Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: I liked it was out of town and fairly quiet and it had a gym.
Cons: I think the rooms need a bit of tlc and a refurb but it's not nothing that needs to be done desperately.
This is a grade two listed building so you won't find a lift here. The main stairs that lead to the rooms are not the only ones in the hotel. You do end up going up and down before you arrive at your room. however it's well worth the ffort as the rooms are very nice. After returning from my day out my room hadn't been serviced which is really not that much of a problem. I think they had started but go disturbed and forgo to finish it. I went to reception to ask for more milk and told them the room hadn't been done and they were mortified. I joked that a complimentry meal and bottle of wine would suffice and was offered a bottle of wine. I said I was only joking but the receptionist said, "I'm not this shouldn't have happened. Would you like red or white." I went with the white! I refused the offere to have my room done and told them I was okay and just need some more milk and hot chocolate - I love it! I received my wine and hot chocolate within a short time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tickhill

Very good value and close to the Yorkshire Dales

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, quite cheap
Cons: The heating or pipes in the hotel is noisy and the rooms too hot! Its July for goodness sake.
Location: Only 18 miles from the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Some good Indian restaurants but Birfield town centre is a bit run down
The Check-in was a bit chaotic as they had lost our booking even though I had an Expedia confirmation. However they gave us a complimentary drink while they sorted us out a room. The staff were friendly and the facilities were good considering the very cheap price. We ate in the bar not the restaurant and the food was acceptable. They have a lot of weddings on here and you want to get a room well away from the wedding suite as some other guests complained they had a disturbed night. We didn't have that problem but the noisy pipework and very hot room kept me awake a bit. Weekend breakfast doesn't start until 8 a.m. but they put on an early continental breakfast for those of us going out to the Tour de France.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Duncan from Nottingham

Great hotels, facilities and rooms but awful food!

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Rooms, pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, central staircase
Cons: The food. It is shockingly bad. Sack the chef(s)!
First impressions were great, stunning central staircase with stained glass windows leading off reception, plenty of parking, clean and comfy rooms, friendly staff on reception, sauna, jacuzzi, pool and steam room, nice bar (if a little small). But we ordered food from the bar menu in the evening and we're VERY disappointed with the food and it's not cheap. The following morning the breakfast quality was equally disappointing, bordering on disgusting. If they had good chefs I would have given 5 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Penners from Bury

Good Location

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Did everything it was supposed to do for a night out with friends.
3 out of 5
by appleacre

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
by ladycroft from luton

great value but bring earplugs

Posted Dec 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Asked for a room away from function suite as we found rooms near it very noisy,but the one we got was very old and tired and even noisier,also leaky gutter inflicted water torture on us all night. Staff are great and very helpful. Will bring ear plugs next time .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value.

Posted Nov 23, 2013
Pros: Magnificent staircase with a stained glass window that puts many a church to shame.
Cons: Bath-robes missing.
Location: Good location - easy to access Burnley and the surrounding townships. Six or seven minutes walk to a brilliant new curry house, Shapla.
A clean and tidy hotel; friendly and courteous staff with a good breakfast and pleasing bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Luke Whitehead from Letchworth Garden City

Great hotel for business trips

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Large comfortable rooms, free Wi-Fi, a gym/pool/sauna included in cost, REALLY friendly staff, great food in the evenings and a fantastic breakfast, Such a nice change from the other hotel chains - have stayed here twice now and will look forward to staying again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Peter S. from Burnham, Berks

Grand building

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
I chose the hotel for the health club - which (as is often the way) I never even saw. The building is very grand but I was a little disappointed by the location. I was hoping for a countryside setting with nice views. The public areas are very imposing - lovely lounges, staircase and stained glass. My room was large with a quirky, old fashioned decor - reminiscent of a ship cabin.It was warm, comfortable and quiet and I've no complaints at all (although I found the rules about what can and cannot be flushed down the toilet a bit distasteful). Service was friendly across the board and breakfast was good - but I couldn't find anything on the dinner menu that tickled my fancy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor on quality, noisy, dirty.

Posted Oct 25, 2013
Stayed for two nights both nights had events on with loud music till 00-30 night 1 and 01-00 night 2. Rooms poor our window looked into a full brick wall. Wedding on night 2 took over the hotel I fell like an unwanted guest. Breakfast poor both days