Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best place we've stayed in Buffalo.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Staff made the effort to feed us after the kitchen had closed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from Toronto

A wonderful surprise

Posted Mar 24, 2014
We were looking for a place to stay that was within walking distance of First Niaraga Place for March Madness basketball. The Lafayette was right downtown about a 10 min walk and close to restaurants. The room wa very clean and comfortable. We were very impressed with the overall hotel. I wish we had more occasions to stay in downtown Buffalo. We would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for Sabre game.

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Stayed at Lafayette before the Sabre game. Excellent and very clean. Quick 15 minute walk to the game. Room was excellent, suite like. Breakfast in the morning was great for a continental. Staff at hotel was great and friendly and helpful. Great restaurant attached to the hotel. Enjoyed our stay and will stop again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jess from drayton, ontario

Close to the first niagara centre

Posted Mar 18, 2014
We had a junior suit , beautiful!! Old hotel but beautifully redone! Room was unique and pleasant. Breakfast too. Ten min walk to the Sabers game
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A. Paul from Peterborough

Fantastic experience

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Great hotel. One of the nicest and most unique hotels I have stayed in. Great furnishings, great comfort. Restaurant fantastic too. Staff were great. Rooms were spacious, bed comfortable, washroom very modern. Handy to go to hockey game.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from Toronto

Great hotel with tons of character

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Liked: decor/style, lounge, room size, clean, expansive hotel with tons of character, great pub, free WIFI (that actually works!)
Cons: Improvements: bedroom lighting
Location: Sadly, I have no idea what there is to do nearby. The architecture in the area is great, but it was pretty rough when we went to find a liquor store.
We only stayed one night, but this was a really cool hotel. It's an incredibly old building so it has a ton of character, everything is BIG (wide hallways, high ceilings), and our room was great. We had the Junior Suite, it has great style, updated and comfortable. The lighting is low, but it didn't bother us. Staff was very helpful, and the attached pub had the same character. Wish we could have stayed longer and figured out what there is to do in Buffalo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Akron, NY

Never wanted to get out of bed!

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: I liked the entire experience
Location: We went to a concert at Babeville and then walked back and stop at a couple clubs, great location to everything.
We enjoyed our stay very much. The bed was so comfortable I want to contact them so I can get the same bed and bedding at home. I did not want to get out of it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Fantastic! Cannot wait to plan another night here!

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Hotel is absolutely beautiful; the decor is a perfect mix of modern and vintage. Bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, and the shower/bath combo was great. No complaints, other than the fact I'm a very light sleeper and I was awoken by a door being slammed shut. Fortunately, I didn't have to be up early so it wasn't really an issue. I expected more options with the complimentary breakfast, but overall it was a wonderful experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel with tons of character!

Posted Feb 10, 2014
We stayed here for a little kid free getaway. We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room (we got upgraded to a suite), the character of the hotel as it was built in 1904 then restored. We walked around and admired the beautiful ball rooms (this would be a gorgeous place to get married!). All in all, a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from UK

Restored 1900's Hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: The quality of the restoration and the sumptious rooms.
Cons: Had one evening meal in the hotel, food was nice but only warm, when ordering steak you expect it hot.
The hotel has been lovingly restored in the public areas giving a glimpse back to the buildings original hayday. The suites have been very tastefully decorated and are very comfortable. This is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in.