Ratings based on 646 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to family

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: We had breakfast in new restaurant. Very good
We stay here Christmas Eve as it is close to family. It is our second year. Very comfortable hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great access to highway

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: Breakfast brunch was the best! Everything was excellent. Would go out of our way to eat there again.
Cons: While room was very clean, the mattress appeared to be a bit lumpy.
Location: Near Burlington Mall and lots of other stores, great access to highway - a few minutes off 128
Stayed 1 night after an offsite Christmas party. Had a drink and a late snack in the bar afterward. Great waiters and waitresses - very pleasant and clearly well trained. The hotel has been upgraded in the bar and restaurant area since I was here last and they did a great job.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Clean
Cons: nothing
One night stay went in and went to room sorry not much more info
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
It was great to welcome you to the Boston Marriott Burlington. We are glad you enjoyed your accommodations and were able to relax while here. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in the area. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Elizabeth, NJ

Fantastic Stay

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Beautifully renovated. I loved how modern both the inside and outside were while still have a very inviting feeling.
Cons: I didn't appreciate having to put more money down in cash if I didn't want to put the possible room damage fees on my card.
Location: There were a few shopping centers in the area with restaurants that were incredibly convenient.
The facility was beautiful in and out and the rooms were incredibly comfortable. I could not have wished for a better stay in Boston.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences at the Boston Marriott Burlington. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our recent renovations and found your stay to be warm and inviting. Our central location makes it easy to enjoy the surrounding area which includes shopping, restaurants, attractions and more. It was great to have had you here and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Glasgow, Scotland

Beautiful hotel - shopping mall 2 miles away

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Room was large and well laid out. Plenty of towels and everything we needed to shower etc supplied. Lovely restaurant and delicious food.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: Location about 12 miles out of centre of Boston but courtesy bus available to take us to Mall and phone call to hotel and we were picked up
Although my family and I only had time to experience the hotel and our room for the day as we were in transit from a cruise to Glasgow we found everything wonderful. Lovely indoor and outdoor pool, lots of outside seating areas, internet set up to print boarding passes at no cost and we found time to have a lovely meal in the bar restaurant before our taxi came back for us. Staff were all courteous and helpful. Will definately stay here on our next visit to Boston.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
It appears you were able to enjoy so much during your stay and we thank you for your kind comments. It is great that you were able to enjoy many of the on-site amenities and were able to utilize our business center to print your boarding passes. Our central location makes it easy to explore the area and we are glad you were able to utilize our complimentary shuttle service. Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Boston Marriott Burlington again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's just okay

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything..
Location: The highway is near, mall, and restaurants.
I check-in with my spouse and they were ready to assign a two beds to us in one room. I looked at the lady and stated that I booked a King. She said sorry but the only thing I have is this. I insisted that she check again and was given a King for a handicap person. The bed was comfortable the walk-in shower was dirty. There was mold and I could have cleaned that bathroom much better. Besides that, we ordered room-service for breakfast & was brought in on a large tray with no table to place it. We had to eat with it on the desk and my spouse had to hold his breakfast. I was so surprise that they did not offer a table. First time ever!! and I have been traveling for over twenty years and even in boutique hotels they offer this! It was OKAY for what we needed to do in Boston.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We sincerely regret any inconvenience you may have encountered while checking into our hotel. I will have our housekeeping team look into and further address any areas of concern. Your feedback regarding in room dining is appreciated. Comments like yours help us to better understand the needs of our guests. It is our hope to welcome you back so we may win you over completely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by minfrom ca

without rent car , inconvenient location

Posted Sep 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel itself is good. Breakfast is good. Location is too far from down town. You need to rent a car,otherwise you could spend unexpected cost like taxi or call taxi which is really expensive. Hotel shuttle is operating only within a mile.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our hotel and your dining experiences. We regret any difficulties you may have experienced with transportation options. Our team is always available to assist should you need to explore the surrounding area. Thank you for sharing your perspective. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to the Boston Marriott Burlington again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Clean, beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: beautiful and comfortable
Cons: pool/spa needs updating to match the rest of the hotel
Location: shopping
Gorgeous hotel, lovely atmosphere. AMAZINGLY COMFORTABLE BEDS :) The pool is open late, staff is friendly... love it :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
It was wonderful to welcome you to the Boston Marriott Burlington. We are glad you were able to enjoy so many aspects of your stay. Your kind comments are appreciated and we thank you for sharing your concerns regarding the pool area. We will look into and address any concerns further. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mitchellfrom Los Angeles

Grossly overpriced

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Sterile decor, no robes, smallish room - which would be ok if 1/2 the price. The next day I to NYC and am staying at a midtown hotel with 50% larger room, robes, travertine tile floors in the bathroom with huge tub, first class doorman/bellboy service, etc. for only 30% greater price. Adding injury to the financial overcharge at Burlington Marriott was the fire alarm at 5:05 a.m., which was followed by a note of explanation slipped under the door stating that the water lines for fire suppression registered a loss of pressure thereby triggering the alarms. Yes, you would be correct in assuming no other gesture of apology was made. For the rates charged, maintenance on valves, sensors, infrastructure should be better. Next trip to the area will be to a different hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
It is disheartening to read that we did not meet your expectations 100%. We do regret any inconvenience with our alarm sounding during your visit. We continually have our systems tested to ensure they are in proper working order. Due to circumstances beyond our control, our alarms did sound and we have addressed and corrected this issue. It is our hope to welcome you back so we may restore your trust and confidence in us. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Restaurant wait staff weren't terribly friendly or efficient, but the room maid was quite excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are glad you were able to enjoy your comfortable accommodations and your kind comments regarding our housekeeping team is appreciated. We continually refresh our commitment to our guests and we regret any inconvenience you may have experienced while dining on-site. It is our hope to welcome you back so we may provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations.