Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted May 26, 2015
Rude, disappointed, first had no room then had a room after we canceled everything and did not want to come.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best now the worst.

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Bed was comfortable
Cons: Make sure the rooms are completely cleaned properly, that tv remote is for the tv in the room, and school staff on coustomer relations.
Location: it was convenient to where we were, but we were just passing through so didn't care what was nearby.
The hotel staff weren't very friendly or helpful. The hotel seemed a bit run down, but it did appear they were doing some remodeling. The bed was comfortable, but we had a remote for a tv different that the tv in our room. There was a dirty cup in the room which was a real turn off.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michael from Edina

Adequate stay

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was older and needed updating. They are in the process of updating. It was an adequate stay for a short visit. Hotel was not busy on a Sunday night.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2015 by Trinity Marroquin, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us here at the AmericInn. You are correct; we are in the process of updating the hotel. I hope you'll visit us again soon to check our progress. We thank you for your business and look forward to serving you again in the future. -Trinity M.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michelle from Roseville

swimming treat

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was clean staff very helpful and friendly... Would stay again anytime...
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2015 by Trinity Marroquin, Hotel Management
Dear Michelle, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. On behalf of all our staff here at the AmericInn, we thank you for your business and look forward to serving you again in the future. -Trinity M.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Dirtiest hotel I have ever experienced. Sink did not work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Trinity, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting me know about your experience. I am terribly sorry for the inconvenieces you experienced while you were here. I have spoken with the staff and we are doing everything we can to prevent this from happening again. I hope you will give us the opportunity to make it up to you on your next visit. Sincerely, Trinity M. AmericInn West Burlington, IA
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ryan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dennis from Leawood

Gathering friendly lobby

Posted Jan 10, 2015 on Hotels
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast does not have any hard-boiled eggs. They do have yogurt, fruit, juices, cereal, and waffles. Rooms were clean - beds were older but still pretty firm. One reason we stay here each year with family is their lobby - they have a couch and chairs around a fireplace - a great gathering place. There is also a table and chairs if you want to play games.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. Our staff takes pride in providing excellent customer service and will be delighted to hear your comments from everyone here at the AmericInn we thank you for your business and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Regards, Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away!

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Cons: overall cleanliness
This was the worse room I've stayed in. Room was terrible. Hairs in the beds, floors not vacuumed, smelled like puke, stains on the floor. Overall the smell of the whole facility was terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2015 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the AmericInn of West Burlington, IA. I have taken your comments and hope to fix all the issues mentioned . We apologize for the inconveniences and hope you will give us another chance to show our improvements on your next trip back to the West Burlington area. Regards, Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Salem, WI

Nice location

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Location. Nice staff.
Cons: Would have liked some fresh fruit for breakfast.
Location: Not much to do in the winter in Burlington.
Person checking us in made an error-was later caught by other staff and fixed. Would have liked 2 soaps-1 also for the shower. Would like fresh fruit for breakfast. Too many carbs! Poor quality donuts. Would have liked more varieties of bagels and crunchy peanut butter. Not keen on using same jar -would have preferred individual packets. There were also several small rocks in the carpeting in our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2015 by Trinity, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the AmericInn of West Burlington, IA. I am truly sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. I have spoken with the staff members involved and I am doing everything I can to ensure problems such as these do not occur again in the future. I hope you will give us the opportunity to make this us to you on your next visit. Best Regards, Trinity M
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Richard from Kansas City

Nice, but no

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels
Front desk clerk didn't have a clue. He was nice, knew how to read a book, but didn't know how to check me in. Key card didn't work, didn't know how to have me sign in, didn't know where the "Do Not Disturb" signs were located.