Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Close to restaurants

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Like most hotels in Cairns it is tired and dated and in need of a complete refit.We had not been up there for Twenty five years.Now we know why.much better value to go to Thailand or Vietnam
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Close enough to town but the hotel needs a good sc

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Cleanliness - clean the lifts. My room had a iron burn on the carpet.
Location: Good location
Average hotel - dated - needs a renovation and a bit ofd spit and polish.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My Stay

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: The staff were very nice & friendly
Cons: My experience with the hotel wifi dropped out a bit but so did my mobile data in Cairns so it maybe server issues.
Location: Lots of tours to do in Cairns which was a 15 minute walk from the Hotel & some tours have a shuttle bus to pick you up & drop you off to the hotel.
Was a comfortable hotel for the price & I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Queensland

Awesome service and stay

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Staff, Location and Rooms
Cons: Nothing
We loved staying at Cairns Plaza for our holiday. The room was clean and very comfortable and had everything we needed. The staff particularly Megan on the front desk were fantastic and were so helpful. Megan went so far out of her way to make sure we were looked after and our tours were all booked. Such a great location away from the hustle and bustle of the restaurant end but so well located in easy strolling distance. Loved it and we will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Cairns township

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: The morning staff
Cons: The night staffs attitude
Location: An easy walk into Cairns
The receptionist on was amazing so helpful & nothing at all was a problem to her. The staff on our check in grunted & oriented to the lift & handed us a key? Not very friendly at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but lacks customer service

Posted Jun 6, 2014
The room is minimally decorated but has everything you need. What was most disappointing was the assistance (or lack thereof) from reception. We arrived early morning from getting off a live aboard dive boat so I understand if there may not have been clean rooms at 9am. However, the front desk clerk made no effort to try and get us in asap and actually would not let us check in until after 2pm. It was pretty evident that the hotel was not full so I am not sure why they were so unwilling to help us out out at least offer to contact us when a room was clean and ready to go. Pretty disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bob from Darwin

Stop over for 1 night

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: Close to the water and main city block
Cons: Have the lift cabs upgraded. They look old and give the wrong impression of the hotel on arrival.
Location: Close to the water and main shopping area. Everything required around the city area is within walking distance
Staff very co-operative in providing local knowledge in places to eat and sites to see
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Roberta from Eastern Washington

Wonderful pool, delicious breakfast, balcony : )

Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved our stay in Cairns. The pool was wonderful after a trip out to the Great Barrier Reef. Its easy to walk to the Reef Terminal and Pier and a little longer to walk to the train station for the Kuranda train. It poured down rain every night we were there and the fruit bats flew from the trees by the library out over the bay every night as well. They do NOT fly over the pool at this hotel because of its location. Close to the "Muscle Beach" equipment, tennis courts and playground is across the street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by mike from cooktown

good value

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
friendly staff