Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2015
The staff are amazing. Friendly, courteous, efficient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sandy, UT

Hidden Treasure

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Great place about 20 min from BZE airport. We didn't want to stay in Belize City because it's sketchy. (Been there before.) This place has a great central location for the country. Spent two nights here and got in an AWESOME night tour of the zoo and also went cave tubing (unique and fun experience) and saw Altun Ha (Mayan ruins). Then we went back to BZE and caught a 15 min plane to Dangriga so we could spend the rest of our trip relaxing on the beach. Walter was an excellent tour guide for the resort and arranged everything for us and took us. Dryane was very helpful with the accommodations. This place is excellent because it's on the river, tucked away, has a pool (and trampoline for the kids!) and the rooms are nice and roomy. Very clean and relaxing. They even have complimentary canoes and kayaks for the river and we saw a small crocodile while canoeing!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michiganq

Nice location in the jungle.

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: The staff were friendly and very helpful. I also loved the location.
Cons: The place needs upkeep and renovating.
Stayed one night upon landing in Belize before our trip to Ambergris cay. It was a good place to stay for the night to rest up after our flight. The hotel provides free airport pickup so it was very convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Florida

Rustic resort on the river, near many activities

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Very professional, hard working staff went out of their way to provide an ultimate stay. Resort is close to many beautiful places to visit. Transportation, dining, comfortable lodging, location, staff - all excellent. Will certainly return for future vacations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Fab room. Outlook on the jungle river was awesome. Hearing the monkeys and birds in th morning and evening was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Black Orchid worked out very well for a very nice place to stay at a place near the airport before we left to go back home. The staff was friendly, and the food at the restaurant was very good. I would likely stay there again if I come back to Belize.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michaelfrom Boulder, CO

Quality, but lacks personal touch.

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
My 18-year-old son and I enjoyed the place, which was very nicely maintained and clean. However, it's more set up for large travel/conference groups and lacks personal touch. It offered the only dinner in town, and its menu was a singular prix fixe option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by OCUfrom Oklahoma City, USA

Good for rest, not for night life.

Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels.com
We were visiting Burrell Boom on mission from the States. The resort was very comfortable, the rooms air conditioned and stocked with bottled water, the pool refreshing, and the staff very nice. The restaurant food was excellent but too pricey for every meal. The complementary breakfast was mostly fresh fruits and muffins, but adequate for the morning. The only complaint was that the morning wait staff was slow to bus tables and refill food items. As a place to rest and relax at the end of a hard day of work, the hotel was excellent. As a tourist destination, a good stop for at most a couple of nights. There are several inland sights within an hour's drive (cave tubing, Altun Ha ruins, Belize Zoo), but nothing in Boom or at the resort to do other than rest. There is a bar and music, but night life was almost zero. Evening security guards, gates, and fences made our time at Black Orchid feel very safe and secure. A little open air market next to the resort made for a nice stop, as well as the grocery store in the village that sold ice cream.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Different kind of vacation

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Jungle location. Staff was very friendly.
Cons: More food options. More efficient front desk.
We stayed 4 nights here and paired it up with 3 nights following on Ambergris Caye. Being in the jungle next to a river was really fun and we used the resort as a base for Altun Ha maya ruins excursion with Caesar from the Black Orchid and cave tubing with David from CaveTubing R Us. Both very good. We canoed the river several times and only fell in once! Didn't see any crocodiles but heard lots of howler monkeys- sounded almost like dinosaurs, really cool. Ryan drove us to the water taxi and got us a great discount on round trip tickets to San Pedro. Both Ryan and Steven took care of us really well. The restaurant was pretty much the only food option nearby and was OK. Continental breakfast was very basic - probably better to stock up on groceries at the beginning of your stay. Dinner specials on the weekend were disappointing and we wished they would have just had the standard menu, which was generally very good. Good option for a few days stay and then trying other parts of Belize.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indianapolis

Enjoyable visit to Belize

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Staff was great, friendly offering exceptional customer service!
Cons: We dined in the restaurant for breakfast, lunch & dinner, when they were busy the service was a little slow. We did not mind we were on vacation
Location: We were within walking distance to a small village, we walked there in the morning and biked back in the afternoon.
We spent a week on a private island prior to our visit to the Black Orchid, we appreciated the airport transportation which was provided, the driver - Kenny was very polite, courteous and allowed us to make a quick stop at the grocery store on our way to the hotel. Very pleased with the accommodations, room was clean, air conditioner worked well and the staff was great! Our room was not ready so we sat by the pool, I was being welcomed by a few mosquitoes (while we waited by the pool) when a gentleman walked past indicating I might need some bug spray. I indicated I had some, but it was in my suit case, which I think was already outside our room. Next thing I knew, he brought a bottle to us to use and keep until we checked out. We were very surprised by this kind gesture, which we grew to realize, this was the level of customer service provided by the entire team during our stay. We met the owner who provided us a tour of the new check-in area and shared the growth they experienced over the years. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Belize.