Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location ..expected better

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: good central location
Cons: needs re-furbishing
Location: really enjoyed Ramsbottom
attractive period building tho tired and dated (not in as good way) internally
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for us

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Good value for money, centre of Ramsbottom, Staff really pleasant and helpful, clean and basic, nice breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

No complaints for what it is

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Location. Staff.
Cons: Crappy pub below.
Location: Lot's of shops, pubs, parks and places to eat.
Stayed one night. Staff super helpful. Hotel is above a pretty basic pub that looks past its best. The hotel building looks beautiful from the outside. Good parking behind and easy 1 minute walk to shops and plenty of eating choices. The bathroom was pretty new and you could tell they were trying hard. For the price (about $100 USD for 3 people which included breakfast) I would certainly stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from phoenix, arizona usa

Very convenient to the center of Ramsbottom

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The convenience and walk ability to all the attractions of Ramsbottom
Cons: The hotel is quite old and it needs a little "freshening up" here and there
Very comfortable and fitted our needs exactly, close to shops of all types, various restaurants, pubs and the hotel has a great overlook of Ramsbottom
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kate from Ramsbottom

It did what it said on the lid.

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Bed and towels were clean and comfortable. Staff polite and courteous.
Cons: The shower, I would describe it as a trickle but we managed fine.
Location: Spot on for our purpose, we attended the 40's weekend and it was perfectly located with ample parking.
stayed for one night with a family group. For the price we paid, it did the job to a good standard. Staff were very pleasant and helpful, the breakfast was very good and served by very pleasant staff. No complaints. We have stayed in 5 star hotels and paid 5 star prices, the Grant Arms was not 5 star but for value for money, it was on the nail.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Steve Ashe from Blackpool

Poor very cold

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very cold plug in heaters not bad size room but not a hotel more B and B . I asked about heating was told it's not a legal requirement was only there one night .very sad as could be a very nice place but need money spent on it food not up to much not worth £60 a night
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jeff Hawken from Rugby, England

Adequate - but no more than that

Posted Feb 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is ideally situated in a central location at the heart of Ramsbottom, and there is a free public car park adjacent. The central heating system was not working, so heat was from an electric heater (with a very short power lead) which meant there was only one other power socket available. The bathroom was quite cold. The bedside cabinet was falling to pieces. Some noise could be heard from the bar area, and from other guests (and staff?) in the corridors. The bedroom walls were quite thin, so noise from adjacent rooms was audible. The only food on offer on a Saturday night was a very limited selection of bar snacks (about 4 or 5 items total). The beer was good. I didn't try the breakfast (for which a supplement was payable). It was adequate for me to stay in for one night, but no more than that.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michael P from Middlesex

Needs some renovation

Posted Feb 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was not one of the better hotels that I have booked through Hotels.com and not sure how it has 3 stars , the actual door to get into the hotel is so narrow , there was a damp smell in the hotel as you entered , and it appears there is one person who books you in and makes breakfast in the morning there is no cental heating on throughout the hotel so the corridors are very cold , while my room was clean it was very small for a double and because the central heating was not on they had put a electic heater to warm the room , in the bathroom the toilet seat was loose as there was a screw missing to hold it place and the breakfast room was cold and there was one heater to warm the room , I had to look for the person making breakfast who was pleasant but he was wearing a jacket and wooly hat because it was cold in the room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Charlton, MA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2013
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Dawn from Stamford

Poor quality for the price

Posted Nov 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is in a lovely location but unfortunately it is run down and in desperate need of some TLC from the management, there seemed to be a distinct lack of staff to run the operations, which was very apparent when we tried calling reception from our room and again nobody was around at checking out time. The rooms are cold and you are told to call the reception if you want extra heating (that depends if anyone is actually there), alternatively you can use a small little heater which looks years old to blast out some heat. My TV didn't work and I was told to retune it myself, perhaps a little note advising people this needs doing would save a walk down to find some staff. It is not made clear that breakfast is not included and after paying extra for it, the quality of food was very disappointing. In my opinion it is not worth the price tag to stay here under the current conditions as there is no interest from the hotel to entice you to return.