Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: I liked it was out of town and fairly quiet and it had a gym.
Cons: I think the rooms need a bit of tlc and a refurb but it's not nothing that needs to be done desperately.
This is a grade two listed building so you won't find a lift here. The main stairs that lead to the rooms are not the only ones in the hotel. You do end up going up and down before you arrive at your room. however it's well worth the ffort as the rooms are very nice. After returning from my day out my room hadn't been serviced which is really not that much of a problem. I think they had started but go disturbed and forgo to finish it. I went to reception to ask for more milk and told them the room hadn't been done and they were mortified. I joked that a complimentry meal and bottle of wine would suffice and was offered a bottle of wine. I said I was only joking but the receptionist said, "I'm not this shouldn't have happened. Would you like red or white." I went with the white! I refused the offere to have my room done and told them I was okay and just need some more milk and hot chocolate - I love it! I received my wine and hot chocolate within a short time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tickhill

Very good value and close to the Yorkshire Dales

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, quite cheap
Cons: The heating or pipes in the hotel is noisy and the rooms too hot! Its July for goodness sake.
Location: Only 18 miles from the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Some good Indian restaurants but Birfield town centre is a bit run down
The Check-in was a bit chaotic as they had lost our booking even though I had an Expedia confirmation. However they gave us a complimentary drink while they sorted us out a room. The staff were friendly and the facilities were good considering the very cheap price. We ate in the bar not the restaurant and the food was acceptable. They have a lot of weddings on here and you want to get a room well away from the wedding suite as some other guests complained they had a disturbed night. We didn't have that problem but the noisy pipework and very hot room kept me awake a bit. Weekend breakfast doesn't start until 8 a.m. but they put on an early continental breakfast for those of us going out to the Tour de France.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by wedding guest from Kendal

no lift and multiple staircases

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
64 steps to our room, up and down very confusing, but signed OK! Very comfortable otherwise. A nice touch was that a tray with tea in a pot and complete with milk in a jug, cups and saucers, was delivered to our room before I could get back from reception! We would ask that a waste bin be provided in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Duncan from Nottingham

Great hotels, facilities and rooms but awful food!

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Rooms, pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, central staircase
Cons: The food. It is shockingly bad. Sack the chef(s)!
First impressions were great, stunning central staircase with stained glass windows leading off reception, plenty of parking, clean and comfy rooms, friendly staff on reception, sauna, jacuzzi, pool and steam room, nice bar (if a little small). But we ordered food from the bar menu in the evening and we're VERY disappointed with the food and it's not cheap. The following morning the breakfast quality was equally disappointing, bordering on disgusting. If they had good chefs I would have given 5 stars.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Judy from Grimsby

No Lifts!

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
the hotel is a bit of a warren of stairs and corridors with no lifts. Reception did provide someone to take me to my room but I struggled to find my way back with luggage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Friendly welcome at tea magnate's former home

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The original owner of this house made his fortune as a grocer and owner of a chain of tea shops in the north. It's on a busy road on the outskirts of Burnley, but set back in tree-filled grounds. A lovely building. We found the staff very friendly, and the dinner was superb. Rooms were a good size and comfortable. Down side: no lift/elevator; local radio station playing old songs quite loudly in the dining room, and breakfast buffet had burnt Danish pastries and cheese in sealed wrapped plastic. A bit of training and supervision needed. Oh, and my room faced a blank wall. Ask for one with a view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by TT from London

nothing special

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 night business trip. Did the job. Faded grandeur. Needs a little tlc. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food was over fussy and service a bit slow. A bit slow at breakfast too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Adam from Loughborough

Great 'country' hotel in the middle of busy town

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Booked a one night stay in April 2014 as was in Burnley for work. Got a fantastic room rate through hotels.com. The hotel decor is very grand and almost expect to pay more. Room was well equipped, well maintained, quiet and very spacious. bed was very comfy and given I spend on average 10 nights a month in hotels up and down the UK it was one of best nights sleep I've had for a long time in a hotel. Will not hesitate to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jasmine from London

Very good conditions

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good quality, good rates and personal very friendly. Would recommend this hotel