Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Leonardfrom Spring Hill, FL

Normandy Visit

Posted Dec 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great Hotel staff, Breakfast was very good. Hotel on the tram line, no need to drive to center city. Parking in downtown very difficult with many one way streets. Only problem no street address on reservation, GPS got us on the street, had to drive to find Hotel sign and then follow signs to parking lot on the back street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Corinnefrom Eaubonne

Novotel ancienne generation standard

Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Proche de la rocade, mais surtout du CHU, l'hotel est essentiellement frequenté par une population qui a affaire avec l'hopital. Besoin de renovation certain, service sympathique et propreté parfaite. Le restaurant est petit, mal fichu ... J'etais seule au diner au restaurant, mais on m'a neanmoins mis a une table qui me donnais l'impression de presque manger dans le hall !!! Si vous en avez le courage, prenez votre voiture pour aller manger ailleur car cuisine d'assemblage bien presentee certes mais d'un rapport qualite prix trop élevé.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Bon rapport qualité prix sans plus !

Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Le service est bon, Petit déjeuné raisonnable, Parking gratuit, Tram a coté, A 2Km du centre ville. Les points négatifs sont : le nettoyage des chambres, et SURTOUT le matelas qui n'est pas du tout confortable Il ne faut pas s'attendre à avoir un 'vrai' hôtel 4*
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Garyfrom Chatham

Good Location, Excellent service!

Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Family room which involves a sofa bed and pull out mattress. Little cramped but excellent value for the price. Breakfast had a good choice including some hot items. Bit expensive when bought separately at 15 euros but ours was included for some reason!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Hôtel très agréable.

Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Séjour très agréable. Personnel professionnel et sympathique. Chambre propre et grande. Lit parapluie. L'hôtel est très calme. Repas correct, petit déjeuner classique et bon. Nous y reviendrons sans problème.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Olivier

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hôtel ancien, non rénové. Petit déjeuner a la limite du correct. Situé au bord du périphérique de Caen…
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by novotel1, Hotel Management
Cher Olivier, Nous vous remercions d'avoir posté ce commentaire et nous excusons pour les problèmes rencontrés. Pour le petit-déjeuner, notre résponsable restaurant a bien reçu le message et va tout mettre en oeuvre pour améliorer notre prestation. Pour l'ancienneté de l'hôtel, ACCOR travaille sur un nouveau concept dont nous devrions bénéficier dans le futur. En éspérant vous revoir bientôt dans nos établissements. Cordialement. La réception
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Mikefrom Christchurch

Good stopover or few days doing the D day exp

Posted Aug 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
A bit dated but rooms were clean the staff friendly and the restaurant was reasonably priced with a good menu. Pool needed a clean though.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by MichiCfrom UK

Beware of thieves operating in the car park

Posted Aug 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was clean, had a good but expensive restaurant and activities for the children. The hotel pool is not heated and even in mid August was too cold for our children to swim in. Our rooms were clean, we are a family of 5 and unfortunately there are no family rooms so we had to have 2 separate rooms, these were quite a distance apart but on the same floor which was a shame but accept that the hotel was busy. We booked the hotel specifically because it had a private car park with CCTV and we were travelling back from holiday so had all of our luggage in the car and bikes securely attached to our bike rack so we needed a secure car park. The car park appeared secure with a secure entry gate and CCTV however 2 of our bikes were stolen during our only night here, the thieves had cut through heavy duty bike locks to steal our adult bikes. The CCTV is not recorded and as it turned out, not monitored either. The pedestrian gate was not locked allowing thieves to let themselves in and have enough time to cut through bike locks and take their pick of those bikes on offer. The hotel staff were fairly sympathetic but did nothing except give us the address of the police station, they refused to call the police on our behalf. We will definitely not stay in this hotel again, it is simply not safe and they pay only lip service to security. It was a very expensive overnight stay in the end
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Notts

Nice hotel, convenient for ferry port.

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable and convenient for Normandy battlefields. Breakfast good.
Cons: Yes, dinner is very substandard, and lets the rest of the hotel down. One of the very few bad meals I have had in France.
Location: Visit the Normandy battlefields, Bayeux tapestry and fiefdom of William I.
Generally good, reservations held to cater for ferry arrival times. In my case docking at 21.30, arriving at hotel one hour later. Reception manned for checkout at 06.00 for 08.30 ferry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Excellent hotel for a late night ferry stop over.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Parking facilities, reception, cleanliness and it had everything we needed for the night including free wifi.
Cons: Signage to the hotel.
Location: Excellent for a stopover when catching a ferry or arriving late at night. Close to all the D Day beaches and museums.
We have stayed here twice, both times after arriving on the late evening ferry from Portsmouth. The first time we had a little trouble finding it but once there we were able to park right outside very easily. Having stayed in various budget hotels in the UK we were very impressed with this. There are a lot of negative reviews but we were very happy, check in was straightforward, the staff were polite and helpful and the room was clean and more than adequate for us. We were in reality only there for a few hours before setting off on our journey but even if we had been touring the area we would have been happy to stay for a few days. There may well be "better" hotels but if like us you just want to check in, get your head down and leave again, it was perfect. The facilities in the room were more than satisfactory, the bathroom was clean with a great shower, yes the loo was separate but this is really not something I would see as a negative comment, there was free wifi and a mini fridge, our two kids shared a twin sofa bed in our room and we all had a good night's sleep. I have no doubt we will be back there again next year.