Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom East Sussex, UK

Lovely old building sympathetically updated.

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Cons: The food was good but the choice for half board was a bit limited (three options with the same two desserts each night). It was good value but there
Location: The location is very handy for the town, railway station and the ferry but quite a long walk from the beaches.
A very comfortable hotel with helpful staff. The hotel pool was lovely and uncrowded when we visited at the end of September.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sam Sahafrom San Francisco

Convenient & comfortable

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
A nice enough conversion of an old monastery, that is if you don't mind the odd resemblance to the hotel in the shining. Old priestly paraphernalia – cool & creepy – abound and the spaniard still insist on pretending that two twin beds pushed up against each other are an acceptable substitute for a real double bed for grown adults. Nice pool and centrally located near the 'downtown' area. On-site parking is a huge plus in a town where parking is not easy
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Posted Oct 9, 2011 on Hotels.com
This was a beautiful hotel, although recently renovated to a high standard it retains many original features, well located for town centre and about 20 minutes walk to the beach, a shuttle bus to the beach is provided in high season. The hotel was exceptionally clean throughout. The staff were friendly and helpful especially those on reception who spoke perfect English. I would definately stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2011 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was very lovely and in a nice location. Our hotel room was very comfortable and the room was lovely, although the hotel is so big, it is a little bit hard to find your room sometimes, depending on what stairwell or elevator you take.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond.Surrey.

Cafeteria worth a detour.

Posted Jul 23, 2011
The star feature of this Hotel is the Goumet tapas that arrived at our table from the hotel cafe.Chef Joachim produced the best we have tasted for a long time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2011 on Hotels.com
The hotel is large and impressive. I would call it "overstuffed". The lobbies are very opulent, but the halls leading to our room looked a little worn. The room was adequate but had a heavy perfumed smell that seemed to be covering up cigarette smoke or who-knows what. We decided to forego housekeeping to spare us from a fresh application of the fragrance. The pool is quite nice, and the reception staff was very helpful. The hotel is fine, but I feel we could have gotten better value elsewhere. Definitely a hotel for a slightly older set.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Merseyside UK

Monasterio San Miguel in El Puerto de Santa Maria

Posted Feb 22, 2011 on Hotels.com
Driving to the hotel in torrential rain is not easy. When we eventually found the hotel down the narrowest street passable we entered the car park and left our car there for the duration of our stay - it is not easy to navigate the streets of EPdSM. The entry to the hotel via the car park with luggage is difficult with a dingy staircase to negotiate. However once in the hotel it is magnificent with antique furniture and art everywhere. Our room did not match the public rooms - in need of some TLC but adequate. Enjoyed coffees and cakes in the cafe bar but dinner there was very disappointing - did not use the restaurant.. It is situated 400 metres from the seafront (public car park). The resort is not the pretiiest and looked 'well worn', perhaps with a bit of sunshine it may look different but unlikely. We caught the train into Cadiz, the station is 800 metres from the hotel. This was well worth it with the fare less than €5 return and the station in Cadiz right at the harbour and within 800 metres of the cathedral - it really beats getting the car out. Lastly on the hotel, it is huge and takes up a complete block and finding your room can be a trial. A better direction from reception on check in would have helped initially. Would we go back to EPdSM - definitely not which is a pity because the hotel was just right for our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom uk

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2011 on Hotels.com