Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gräfenhainichen

wunderschönes, zentral gelegenes Hotel

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Zimmerausstattung, Sauberkeit, zentrale Lage
Das Hotel ist zentral gelegen und ein sehr guter Ausgangspunkt für Ausflüge in die Umgebung. Bis zu den Niagarafällen sind es ca. 20 min mit dem PKW. Wir hatten ein Standard-Doppelzimmer für 3 Nächte gebucht. Das Zimmer war im modernen Stil eingerichtet und sehr sauber. Das Badezimmer war mit allen notwendigen Utensilien ausgestattet. Sowohl Badewanne als auch Dusche waren vorhanden. Schon beim Betreten des Hotels fühlten wir uns herzlichst willkommen. Empfangshalle, Flure sehr sauber. Das Personal war sehr höflich und zuvorkommend. Das Frühstück war übersichtlich, aber ausreichend. Insgesamt ein sehr gutes Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis. Dieses Hotel können wir zu 100% weiter empfehlen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from toronto

Amazing night in Buffalo

Posted May 20, 2015
My wife and I visited Buffalo in May en route to Philadelphia. We stayed at the LaFayette Hotel which was comfortable and very well appointed. The staff provided great service. We visited several sights (including Albright Knox, Allentown, Elmwood) which were easily accessible by the courtesy tram running north-south in the city. Great Mexican dinner uptown but restaurant at hotel also good. We'd visit again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but dark

Posted May 3, 2015
The room was well appointed with a modern feel but the room itself was very dark...there was no natural light. I stayed in a junior suite on the 2nd floor. The hallways are painted gray with dark wood and little wall decor. It was an interesting place to stay. Not for you if your looking for bright and cheery.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Terrible check in experience!

Posted Apr 26, 2015
We flew in from orlando to stay one night before going home the next day, got there very late to find out we could not check in. We books this room a log time ago and called the front desk to make sure we could leave a cash deposit because we do not have a credit card nor did we use one to book it. Very long story short, they told us that was okay, the day of check in, that was not true! And that was fine if they wanted to refund our money that we paid so we could go somewhere else, they would not do so but also would not let us stay, told us to go stay in the hostel down the road!! I have a home and also paid for this in advance, there was no way that I was about to do that and considering this was a 4 star hotel, that was very surprising to hear them say. The man at the front desk had no sympathy for the issues we had and could care less if we slept on the streets! We figured it out our selfs and had a friend leave there card number for the small amount of $50 they wanted to hold until morning check out, instead of just taking our $200 in cash. We finally got to out room by 12 at night. Was not happy. Nice room, it's to bad it was not clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Beautiful Renovated Hotel with Lots of Character

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: We loved its vintage feel and the room decor.
Cons: Parking is valet only, out of necessity due to its downtown location. A little bit inconvenient, but the staff was very pleasant and happy to help.
Location: Located right in the heart of downtown with not much in the way of restaurants or things to do nearby. We were thankful for our rental car.
We wanted to stay in a hotel with some personality and character, and this one definitely had it. We loved our room and its decor. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed our stay there very much.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: The location is downtown Buffalo and there was nothing in the immediate 3 to 4 block range. I checked in after 7PM and out at 7:30 AM.
The appointments and decor of the hotel were excellent, unique and extremely tasteful. The mattress on the bed was too soft, a step before becoming lumpy and saggy in my opinion. The ice machine on my floor didn't have ice and the front desk clerk brought up two cups of ice. I mean really, you can't upkeep the ice machine. I had dinner in the only restaurant in the hotel that was open on Sunday evening. I ordered a steak, got potatoes and asparagus with it and was disappointed. The portions were ample but the food was so mediocre I was surprised. I didn't send it back because nothing was "wrong" -- just not even a decent culinary experience. And it was the only place close by otherwise I would have had to drive to get dinner and I ate after 7:30 PM after flying in. I don't expect a lot from restaurants in hotels but this was a new low (more like a nowhere).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay in Buffalo

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: The hotel itself was very attractive but mainly it was the staff.
Location: Definitely go to the hotel bar and the Pearl Street Brewery which is down the street a bit.
They were extremely nice and helpful. The rooms were very modern, comfortable and clean. Ashley Druar at the front desk was exceptionally helpful during my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Visit to Buffalo

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Hotel @the Lafayette was a great choice for our visit to BU. The hotel was very nice--the desk upgraded our room and we loved it. Very nicely redone. Convenient location. the desk recommended excellent restaurants nearby for dining. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast and the coffee bar in the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Elegantly Classic

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Location: Close to First Niagara Center and Coca Cola Field
Lafayette has a great history and I must admit that i really wanted it to be a great experience. The restoration work is very well done and the hotel has now recaptured much of its past glory. Cafe closing at 9 and no room service either from 9PM on a Thursday was a disappointment. Room was great and had character. Would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by MICHELE

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels