Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles, ca

Great value

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Great location near shopping and restaurants. Free breakfast including good juice that starts super early, and free wi-fi, free newspaper. Most five star hotels don't offer that.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontarion, Canada

Nice motel close to a great restaurant.

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Economical, clean, free continental breakfast, close to airport
Cons: Have some protein available for the breakfast. Eg. peanut butter, eggs, etc.
Location: Close to airport, restaurants, mall. Didn't look at posted activities in the area because of length of time of stay.
The motel was clean and economical. It is close to the Buffalo airport and offered free shuttle service. They recommended the Buffalo Brewpub (which is about 2 minutes walking distance) for a delicious dinner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2015 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Gloria, Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you found our price reasonable as well as conveniently located to places you visited and enjoyed dinner. We look forward to welcoming you once again in our hotel soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Very Disappointing.

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Cons: The rooms we were given should not have been considered rooms. Almost half the size of a regular room.
Location: Lots near by to do but there must be other places to stay in the area.
I booked 2 rooms for the night of March 6. As soon as I opened the door of the room the smell of cigarette smoke was horrible. The window was open in -15 degrees because I guess the cleaning staff was trying to air it out. I went to the front desk to ask if we could be switched to a non smoking room and the girl at the desk stated the entire hotel was non smoking. She agreed to switch us. The next room was the size of a broom closet. There was barely enough room to walk around the bed. We were originally considering staying a second night but after this we just left first thing in the morning. Would never go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2015 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Tammy, I thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent visit to Super 8 Williamsville. I am, however, very concerned to read that your experience did not live up to your expectations and that you left feeling disappointed. Your feedback on the quality of clean as well as the room that was offered to you when you requested to be transferred will be submitted for evaluation. I hope you will accord us another chance to make up for our shortcomings. Thank you for your business.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Georgetown, ON

Wont do it again!

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Breakfast room was good. The staff member on was accommodating for a late arrival
Cons: Everything
Location: Lots to eat within close distance. Eastern Hills mall has good shopping. Howdys is still a great place for dancing
This is the first time I had been back to this hotel in years. They have had a substantial makeover. The rooms are VERY small. It felt like we were staying in an elevator. Everything was soooo tight!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Patrick, Thank you for the opportunity to serve you again. However I regret that you were not entirely satisfied with the accommodation you received during your stay. Your feedback will be forwarded to our management so they will surely look into your concern very carefully. we hope to see you again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Filthy Hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2015
We slept with our clothes on the room was so filthy. We changed rooms once because the heat did not work in the room, but the second room was just as dirty. The sheets were stained, the toilet was not cleaned from previous tenants and the bed covers one could see were visibly stained from across the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you very much for staying at our hotel. On behalf of the entire team, I would like to sincerely apologize for the discomfort you felt caused by the malfunction of heating unit in the first room assigned to you and the the quality of clean in the room you were transferred. Your feedback will be called to the attention of the entire team, trust that this will be rectified immediately. We hope to have the chance to serve you better in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom TORONTO

NICE HOTEL,

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: REASONABLE PRICE
Cons: HEATING ANF BED COVERS AND BLANKETS
Location: DID NOT STAY LONG TO HAVE ANY OPNION
LITTLE FAOR FROM AIRPORT BUT GOOD SHUTTLE SERVICE. HEATING NOT IN A GOOD SHAPE.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Zia, Thank you for staying at our hotel, I apologize that we had an issue with our heating unit during your stay. We will make certain this is handled accordingly in the future, Thank you for your business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom TORONTO

LITTLE FAR FROM AIRPORT, SERVICE WAS GOOD.

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Cons: CARPETS SHOULD BE REPLACED
Location: NO COMMENTS AS WE STAYED ONLY TO SLEEP
ROOM HEATING NEEDS REPAIR. AIR FLOW IS NOT PROPERLY UNIFORM. HEAT FLOW TOOK A LONG TIME TO HEAT THE ROOM.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Athar, I apologize for the malfunction of our heating unit and we were not able to fix it immediately. Trust that we will do our best to handle and address this concerns properly in the future. We look forward to you next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom N

Stay Park and Fly

Posted Feb 11, 2015
The one night we stayed all expectations were met. Based on the one night I would stay there again. We haven't returned yet to pick up our car so cannot comment if there are any issues on that. Great deal for a stay/park/fly. Free shuttle was on schedule in the morning. Driver was very friendly and courteous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Joe, Thank you for sharing such a nice comment about your overnight stay at our hotel. Thank you for planning to stay with us again. I hope that you will totally be satisfied with our services when you get to pick up your car. looking forward to serve you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Travisfrom Vermont

Pleasant stay

Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Decent hotel for the price, staff was very responsive. Great breakfast. Room Doors didn't shut easily.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Hotel manager, Hotel Management
Hello Travis, Thank you for sharing your experience when you visited our hotel. I apologize for the inconvenience caused you by the problem with door lock. I will send request to have it checked and corrected to avoid further inconvenience. It is wonderful to know however that we have met your approval on the services as well the the breakfast we served. We look forward to your next visit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Park stay and fly

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Stay the night In a overly basic outdated hole The hotel shuttle was half an hour late taking me too the airport only just made my flight I don't reconend this hotel to anyone
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, I regret that we did not meet your exacting preference during your recent stay with us. I will accelerate your feedback so that this is used as reference. Our guests feedback and concerns are taken seriously.Thank you for your business.