Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice comfortable hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Comfortable bed and nice swimming pool.
Location: Esplanade a few blocks away.
Nice hotel, close to supermarket, Indian and Italian restaurants and Pub which has huge meals. About a 20-30 minute walk into the heart of Cairns. You really need a car to get around if staying here, although if taking a tour, buses will pick you up from here. The bed was nice and comfy. No lifts.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Brian and Anne, Hotel Management
Hi Katrina .... and thank you for taking the time to leave a comment and we appreciate your description of the Grosvenor as a "nice comfortable hotel" ....... although we don't really consider the Grosvenor to be a 'Hotel' as such. The Grosvenor is primarily a holiday and short term, self contained apartment comnplex ... but we do have a few "hotel" room which we call Studios. The fact that we have restaurants, food and alcohol shops and the Cock & Bull Hotel all within 300 metres means that most guests don't have to go into 'town' all the time to eat or shop. For those that may want to a taxi to the furthest point away in town is only about $10 and a bus ride only a couple of dollars (or you could go for a walk as my wife is constantly trying to get me to do)...... 15/20 minutes to the centre of town and about 30/35 minutes to the far side. Once again, thank you for your commetns and we hope you really enjoyed your visit to our great City.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gold Coast

Friendly staff but facility is bit old

Posted Jul 12, 2014
It was good stay with friendly staff. Not far from the central of town, 5mins by car, 15mins on foot. BBQ area was good. Facility is a bit old. Since we stayed ground floor, many ants came inside room especially around food. Price a bit expensive than I expected but the room was huge and comfy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Utah, USA

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Nice open, spacious room. Great value. DVD loans at the front desk. Very personable and friendly staff.
Cons: Our toilet kept running, but when it bugged us, it was after 5 pm and there was no staff tell about it.
Location: Nice places to eat very close by, and a small grocery store for food.
We stayed in a second story apartment at this location for a few days vacation. The front desk closes at 5 pm (or earlier) and I recommend you contact them a day or two before arrival about your stay and any questions. Ann got us all booked for Tarunga and Green Island before we arrived and helped out with navigating the area. From the hotel, we walked down to the Esplanade (boat terminal) and it took about 30- 35- minutes. Also, some tours will pick you up at the hotel. The room was clean with daily maid service, and the property was tidy. There is a stove top and clothes washer in the room, but no oven or clothes dryer. There is one clothes dryer on the first floor (free) but it's used extensively and we were up late one night with laundry. It was too humid to air dry clothes on the days we were there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Brian and Anne, Hotel Management
Hi RRas - Thank you for taking the time to heave a review of your recent stay with us. Reviews are an important tool for both ourselves and other guests. The reception desk does close ... but not at 5 pm. Reception is open from 8 am until 6pm Monday to Saturday and 8 am to 12 pm on a Sunday (the only day we take half a day off). We live at the Grosvenor and so are always contactable after hours if something important comes up (which unfortunately does not include a midnight call to ask "can you tell me what the weather is going to be like tommorow" .... but i did tell them). We do send our own email confirmation to all guests where we have an email contact (which is only some of the time) and encourage guests to contact us prior to arrival with any questions they may have, whether it be about their accommodation or what the best tours to take are. We have placed a bench top hallogen light/fan oven in each apartment but unfortunately some guests don't realise they are there. Anne and I hope you enjoyed your stay with us and especially your tour out to the Great Barrier Reef and Kuranda "the village in the rainforest".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant stay

Posted May 10, 2014
Lovely studio with everything we needed. Pool area great with bbq. Managers very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by crjbfrom UK

Excellent service

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friendly and helpful, booked and chased tour company up when they didn't arrive on time. The in-room information sounded a bit officious but was OK. Generally excellent service and accommodation. Ideal location just out of town. Will be returning there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MERfrom London

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: It was well fitted out and comfortable with very helpful staff.
Location: A couple of blocks from the Esplanade then a 15 minute walk into town and the free lagoon.Plenty of convenience stores/pub/eateries across road.
We stayed 5 nights from late Feb and had a 1 bed apartment.It was huge and very comfortable and well fitted. Reception was very helpful with plenty of guide books.There is a nice small pool with BBQ. It is perhaps just a little far out of Cairns but as it is only a couple of blocks down onto the Esplanade it is a lovely walk by the sea into central Cairns. There is more than 1 convenience store opposite and the nearby pub serves enormous meals- one between two would be adequate. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend a stay there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Del

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by yiyunfrom brisbane

good air condition!

Posted Jan 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ゆみこfrom 日本

リピートしたい素敵な宿

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
日本の方はあまり利用していないようですが、お部屋も広々していて冷蔵庫や洗濯機もあり、物価の高いオーストラリアで長期滞在するのに、最適な宿です。近くにスーパーや酒屋さん、カフェやピザ屋さんなどもあり、とても生活しやすいです。観光客のメインストリートエスプラネードから少し距離がありますが、それがかえって胡散臭いお店もなく、過ごしやすかったです。 フリーで使えるプールもとても清潔で、各国から訪れる長期滞在者の交流の場となっていました。 オーストラリアに行ったらまたリピートしたいです。