Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Historic hotel in downtown Buffalo that has been renovated. Large rooms and very comfortable. Restaurant in hotel was reasonably priced with very good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Forest, Ontario

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Ambiance, Service, Bed, Quiet
Cons: Parking. There's a parking garage just down the street for $7.00 a day.
Location: Great central location. We walked to Coca Cola Field. Lots of cool buildings downtown.
My wife and I stayed at the Hotel @ The Lafayette from August 24-26 and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel has been restored to the original beauty of the early 1900s and has a truly historic elegance to it. The lobby, although a little dark when you first enter, soon captivates you with its classic look. The front desk clerk was extremely friendly and helpful - check-in took just a minute, a far cry from some experiences we've had in Niagara Falls over the years. When we entered our room (#223), we were absolutely floored. Huge two-room layout with plenty of the original charm. There's a large central pillar that separates the sitting area and the sleeping area. There's an electric fireplace that can be seen from both sides and large flat screen tv on each side. There's a large settee that's comfortable for two or more to sit on - or one person to sprawl out on. The king bed is simply unbelievable, rivalling the most comfortable my wife and I have ever slept on, which was at a Secrets Resorts in Montego Bay. We actually tried to find out if we could purchase one but, alas, they are custom made. I cannot write this review without mentioning how quiet this hotel is. My wife and I rarely sleep in anymore, but the combination of the bed and the near dead silence in the hotel makes for a perfect combination.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful room and hotel - I stayed in a Jr suite

Posted Aug 31, 2014
This a grand old hotel - would love to have been there in its youth! Has a real sense of history to it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great boutique hotel in downtown area

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: The art deco design, the history, staff
Cons: Food in Pan American Grill and Brewery
Location: Downtown location and walking distance/short drive to shops and restaurants.
Super Art-deco design throughout the hotel and rooms. Staff in hotel was great. In adjacent restaurant, bartenders not as friendly and food was sent back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stamford, CT

Great hotel downtown

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Size of room and bathroom, updated features and kitchen appliances.
Surprisingly large room and common area, beautiful kitchen, great features. Pleasantly surprised!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Very nice surprise for Downtown Buffalo. Wish I was there for more than the one night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice restoration of historic building

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Cons: Breakfast was lacking of anything healthy, just breads and muffins and cereals. No protein to speak of except a glass of milk.
Nice renovations of a historic building. Restaurant had very high ceilings, making it quite noisy. Shower was a bit odd with no shower door so water splashed out onto the floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Surprisingly Pleasant Accommodation

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Space, Kitchen, Hallway,
Cons: Nothing immediate comes to mind.
Location: Still only 15 minute drive to Walden Galleria Mall and shops.
We were pleasantly surprised by the size and space of the 2-bedroom suite. The room is almost like an apartment with a long hallway leading to the two bedrooms and two bathrooms. The kitchen was well equipped and handy to have. It's a good option if visiting Buffalo to shop. Self-parking is the only challenge but there is a valet parking service that is convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

nice stay

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The decor was nice. the original building was still perserved while giving a modern look.
Cons: Parking not included but valet is offered.
We stayed for one night. It was a nice quiet room , nice linen and comfortable bed. We had a continental breakfast (Bagels, coffee, some fruit - apples and oranges, cereal and muffins) which was included when we booked the place. The only thing that was needed was a parking lot. They did have valet service to offer for an additional price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Jul 11, 2014
The hotel is pristine. They have kept the classic feel with modern twists. Very clean, very sleek, and the staff was very helpful. I would highly recommend.