Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Tony from South Pennines

Not worth the 4-star rating

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Nice building although the bathroom had been poorly fitted
Cons: Employ sufficient staff! Better shower curtain arrangement. Wi-fi and TV that actually work as advertised.
Location: The Alcazar, much smaller than the Real Alcazar in Seville, is well presented - costs 1.80 euros for pensioners.
This is potentially a very good hotel, in a splendid building more or less under the shadow of the cathedral. When I arrived shortly after 1 pm, my room was not ready ("check-in from 12 noon") and the floor was still wet some two hours later. The advertised wi-fi throughout the hotel only worked properly in the reception area: the reception staff were obviously used to apologising for this problem. The TV did not work, allegedly because of a recent storm: later on I could get one channel without sound. The second day, my room had not been serviced by 14:30 (I like to siesta when the shops are closed when not doing anything important) and was finally cleaned around 17:30 - the following day was even worse with the room not having being serviced by 18:30. The reason for this became apparent quite early: the reception staff also cleaned the rooms and probably did other duties. A number of customers arrived only to find the they had to summon the receptionist who was busy elsewhere. Management should realise that if one person is doing two or more jobs, the standard of service will fall away and customers will vote with their feet. For a four-star hotel, the level of service - e.g. no porterage - was far below what I would have expected (indeed at my next two-star hotel the service was much better!). Jerez is a fine small city, well worth spending a few days, but there are much better hotels - I will not be using the Bellas Artes again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great weekend away

Posted Feb 25, 2013
Great location. Close to cathedral and bodegas, about 5 mins walking to main pedestrianised centre. Very helpful staff. thoroughly enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Central location - Jerez

Posted Oct 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
good comfortable hotel across from cathedral. room was good with view. the toilet was a bit squashed in a corner but otherwise room good with huge tv. roof terrace seemed a bit neglected with dead plants but would have been a nice place to sit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rustem from Brussels

pleasant for stay

Posted Sep 28, 2012
Hotel is in the excellent location, in the middle of old town and in front of the Cathedral. Personel are friendly. Room and bath are very clean. Airco is working well but no window for outside. The missing part, there is no car parking belongs to the hotel. Anyone who stays there he must park its car outside the Arch, for not payment . Otherwise he has to pay high rate or big fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Sep 6, 2012
Our room did not live up to expectations. The shower arrangement over the bath was poor, and water leaked on to the floor, despite the shower curtain being placed inside the bath. You couldn't open the curtains to the room, and the bedside tables were unstable. The bed which should have been fixed to the wall was loose. There were no tea or coffee-making facilities in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent location.

Posted Jul 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
Wonderful to arrive in Spain and enter the Hotel Bellas Artes. Wonderful location, wonderful rooms and the Receptionists I think called Gemma and Anna (not sure if I have the names right.) but they were so helpful and went beyond duty as I could not find my rental car voucher. They helped sort it all out for me. Wonderful wonderful service. Will definitely stay again and again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

great location, great hotel

Posted Mar 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
lovely hotel right opposite the cathedral and tio pepe bodega. lovely staff and interesting rooms, old antiques gave it a really welcoming feel. def would return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Scotland

Satisfied

Posted Jun 18, 2011
The hotel is in a very good location and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room (101) we had was - from what I noticed of one or two of the other rooms - fairly basic and not very spacious. The hotel was a good base and we would use it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london

Hotel Bellas Artes

Posted Nov 5, 2010
This hotel has plenty of character, the staff are extremly helpfull, the location is superb, the only problem being the hotel only has 3 parking spaces, the nearest public car par is 10 minutes away which is a bit of a pain.