Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by julie from london, uk

lovely hotel, overlooking the misississippi

Posted Jun 21, 2013
Pros: very clean and well looked after
Cons: a small fridge in the room and a hairdryer in the room
Location: overlooks the river, and the replica Fort.
lovely victorian hotel overlooking the misississippi and fort madison replica fort, really unexpected quaint hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David

Ft Madison IA B&B

Posted Feb 21, 2013
Pros: Size of Rooms and Breakfast
Cons: Small dated TV
Location: Excellent especially liked hearing the trains go by
Great staff.. very comfortable but dated facility. Much better than any chain hotels in Ft Madison. Breakfast included was a plus...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roger from Virginia, USA

The taste of a bed and breakfast in a hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2012
Pros: The location, beds, and comfortable enviroment
Cons: Parking was a little strange but very close.
Location: Right on the main thoroughfare in historic Fort Madison with a view of the fort and river.
This is a refurbished store front that had expense spared in converting it into the Inn. It has the charm of the old with the comfort of the new.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ELFRIEDE from Oklahoma, USA

WOW! GLAD I FOUND THIS PLACE ! A REAL TREASURE !

Posted Jul 4, 2012
Pros: FROM THE MINUTE YOU ENTER, EVERYTHING BECOMES A " FAVORITE " !
Cons: PERHAPS THE NOISE FROM THE TRAIN TRAFFIC, HOWEVER EAR PLUGS WERE PROVIDED, IN CASE ONE IS TO SENSITIVE TO NOISE.
Location: BEAUTIFUL, RIGHT BY THE RIVER.
Very, Very Friendly Owners. Outstanding Hospitality ! WOW! The Breakfast is a "sight" to Behold ! Delicious. Overall - Just S U P E RB!!!!!!!!!!!
3 out of 5
by Glenn from Salt Lake City, UT, USA

Nauvoo 2012

Posted Jun 22, 2012
Pros: Charming treatment of the early 1900s. Managers wanted to please us.
Cons: Lack of surface or shelf space. Limited breakfast choices.
Location: Next to a busy rail line. 15 min. from Nauvoo, but requires crossing the Mississippi on a $2.00 toll bridge (round-trip) where we spent our days.
It was more like a bed & breakfast than a hotel, and the breakfast was less than is usually available at a Holiday Inn, for example. However, it was served on lovely, matching china with goblets on tables with tablecloths. All furniture was old but the beds were very comfortable. We had a chance to try out two because the shower value in our first room started leaking badly on the 2nd night and we were moved to a more expensive one at no additional cost. I would strongly recommend paying more for the upgrade. Because of retaining the authenticity of the early 1900s, there was very little surface space, especially in the bathroom. It does have AC and an elevator, however. Internet WiFi is spotty. If you don't like hearing train horns, this is not the place for you, since it is just across the street from a main rail line and an intersection where the engineer is required to blow the horn. This occurs about 15 times a day at all hours. It didn't bother us, however. It is a charming place but was not what we expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lizzy from Central Iowa

Good time

Posted May 30, 2012
Pros: Good off street parking; enjoyed having own thermostat in the room.
The inn was completely booked the time I was there and my room was quiet. Of course there is the "train noise" but that didn't bother me. What surprised me is how few restaurants were open on a Sunday night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Des Moines Iowa

What a great place to stay!

Posted Nov 1, 2011
This was our first time at this lovely Inn. The decor was awesome, the room was very clean and very comfy. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful when questions arose. The breakfast was very tasty and filling. We enjoyed our stay very very much. We will recommend Kinglsley Inn and will most definitely go back in the future. A most solid 5out of 5 stars on this one!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Springville, UT

Would love to stay there again!

Posted Sep 26, 2011
We loved this amazing bed & breakfast.The room was so fun and the breakfast was so delicious. We requested a room on the third floor (there is a glass elevator)that looked out over the Mississippi River and the railroad. Some of the rooms on the second floor have the same view, but they are larger and we didn't need the extra space or beds. The trains were great to listen to and didn't bother us at all.The innkeeper was very hospitable and easy to work with on any changes that we needed to make. The cleanliness of the whole establishment was just amazing and the towels were big and fluffy. Yes, if we are ever passing that way again, we will definitely stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Great place for a Nauvoo trip.

Posted Apr 30, 2011
I highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Nauvoo. The rooms are comfortable, the short drive to Nauvoo is very pleasant (it costs $1 one way over the draw bridge), and breakfast is great. The only two negatives I can think of are that the parking is a little tight and confusing, and there are train tracks right across the street. That said my boys really liked seeing the trains, so it was double edged. There weren't enough trains to really make it an issue, but it was there. Otherwise it was a great hotel with a staff that took great care of us. Two big thumbs up.