Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and Clean hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Perfect quality of food, health and medical and polite and helpful staff. There is hospital and dentist inside hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dorothy from Lincolnshire

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Areas of hotel had not been cleaned. Service at breakfast was very poor - had to ask for coffee/tea first morning, second morning toast arrived but had to ask for butter..However, we ate there both evenings and the quality of the food was very good. Also new receptionist (her first day!) was very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very decent hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Clean, early breakfast was no problem.
Location: Close but not on the A road to Glasgow, quiet enough.
So far as I can tell this is the only hotel of it's type in the area, the kind of place which obviously makes a good chunk of it's revenue from weddings, birthdays etc as it appears to have at least two large dining rooms. My room was very clean, tidy, the bathroom was nearly as big as the bedroom and spotlessly clean, the staff were very accomodating (I had to be away early and they were more than happy to give me breakfast at seven when it was not usually serviced till eight). Nice location too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Lesley from Midlothian

Could be a Gold Mine!

Posted Nov 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
My husband and I were through for a family funeral and stayed two nights at the Burnhouse. I cant fault the food as it was great but the hotel itself is very tired looking. The bedrooms need to be brought into the 21st Century but having said that the bed was comfortable - could have done with a thicker duvet though in November! The staff (once we had found them) were very helpful but seemed to have a very nonchalant attitude and no one seemed to be able to work the computer! With a bit more organisation and some money spent on the rooms, this could be a gold mine. I would stay again though but a bit more effort would be nice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

lovely staff

Posted Sep 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed it - the staff were all so nice. The room and bed were comfortable. Reasonably priced restaurant and food lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by big ann

Posted Sep 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
great breakfast hotel basic good
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Hannah from Edderton

Was ok..

Posted Aug 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Needs decorating - breakfast service poor! Not a good nights sleep woken up by shower pipe!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Johnny P from Lancashire

Out of the way . Plenty of room . Quiet location

Posted Aug 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Quiet hotel located next to a farm . The room was large with a comfy bed . Hotel was a bit off the beaten track .
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jackie from Leeds

very cold

Posted Jul 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Would not like to stay again here