Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Upscale hotel in the heart of Buffalo

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Location at the heart of Buffalo downtown, interior decor, large hallways, high ceilings, great breakfast
Cons: So far the hotel is impeccable
Location: Hockey arena, Erie canal site and marine park, lots of restaurants nearby, including several in the hotel itself.
It is hard to believe that only a few years ago this hotel was completely dilapidated. The new ownership converted it into an excellent hotel, while retaining all the old charm. We stayed in a junior suit, which had separate shower and a huge bath tub, a sitting area separate from the bedroom, and it made it feel us almost like we were at home. Full disclosure: we used to live in Buffalo until 5 years ago and have a soft spot in our hearts for this city and its efforts to reinvent itself, but regardless, this hotel is a great place to stay when visiting the area for anybody. Continental breakfast included in the room rate was also quite good. The scrambled eggs were made of real eggs, not of a tasteless watery stuff they are made in most chain hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minsk, Belarus

One of the most interesting places in Buffalo

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: The smell of time
Cons: Valet parking for $20 in Buffalo looks ridiculous. It shoud be now charge for it at all.
Very unique place with atmosphere of old better days. Comfortable and clean rooms, wide hallways and lobby with high celling. This hotel used to be rate as the one of the best US hotels in the beginning of 20th century. It still has some charm of those years... Could be very interested if you are tired to stay in regular chains hotels and want some new experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, Ontario

Great hotel!

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: The junior suite is very comfortable and the hotel has successfully combined the character of the old hotel with all the modern conveniences.
Location: There is excellent dinning in the hotel with a number of good restaurants within walking distance. The Martin House is our favorite place to visit.
We've stayed at the Lafayette before and it continues to be our favorite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Plunged into darkness

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: staff & location
Cons: Tip guest off that if taxi needed in morning to call ahead
Location: City center right there-- just a brief walk to the canal district --across street from M&T Corp headquarters
This is a fantastic boutique hotel-- lovely choices on property for dining-- The room was all refurbed in "Urban loft chic style" with European touches& non anchored objects d' art. My only complaint ( though with the help of talented front desk team member it was solved) is why can't the room have MORE LIGHTING-- or a dimmer switch from bright bright to dark low lighting etc? So that a guest has options...like reading a book in bed-- or particularly a desk lamp for those who need to do work that isn't on a computer with backlit screen-- & there needs to be more bathroom light so women can see to put makeup on-- way to dim-- Everything else was grand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Historic hotel in downtown Buffalo that has been renovated. Large rooms and very comfortable. Restaurant in hotel was reasonably priced with very good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Forest, Ontario

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Ambiance, Service, Bed, Quiet
Cons: Parking. There's a parking garage just down the street for $7.00 a day.
Location: Great central location. We walked to Coca Cola Field. Lots of cool buildings downtown.
My wife and I stayed at the Hotel @ The Lafayette from August 24-26 and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel has been restored to the original beauty of the early 1900s and has a truly historic elegance to it. The lobby, although a little dark when you first enter, soon captivates you with its classic look. The front desk clerk was extremely friendly and helpful - check-in took just a minute, a far cry from some experiences we've had in Niagara Falls over the years. When we entered our room (#223), we were absolutely floored. Huge two-room layout with plenty of the original charm. There's a large central pillar that separates the sitting area and the sleeping area. There's an electric fireplace that can be seen from both sides and large flat screen tv on each side. There's a large settee that's comfortable for two or more to sit on - or one person to sprawl out on. The king bed is simply unbelievable, rivalling the most comfortable my wife and I have ever slept on, which was at a Secrets Resorts in Montego Bay. We actually tried to find out if we could purchase one but, alas, they are custom made. I cannot write this review without mentioning how quiet this hotel is. My wife and I rarely sleep in anymore, but the combination of the bed and the near dead silence in the hotel makes for a perfect combination.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful room and hotel - I stayed in a Jr suite

Posted Aug 31, 2014
This a grand old hotel - would love to have been there in its youth! Has a real sense of history to it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great boutique hotel in downtown area

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: The art deco design, the history, staff
Cons: Food in Pan American Grill and Brewery
Location: Downtown location and walking distance/short drive to shops and restaurants.
Super Art-deco design throughout the hotel and rooms. Staff in hotel was great. In adjacent restaurant, bartenders not as friendly and food was sent back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stamford, CT

Great hotel downtown

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Size of room and bathroom, updated features and kitchen appliances.
Surprisingly large room and common area, beautiful kitchen, great features. Pleasantly surprised!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Very nice surprise for Downtown Buffalo. Wish I was there for more than the one night