Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spend 20$ more and go somewhere else

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Walked into my room, bed was unmade and someone else was clearly already staying in there. Told the front desk and they changed my room. Garbage can was filled with garbage from previous stay. All cabinets were filled with dirt and grime and there was no dishes or anything. I called and asked them to bring me dishes and some coffee. They told me they were out of coffee. Room smelled of some nasty odor. Carpet was stained beyond belief, felt like I needed to wear my shoes to walk around my room. And apparently, if you book through expedia, you aren't eligible for late check out. I'd recommend going else where if you don't want to pay hotel price's for a motel environment. Oh and they told me coffee would be available at the breakfast stand in the morning. Both coffee pots were empty, but there was plenty of hot water !
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. I am sorry to hear that our hotel had a smoke odor during your stay, and that there were such severe cleanliness issues with your carpet and cabinets. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will try our hardest to make sure our non smoking areas stay smoke free. As well, my housekeeping staff and I have reviewed our cleanliness procedures to ensure that your experience is not repeated. As well, I would like to apologize that my staff was unable to provide you with coffee. I will work to ensure that we always have coffee stocked for our guests, and refilled during breakfast hours. I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not nice hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Cons: all facilities
its to dark in hallway then the carpet is to dirty specially the toilet
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. We apologize that our cleanliness did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that cleanliness is of the utmost concern to us and feedback such as yours is taken very seriously. We will coach our team to provide better service and a clean room in the future. You also mentioned that you found the hallways to be too dark; we will look into adding light to brighten up our hallways. Thank you again for your feedback. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointing

Posted Aug 31, 2014
not horrible, just there was only a small "grab and go" breakfast available when I expected a regular hot breakfast set up of some sort. This extended stay seemed to have more desperate folks living out of their cars and hotels instead of business travelers….location is odd as well, it was back this winding road off the highway. In room air conditioning/heater put off a dusty smell...
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am so sorry you had a negitive experience with us. I am disappointed to read that our grab-and-go breakfast did not meet you expectations. The grab-and-go breakfast is designed to be a quick, easy supplement for your morning. I'm sorry that was not what you expected. I will train my coworkers to better communicate that in the future. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review. It is feedback like yours that give us the tools we need to change for the better. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peoria, IL

Clean rooms

Posted Aug 15, 2014
I stayed at an extended stay for only one night and it was very clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Tyler - We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We're so pleased to hear that you found our hotel clean and comfortable. Thank you again for posting your review. We do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice lobby, stuffy hallway/room

Posted Aug 13, 2014
walk in and get a nice feel. lobby looks nice and up to date. get in the elevator and you get the sense of an older location. it's stuffy and get out of the elevator, it's stuffy with hint of smoke. in the room the bed was fine (we were tired so a bed is a bed to some degree). no shampoo, just a bar of soap. older appliances,utilities, but they worked. fine for a quick night before travel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Kyle - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are glad that you liked the appearance of our lobby and got a good night's sleep in your room; however, we are sorry to hear that you felt the hallways were stuffy and had a slight smoke odor. We will work with our housekeeping and maintenance staff to make sure air is properly circulating in the common areas and that our entire hotel smells fresh and clean. Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again in the future, should your travels bring you back to the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
The staff and I read your comments about your stay with us. I am so disappointed that you found your room stuffy and that there was an odor to it. Please accept my apology. To uphold our company's high standards, we will be deodorizing our rooms moving forward to ensure guests are met with a fresh atmosphere. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville

NEVER AGAIN...

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: remodel
Location: 15 miles from the city of Chicago
The hotel was dark and sparse no character. The room was the same, however the smell was additional annoyance. The staff was helpful but you could see that their demeanor was not one of being proud of the facility. All that was in the room was old. Only soap/towels in the bathroom, no plastic cups,tissue or shampoo, also they have kitchen area with no supplies.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Paula - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience. We are very disappointed to hear that your room did not meet your expectations and that you were not informed that we offer kitchenware and toiletries at our front desk. We will inspect our rooms to ensure they are meeting our standards and will look into improving the lighting. We will also review your comments with our front desk staff to make sure we are fully informing our guests of our available amenities during check-in. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay, only if no other option

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Place was old and uncomfortable. I was scared that the bed might have bed bugs. I only stayed there because it was the only place I could afford in such short notice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Dirty towels in the room when we checked in. While the staff was pleasant, the facility was generally rundown and felt dirty.
3 out of 5
by Navid from NZ

close to airport

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Good staff
Cons: breakfast
Location: It is near the airport
The hgotel is a bit old the beakfast is limited, but helpful staff compensate the weaknesses
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am proud of our staff for their helpfulness and great customer service; however, I am sorry that our grab-and-go breakfast did not meet your expectations. Your comments will be helpful as we look to improve our breakfast selection in the future. Thank you again for your review. I do hope that you return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay America locations in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Hotel

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Extended stay was a great hotel, for all my future travel I will try to stay at an extended stay.