Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2015
The staff are amazing. Friendly, courteous, efficient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sandy, UT

Hidden Treasure

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Great place about 20 min from BZE airport. We didn't want to stay in Belize City because it's sketchy. (Been there before.) This place has a great central location for the country. Spent two nights here and got in an AWESOME night tour of the zoo and also went cave tubing (unique and fun experience) and saw Altun Ha (Mayan ruins). Then we went back to BZE and caught a 15 min plane to Dangriga so we could spend the rest of our trip relaxing on the beach. Walter was an excellent tour guide for the resort and arranged everything for us and took us. Dryane was very helpful with the accommodations. This place is excellent because it's on the river, tucked away, has a pool (and trampoline for the kids!) and the rooms are nice and roomy. Very clean and relaxing. They even have complimentary canoes and kayaks for the river and we saw a small crocodile while canoeing!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michiganq

Nice location in the jungle.

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: The staff were friendly and very helpful. I also loved the location.
Cons: The place needs upkeep and renovating.
Stayed one night upon landing in Belize before our trip to Ambergris cay. It was a good place to stay for the night to rest up after our flight. The hotel provides free airport pickup so it was very convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Florida

Rustic resort on the river, near many activities

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Very professional, hard working staff went out of their way to provide an ultimate stay. Resort is close to many beautiful places to visit. Transportation, dining, comfortable lodging, location, staff - all excellent. Will certainly return for future vacations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Fab room. Outlook on the jungle river was awesome. Hearing the monkeys and birds in th morning and evening was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paulfrom Grand Junction

Small and quiet

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels.com
2nd time here, a small full service hotel (restaurant and bar, gift shop, pool, tours arranged, etc.) about twenty minutes inland from the airport. Included in the price is pick-up and drop off at the airport with a knowledgeable and friendly driver who will tell you the history of Belize and stop at a grocery store for supplies. We were unknowingly upgraded to a river view with balcony room with a two night stay. Next day we went on a 1/2 day tour of some nearby Mayan ruins and met friends who came in that evening. Food was very good and all the staff appeared happy and were very friendly and helpful. Nice place to stay and meet, while decompressing and preparing for the adventure (diving) part of our trip. Nice clean spacious rooms with comfortable beds, AC, mini-fridge and coffee maker.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Black Orchid worked out very well for a very nice place to stay at a place near the airport before we left to go back home. The staff was friendly, and the food at the restaurant was very good. I would likely stay there again if I come back to Belize.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jeannefrom Spokane

Nature resort only minutes from the airport.

Posted Jan 30, 2015 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the Black Orchid the day we arrived in Belize. It was a nice surprise as it was supposed to just be a stopover place. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained and the resort is right on a slow flowing river. We were only there for a matter of hours but had a nice experience. The onsite restaurant is actually quite good. I recommend anything with curry. The only issue we had was the television was broken in our room (not a big deal as we didn't go to Belize to watch TV!). A solid resort for a few hours before starting your adventure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michaelfrom Boulder, CO

Quality, but lacks personal touch.

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
My 18-year-old son and I enjoyed the place, which was very nicely maintained and clean. However, it's more set up for large travel/conference groups and lacks personal touch. It offered the only dinner in town, and its menu was a singular prix fixe option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by OCUfrom Oklahoma City, USA

Good for rest, not for night life.

Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels.com
We were visiting Burrell Boom on mission from the States. The resort was very comfortable, the rooms air conditioned and stocked with bottled water, the pool refreshing, and the staff very nice. The restaurant food was excellent but too pricey for every meal. The complementary breakfast was mostly fresh fruits and muffins, but adequate for the morning. The only complaint was that the morning wait staff was slow to bus tables and refill food items. As a place to rest and relax at the end of a hard day of work, the hotel was excellent. As a tourist destination, a good stop for at most a couple of nights. There are several inland sights within an hour's drive (cave tubing, Altun Ha ruins, Belize Zoo), but nothing in Boom or at the resort to do other than rest. There is a bar and music, but night life was almost zero. Evening security guards, gates, and fences made our time at Black Orchid feel very safe and secure. A little open air market next to the resort made for a nice stop, as well as the grocery store in the village that sold ice cream.