Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel spoiled by overheating

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Its convenient location
Cons: Guests should be able to turn off the radiators in their room
Location: Cahir Castle is a stone's throw away. The historic sites of Cashel are easily reached by bus.
I stayed 2 nights in early June on a touring holiday in southern Ireland. It is the best hotel in Cahir and is very centrally located less than a minute's walk from the Castle and the bus stops. Don't expect urban luxury: it is an unpretentious small town hotel. Some of the decor and furnishings are a bit tired, but it is perfectly adequate overall. I dislike overheated rooms, so my stay was spoiled by the fact that the central heating radiator in my room came on several times a day and evening, even in June, and it was not possible to turn the radiator off. On my first night, I was told that it was possible to control the radiator by using the thermostat dial on the wall inside the room, but it did not seem to be responsive and on my second night another staff member told me these were not operative and that there was no way to overide the centralised timer and stop the radiator coming on in a particular room. As my room was on a main road, I could not sleep with the window open. I would not stay here again, but would recommend the hotel as a good value place to stay in the area, for people who like heat, or are not as bothered by it as I am. The cooked breakfast was the best I had in Ireland, and there is a good bisto within the hotel at which I had a good meal on my first night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Lovely grand old hotel with pleasing ameneties.

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: Lovely outdoor seating area. Friendly staff.
Location: Cahir Castle isonly about 100 metres away and the Rock of Cashel about a five minute drive.
Friendly staff directed us to a convenient car park in lovely garden setting. Our room was large and clean. Cahir castle was just abour 100 metres from the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

We left early

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Lobby and eating area
Cons: Rooms!
Location: Cute town with friendly people.
The lobby of the hotel was nice and the staff was fine. The room, however, was very disappointing. By American standards, the hotel would be considered 1 1/2 to 2 stars at best. The room needed major updating. We made reservations elsewhere for the second night of our stay. The hotel would not refund our second night (understandable with such short notice) but expedia.com customer service was so very helpful and applied a credit to my account. If you don't mind dingy carpet and busted in door jams, where someone had kicked in the door, then the food is good and the staff is fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Cons: It's not the newest building, but that was fine for me
Location: Just ~3 minutes by foot from Cahir castle
Very nice receptionist and comfortable bed; Wifi also worked for me in my room. I stayed only one night and also enjoyed a good dinner in the downstairs restaurant. The breakfast (included in my overnight price of ~$55) was really Irish, made to order and excellent (scrambled eggs & salmon). In addition there was a breakfast buffet (all included in the price) ... the breakfast waiter was cheerful, very friendly and understanding. Great place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Good value good food nice staff. Rooms clean but need a bit of refurbishment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by michael j from Tuam

cahir house

Posted Mar 26, 2015 on Hotels
we had a lovely relaxing stay staff where lovely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to Cahir Castle

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Cahir House Hotel was the residence for a noble family, who was the owner of the Cahir Castle. The Cahir House Hotel is old but well maintained. But the heater in the room is not that effective and a bit cold in the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

a fine hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: it was in the town centre brill
Cons: all was good in the hotel
Location: there was a fine castle just near the hotel
would stay in this hotel every thing was so nice and the staff were so easy 2 get on with a fine hotel and good staff for sure would stay again
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Dreadful

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
No hot water in shower, staff lied and said problem with boiler in hotel,(electric shower) not the case as hot water in tap. After being asked to wait 30 minutes for water to heat up and when it didn't we eventually (4 phone calls to reception later) got moved to another room which was dirty. Bar food disgusting, everything looked and tasted deep fried, even a tuna sandwich tasted greasy. Would not return to this hotel, would have been better off camping.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Owen from Dublin

Comfortable and affordable

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels
Fine hotel, old but comfortable. In no way luxurious. Well heated and comfortable. Friendly service.