanity and bathroom area could be improved. We found it quite dark.
We loved this hotel! Close to everything you can possibly think of! We were given a wrong room when we checked in - I was very disappointed as we were going to be there for 10 days! I called Aldana, the receptionist, explained to her and in less than 15 minutes, she sorted it out for us and we were given a bigger room. She is most pleasant, polite to deal with. We will go back to this hotel anytime! Everyone was very courteous and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Out of the "hip" areas, but well worth it.

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: Small bottles of mineral water should be provided gratis in the room in place of the large US$1 bottle in the bathroom.
Location: See above
My friend and I stayed at the Savoy Hotel for 6 days at the end of August. After a 3-weeks' trip to Brazil and Uruguay, it was a welcome sojurn at the end of our trip. The hotel is located in what appears to be a previously wealthy section of Buenos Aires, which continues to be a center of banking. Times have moved on, and the Savoy remains in a slightly shoddy but interesting, residential neighborhood. There are many very reasonably priced restaurants and cafes located within a 4-block radius, but avoid the McDonald's (except for coffee)...they cook the scrambled eggs complete with fragments of eggshells! We took the room without breakfast included, as the Hotel's buffet was large and expensive. Most places are packed at certain BA traditional hours, so try to get there before the local dining/drinking schedule kicks in. A favorite restaurant was Cervantes, about one block from the Hotel on a side street; caution: order only one plate for two people.There is a subway station close to the Hotel, which will enable you to reach many areas of BA. In a nutshell... the Savoy is unbelievably elegant with original art and design throughout beautifully maintained, a well-trained helpful staff, and conveniently located. It is easily the equivalent of international luxury hotels where I have stayed, but at 1/3 the price. What a find!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

Great location!

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Service & location
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Ideal to do some walks around the CBD
Reception staff were very helpful. Bedroom was very comfy and slept well - bathroom wasn't as great but fine for one night. Also received a complimentary drink which was a nice touch!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Nice hotel in downtown area

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Better noise isolation from street
Location: Great location, walking distance from Plaza De Mayo, Puerto Merdo, etc. Staff very helpful in recommending places to see and where to eat.
Great stay at Savoy Hotel, a 5 minute walk to Plaza De Mayo. Staff were very friendly and Santiago especially was helpful on the front desk helping plan our itinerary over 4 days. Breakfast was good, rooms were clean and spacious. One thing to note is that it's on the main road and close to the government building where there are occasionally public demonstrations - we had some noise on a couple of evening by a group of people; didn't put us off our stay, but if I stayed again I would ask for a higher up room and facing away from the street maybe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com