Ratings based on 602 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom perth wa

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Great beach side faculties whatever the weather but feels a bit empty in the main lobby. Staff need to learn to be more polite asked for a late check out then another staff member asked us why we handed checked out yet . Overall rooms starting to need a renovation
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Perth

Disappointing

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Nothing much and I stayed in a few hotels
Cons: Rooms, fridge,
Location: The only good thing was it was close to Busselton
Trying to dress mutton up as lamb. rooms old fashion
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and near beach

Posted Mar 1, 2015
We had a 2 bed-room suite. It was very nice and fully equipped with all the necessity. It would be better if the housekeeper washes the used wine glasses and empty the trash.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Perth

Nice hotel, close to beach

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Comfortable, nice food in restaurant, friendly staff
3 out of 5
by Christopher Hardwick

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Location: Wonderful
Facilities: Old; Value: Average price; Service: Awful; Cleanliness: Hygienic ;
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you for your ratings on your recent stay with us. As a resort we are continually striving to improve and we will take your ratings on board for the future. We hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
5 out of 5
by Gillian Hardingfrom Australia - WA - Perth

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and lots of activities
Cons: Apartment needed maintenance: Kitchen items missing, flyscreen needed attention, gas leak in kitchen
Location: Wonderful
Value: Affordable; Cleanliness: Pleasant; Each apartment should have an inventory of kitchen items and be checked when visitors check out so any breakages, etc. can be replaced for next person
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2014
Dear Guest. It???s pleasing to hear you appreciated the high standard of customer service that we offer all of our guests. It is also pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the resort???s wide range of facilities. We are disappointed to hear the issues with your apartment & will have our Maintenance Manager & Head of Housekeeping follow up on your complaints. We have had our Maintenance Department check your comments regarding a gas leak in the kitchen & can find no evidence of any leak in your room.
5 out of 5
by David Coveneyfrom Australia - WA - Perth

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Indoor pool, location
Cons: Cold outdoor pools. Cafe closed early.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2014
Dear Guest. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our location, close to all the local tourist attractions. It is also pleasing to hear you enjoyed the resort facilities such as our heated indoor pool. Unfortunately as our outdoor pool is dependent on air temperature it can get cold in the mornings and evenings. We are also sorry to hear that the cafe closed early during your stay. We have investigated with our F&B Manager & are unaware on what day it closed early? Thank you for your comments.
5 out of 5
by David Hernanfrom Australia - WA - Perth

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: It was really clean the spa was perfect for just relaxing
Right in the beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the spa in your room. Every room at the resort comes with a 2 person spa and adds that little bit extra luxury to your stay. It is great to hear that you were impressed with the resort???s cleanliness. Providing guests with a daily service we believe enables us to maintain the cleanliness of the resort to the standards that our guests expect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jeunessefrom Wagin

Holydaze

Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful area, quiet, close to the beach, friendly staff. We thought the in house food a bit expensive but you get that everywhere and you dont have to eat in. All in all a very pleasant break.
5 out of 5
by Felicity Knox-Grayfrom Australia - WA - Perth

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: The proximity to the beach
Cons: My room wasn't worth the price, the balcony opened onto the lobby, no fresh air or outside view
Location: Outstanding
Facilities: Outstanding; Value: Average price; Service: Outstanding; Cleanliness: Beautiful;
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2014
Dear Guest. We are delighted to hear that you were impressed with our location situated on the beautiful Abbey Beach. We are saddened to hear that you were not impressed with your room location. As a resort we understand guests have different room preferences and we would have been happy to have moved you to a different location had we been aware there was an issue. Kind Regards Abbey Beach Resort