Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alaska

Perfect Birder's Paradise

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: It is a birder's paradise close to the beach, comfortable and convenient. We could have stayed at the hotel the whole time and had a great experience
Cons: Sound does travel between adjoining rooms, but we were never bothered by room neighbors .
Location: Cahuita is small enough to easily see everything from the Playa Negra across the street to the Reserve, and lots of restaurants and shops in between.
This is hotel was started decades ago, starting with a couple of cabins for rent in a safe fenced lot. Now there are tons of rooms and cabins available, a pool, and a restaurant. The thing is, you can't tell because the gardens and trees are so thick that you can't see any other rooms unless they are right next to you. It's like a jungle paradise with fruit and flowering trees and bushes everywhere. Jasmine trees and hibiscus flowers of all kinds, Heliconia and palms, all in bloom. We saw the stunningly colorful poison dart frogs by the road, tucans and a masked tityra front the pool, and numerous other birds throughout the trails on the property. The birdsong in the morning was delightful! And of course there is the caffeine-addicted parrot demanding coffee at the restaurant... :) They rented us bicycles so it was easy to get around town though it was easy to walk everywhere too. We were a group of 6 and there was another group of professors there on an organised trip. It was perfect for people of different interests to do different things and yet we could also all meet easily for a meal or just to talk in the many inviting outdoor places. The staff was cheerful and helpful, the manager is French Canadian so is fluent in English and French too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal, Canada

Excellent mais manque d'éclairage la nuit venue

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Cons: Éclairage insuffisant en soirée: l'allée de l'entrée lorsqu'on arrive du village à pied est totalement dans l'obscurité, de même que les autres allées
Location: Village à 10 minutes à pied. Plage de sable noire direct face à l'hôtel.
Excellent à tous points de vue sauf pour l'éclairage extérieur totalement à revoir. Particulièrement l'allée d'entrée lorsqu'on arrive à pied du village, et les allées menant aux chambres. La piscine et le bar manquent également d'un peu d'éclairage.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Enttäuschend

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wir waren sehr enttäuscht von dieser Lodge, Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis für die "Deluxe-Zimmer" passt überhaupt nicht. Alte verschlissene Handtücher und Bettwäsche. Kein Kühlschrank, kein Föhn, keine Beach/Pool-Handtücher, Hängemappe nur Deko. Alles sehr veraltet, hier wurde schon lange nicht mehr renoviert.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carolinafrom Heredia

gracias!

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved it, we go there every year for a romantic get away and the staff is always do nice to us. The new management are making improvements to the facilities and we liked all the changes very much. Beaches are also amazing, people are friendly, weather is incredible, couldn't ask for more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly, family run hotel in peaceful location

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Great spot to stay in chilled out Cahuita. 10 min walk to town. Friendly, relaxing family hotel set in peaceful spot next to Playa Negra. Many native animals on site, including Sloths!! Negatives: Breakfast way overpriced, and maids should pre-clean your room beforehand. Gecko droppings, ants and stained sheets not so pleasant to walk into. Still, I'd stay again !!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Annettefrom USA

NOT IMPRESSED!

Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room dirty and old. No hot water. Power was out for 2 hrs but that was probably not hotels fault, but not water either. Internet didn't work but at one spot. Got out of there ASAP!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jana und Reginefrom Frankfurt

Sehr schön

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wir waren leider nur zwei Nächte dort-zu kurz. Der Nationalpark direkt vor der Tür, wo wir mehr Tiere sahen, als in allen anderen. Der Ort ist auch für Frauen bei Dunkelheit zu besuchen, viele Reggaebars, nette Menschen. Auch in der Anlage kann man mit Glück Faultiere, Kolibris, Leguane und Agutis sehen. Der Pool ist wunderbar kühl, abends kann man Frösche beobachten. Das Essen ist gut und an den Bungalows gibt es Moskitonetze. Gerne wieder!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by tonifrom barcelona

Lodge bonito gran ubicación.

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
El hotel conforme a lo esperado; sin grandes lujos. Bonito y en una zona preciosa. Importante que no te den miedo los bichos si vas a alojarte aqui, esta en plena naturaleza, por tanto haberlos hailos. Satisfecho con el hotel. Recomiendo comer fuera, precios muy elevados respecto a lo que vale comer en Costa Rica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Antjefrom Apenrade

Toller Aufenthalt

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Aus den ursprünglich drei Tagen wurden sechs Tage, was natürlich am Ort selber lag, aber eben auch an diesem Hotel. Sehr schöne Anlage, sehr entspanntes Umgebung, Strand direkt vor der Tür und sehr freundliche Menschen. Jederzeit wieder.