Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Stuart

Foul. But very handy close to the port

Posted Dec 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel is a foul 70s nightmare but it is very conveniently located across the road to the port so if you have an early morning ferry to Morocco you can't beat it. However, nothing has been updated since the 70s, it was not clean (eg filth under beds), the wifi that hotels.com proclaims is available does not exist, the staff were actually bare foot and wearing pyjamas, the power went out for 30 mins, lumpy pillows, constantly dripping taps and toilets, vending machine that steals your money, and generally uncomfortable. Overall if I had to describe this dump in one word I would use the word "foul".
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Suited our needs

Posted Oct 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
Only stayed for the one night. It said we were entitled to breakfast, but when we turned up for breakfast, told we had to pay. not happy.Very central to ferry, so no big deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

A regular at this hotel

Posted May 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
Spain is going through a difficult financial time and Al Mar is reflecting this. No dinner or breakfast services,alas.However, when I look out my window and see the Rock of Gibraltar, I am compensated. The hotel's position next to the Ferry terminal to Tanger or Ceuta is great. The staff are always friendly and the room is adequate and clean, the rate is exceptional. All up good value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2011 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Woking Surrey

TIRED TIRED TIRED

Posted Sep 22, 2011 on Hotels.com
Well signposted on approach. Hotel itself has small entrance about 15 meters from the road obscured by stallholders and pavement cafe patrons. Impossible to park anywhere near entrance to book in as it is an official Taxi Rank and they are possessive about the space. Only option is to purchase underground Hotel garage at a cost of 8 euros per day. Hotel is dingy and tired. Breakast menu is limited and mismatched crockery and flatware. Reception staff have limited English, and to log on to the 'free' WiFi mean't negotiating down to a 1st floor stiflingly hot corridor.The logon code is huge and difficult to understand in using both upper & lowercase zero's and letter O's.Nightmare. So saying, the experience is not at all bad and represented good value for money. Lovely view of the vibrant Dockyard area which is a real treat for us country folks!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No air conditioning as promised

Posted Jul 12, 2011 on Hotels.com
Very run down, brown water, stinky, HOT, unpleasant staff and nothing around the hotel. We could not wait to get of this hotel. We should have paid much less so the service. When we checked in the front desk said that they didn't have any air but they were working on it and it should have been up by tomorrow but we never saw any progress or anyone even trying to fix this problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Malta

You get what you pay for

Posted Jun 18, 2011 on Hotels.com
A 2/3* hotel and it does live up to that rating. The receptionist and the lady running the Buffet both 5* shame the owner 2* max. We spent 2 nights nothing to do in the surrounding area or in the hotel. Truthfully on reflection I would stay again. BE WARNED if (like me) you only want tea and toast for breakfast DO NOT ON ANY ACCOUNT go through into the buffet room or the owner will charge you for a full buffet. First day I made that mistake but refused to pay for what I didn't have. Again the lady on reception and the lady running the buffet both excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Croydon, UNited Kingdon

" good hotel, shame about the location"

Posted Jun 5, 2011
hotel was clean, comfortable & welcoming - however, we were led to believe it was within easy distance of Gibraltar ( having booked holiday in Gibraltar - this is one of the hotels that was offered ). It was 30 mins by cab, & 40 - 45 mins by public transport. There was nothing to do in the imeadiate vacinitng of the hotel - & there was no literature suggesting outings or activities. it was a port - but mainly container shipping. My 8yr old granddaughter & I were disapointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Hotel Al Mar, Algeciras

Posted Jun 3, 2011 on Hotels.com
The hotel decor is stuck in the 1970s - brown and drab and so are the room furnishings. The room was clean though. There is a small flatscreen tv with only Spanish language channels. The hotel does have a good location - 5 minutes walk to the train and bus stations, 2 minutes to the ferry terminal and has great views over the port and to Gibraltar. It is a good choice if you are going to Gibraltar and are coming by train, or are going to Morocco and aren't too concerned with having a modern room or amenities.