Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Stayed 2 nights. Lots of gnats & smell in room although did seem clean otherwise. Towel rack kept falling off in the bathroom and the shower head was barely adequate. Had an inside room on end where pool tables, bar, etc. were. Party going in that area that night until late so couldn't sleep. Was told by clerk next day when complained that they were area workers staying there by the week & liked to party at end of week. They were very loud, arguing & music very loud. Asked for another room the 2nd night but was told not available. We should have just left & found another place but our friends in another room weren't experiencing any problems.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bushnell ill,

hotel appearance also the cleanness of the hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: the night view and breakfast
Cons: service, walls, ceiling, communication .
Location: nice location fun city in 0.4 miles close to walk casino near also several different places to dine in or (eat)
well to start when I went into the hotel to check in went to the front desk the lady was rude and treated me kind of like I was annoying her to be there I checked in and got my room keys and asked her where my room was she said rudely in the back I asked where about and she just pointed there for it took wife kids and I about 5 minutes to find room . as we where walking to the room there was stains every where and holes in the ceiling where it leaks a lot of holes went in to our room it seamed nice for a room the coffee pot had hair in it and the bath tub had cigarette burns in it we did not have a remote control for the TV or a do not disturb sign when I went to the front desk for the items there was no one there to help the clerk was out side on her personal phone smoking after 10 minutes waiting I went out to get the clerk besides that it was ok.at night time it looks very soothing in the pool room and meeting area the kids enjoyed the pool a lot but the floor had grout missing in between the tile so it hurt the toes when stubbed from walking breakfast was good and a lot of variety.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: The pool was good.
Cons: Staff letting customers know what is going on when asked and not blow them off.
Location: Mt. Pleasant St. in Burlington Ia. Things to do was fun city and casino.
My family and I book a room at your hotel in burlington ia and we were very disapointed. We were never told that the hot tub was not working and when we asked about it the staff blew me off. If I would of known that the hot tub wasnt working we would of never booked a room there the hot tub is the reason we go. The staff could of had enough courtesy to let us know what was going on. I feel that they knew what was going on but didn't want to say anything. They could of offerd us something in return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by diane

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were very satisfied with our stay there. We were there four days. They were helpful. Everything looks like the pictures online. The only thing noted, the carpet needs replaced around the pool, but that is just from being wet a great deal. The pool area was fabulous. The pool was clean. The room and facility's were handicapped accessible. The breakfast was adequate. The staff were very friendly. I would stay there again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by SC from Des Moines

Looks can be deceiving

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room we got looks absolutely NOTHING like the photos. I think they took pics of their inside rooms, because my outside room was disgusting. When we first walked into the room, it stunk of smoke and mildew. There were stains all over the carpeting and dust balls in the ceiling tiles. When I went to get breakfast at 9:40, the waffle machine was out of mix, and the staff refused to fill the machine, even though there were others besides myself wanting waffles. Overall, I was very disappointed in this visit and will not be staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Andrew from Des Moines

Not worth it

Posted Feb 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
We gutted it out since we were only staying one night and got into town late but this is not a nice hotel. The pictures look great but in reality it's time for some major updates. The pool area is ok but any rooms that face the pool area will be very humid. Our room was on the 2nd floor and there isn't an elevator, only a tight spiral staircase to drag out luggage up. Add the condensation from the humidity and it's not a pleasant climb or descent. This place is only worth it if you get a dirt cheap rate.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Family Traveler from Iowa

Avoid this hotel at all costs

Posted Feb 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Normally, we are pretty forgiving when we encounter issues at hotels. I have to say, this Howard Johnson's was one of the worst hotels we have stayed at in the last 10 years. The carpeting in the room was cheap and extremely worn out. There was trash left under the dresser where the cleaning crew was apparently too lazy to bend down to pick things up. The beds were so lumpy that my wife had back-aches for the next two days after our stay. The interior courtyard had a beautiful indoor swimming pool, but the hotel was so cold and drafty inside that it may as well have been an outdoor pool. But the worst part of all was the service. In the morning, we realized that the room had no bath towels. When I called the front desk to request that towels be sent up to our room, I was told by the girl at the desk that she could not leave the desk and we would have to go there to pick up the towels ourselves. I thought this was odd since it would have only taken less than 2 minutes for her to deliver the towels to us. When we went to the front desk, there were no other guests in the lobby and the girl wasn't even doing anything. When we checked out an hour later, sure enough the front desk was empty and the girl who could not be bothered to bring us a towel was outside smoking a cigarette for several minutes. Horrible customer service by employees too lazy to do any work.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rooms where small. Pool was broke . Lot wasnt plowed . Should have stayed at the motel 8
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

DO NOT stay here

Posted Jan 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is obviously not doing well. The reserved King, the only one they had smelled like smoke, and when I was moved to a double Queen, the room did not have any towels. The fitness room had most things broken or not cared for. There was a lot of loud guests in the room next to me yelling, so I eventually just asked for my money back and got a better hotel. I have never done that, but this place was just so bad.