Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jasonfrom Cleveland

Would give it another chance...

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Original room that was booked the bathtub was not cleaned and female hairs were laying around the tub and the window sills were very filthy. Asked for a room switch, the new room was pretty clean but was considered a downgrade and was not comped the difference in price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Tommyfrom Texas

REMARKABLE 100 YEAR OLD HOTEL IN DOWNTOWN!!

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was amazing!! Centrally located in downtown Buffalo this restored 100 year old hotel was expertly restored to perfection. We did not see one area in the hotel or room that was unfinished. The interior walls, ceiling, public areas and room was beautiful!! The room was small but very comfortable as well as the bath area. The fireplace in the room was a pleasant surprise. The employees were very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast at the Pan American Grill in the hotel was excellent! Valet parking was $20 per day but we printed a 50% off coupon in the website that we used. We would definately stay here again and highly recommend it to our friends. Loved the hotel!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh, PA

Upscale hotel in the heart of Buffalo

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Location at the heart of Buffalo downtown, interior decor, large hallways, high ceilings, great breakfast
Cons: So far the hotel is impeccable
Location: Hockey arena, Erie canal site and marine park, lots of restaurants nearby, including several in the hotel itself.
It is hard to believe that only a few years ago this hotel was completely dilapidated. The new ownership converted it into an excellent hotel, while retaining all the old charm. We stayed in a junior suit, which had separate shower and a huge bath tub, a sitting area separate from the bedroom, and it made it feel us almost like we were at home. Full disclosure: we used to live in Buffalo until 5 years ago and have a soft spot in our hearts for this city and its efforts to reinvent itself, but regardless, this hotel is a great place to stay when visiting the area for anybody. Continental breakfast included in the room rate was also quite good. The scrambled eggs were made of real eggs, not of a tasteless watery stuff they are made in most chain hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Louis Moranfrom Denver, CO

Great downtown location

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Couldn't get over the beautiful and sensitive restoration of this Landmark downtown hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Expensive but we had a wedding there so its worth it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minsk, Belarus

One of the most interesting places in Buffalo

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: The smell of time
Cons: Valet parking for $20 in Buffalo looks ridiculous. It shoud be now charge for it at all.
Very unique place with atmosphere of old better days. Comfortable and clean rooms, wide hallways and lobby with high celling. This hotel used to be rate as the one of the best US hotels in the beginning of 20th century. It still has some charm of those years... Could be very interested if you are tired to stay in regular chains hotels and want some new experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mississauga, Ontario

Great hotel!

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: The junior suite is very comfortable and the hotel has successfully combined the character of the old hotel with all the modern conveniences.
Location: There is excellent dinning in the hotel with a number of good restaurants within walking distance. The Martin House is our favorite place to visit.
We've stayed at the Lafayette before and it continues to be our favorite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Plunged into darkness

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: staff & location
Cons: Tip guest off that if taxi needed in morning to call ahead
Location: City center right there-- just a brief walk to the canal district --across street from M&T Corp headquarters
This is a fantastic boutique hotel-- lovely choices on property for dining-- The room was all refurbed in "Urban loft chic style" with European touches& non anchored objects d' art. My only complaint ( though with the help of talented front desk team member it was solved) is why can't the room have MORE LIGHTING-- or a dimmer switch from bright bright to dark low lighting etc? So that a guest has options...like reading a book in bed-- or particularly a desk lamp for those who need to do work that isn't on a computer with backlit screen-- & there needs to be more bathroom light so women can see to put makeup on-- way to dim-- Everything else was grand.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Nicholasfrom Toronto

ok

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
too bad the room interiors did not reflect the lobby or exterior...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by dianefrom fort myers fl

next to bus station which is what i wanted

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel and room. Staff is awsome.