Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good but not great.

Posted Jul 23, 2015
The good - cool lobby with funky chairs; bars basically attached but not a part of the hotel; valet parking at $20/nt. relatively cheap for an urban hotel; pleasant staff; no junior suite available so we were upgraded to a very large one bedroom suite with full kitchen. The not-so-good - dark, fairly unattractive hallways; room was a bit dark and 'industrial' with mediocre queen bed; poor wifi connectivity is just unacceptable in the 21st century; a bit pricey for Buffalo.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Came to watch the Buffalo Bison play baseball

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: The history of the building
Cons: Front desk staff, more maids so that rooms are cleaned and guests don't have to track them down.
Location: Not a lot to do in walking distance. The ball park is close and you can walk to the casino, but it's a fair walk.
During our stay they were filming a movie. Felt we were in the way just getting out of the elevator on the main floor. The room was very nice, but after walking all day you expect the room to be clean when we got back. It wasn't and the young gentleman at the front desk didn't care. He said he will look into it, but he never did. Finally at 3:30 my husband went and got the maid and asked her to come and clean our room. She said our room wasn't her list to clean. She's the only maid working on our floor that day. So we knew the front desk staff didn't inform her.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the history of the hotel!

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Gave me a glimpse of what Buffalo was like at the turn of the century.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great rooms, terrific restaurants and bars

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: Everything! Great remodel of a 1823 hotel
Cons: Everything was of good quality and service.
Location: Centrally located in the business district but near the medical corridor, hockey arena and theater districts.
We bought a junior suite at the last minute on a holiday weekend and couldn't be happier. The room was lovely and had all the comforts of home. Walking distance to dozens of great restaurants,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gräfenhainichen

wunderschönes, zentral gelegenes Hotel

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Zimmerausstattung, Sauberkeit, zentrale Lage
Das Hotel ist zentral gelegen und ein sehr guter Ausgangspunkt für Ausflüge in die Umgebung. Bis zu den Niagarafällen sind es ca. 20 min mit dem PKW. Wir hatten ein Standard-Doppelzimmer für 3 Nächte gebucht. Das Zimmer war im modernen Stil eingerichtet und sehr sauber. Das Badezimmer war mit allen notwendigen Utensilien ausgestattet. Sowohl Badewanne als auch Dusche waren vorhanden. Schon beim Betreten des Hotels fühlten wir uns herzlichst willkommen. Empfangshalle, Flure sehr sauber. Das Personal war sehr höflich und zuvorkommend. Das Frühstück war übersichtlich, aber ausreichend. Insgesamt ein sehr gutes Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis. Dieses Hotel können wir zu 100% weiter empfehlen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from toronto

Amazing night in Buffalo

Posted May 20, 2015
My wife and I visited Buffalo in May en route to Philadelphia. We stayed at the LaFayette Hotel which was comfortable and very well appointed. The staff provided great service. We visited several sights (including Albright Knox, Allentown, Elmwood) which were easily accessible by the courtesy tram running north-south in the city. Great Mexican dinner uptown but restaurant at hotel also good. We'd visit again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but dark

Posted May 3, 2015
The room was well appointed with a modern feel but the room itself was very dark...there was no natural light. I stayed in a junior suite on the 2nd floor. The hallways are painted gray with dark wood and little wall decor. It was an interesting place to stay. Not for you if your looking for bright and cheery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Terrible check in experience!

Posted Apr 26, 2015
We flew in from orlando to stay one night before going home the next day, got there very late to find out we could not check in. We books this room a log time ago and called the front desk to make sure we could leave a cash deposit because we do not have a credit card nor did we use one to book it. Very long story short, they told us that was okay, the day of check in, that was not true! And that was fine if they wanted to refund our money that we paid so we could go somewhere else, they would not do so but also would not let us stay, told us to go stay in the hostel down the road!! I have a home and also paid for this in advance, there was no way that I was about to do that and considering this was a 4 star hotel, that was very surprising to hear them say. The man at the front desk had no sympathy for the issues we had and could care less if we slept on the streets! We figured it out our selfs and had a friend leave there card number for the small amount of $50 they wanted to hold until morning check out, instead of just taking our $200 in cash. We finally got to out room by 12 at night. Was not happy. Nice room, it's to bad it was not clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Beautiful Renovated Hotel with Lots of Character

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: We loved its vintage feel and the room decor.
Cons: Parking is valet only, out of necessity due to its downtown location. A little bit inconvenient, but the staff was very pleasant and happy to help.
Location: Located right in the heart of downtown with not much in the way of restaurants or things to do nearby. We were thankful for our rental car.
We wanted to stay in a hotel with some personality and character, and this one definitely had it. We loved our room and its decor. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed our stay there very much.