Ratings based on 279 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorke Peninsula

Cheap but not worth it...

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Man behind desk was very abrupt and arrogant to start with at check in, but did improve a little later. while the room we got wasn't too small, the beds were horrible to sleep on being hard and able to feel the springs. House keeping was very irregular and most times they didn't even knock and just entered while you were in the room, the only thing they did while we were there (6 nights) was occasionally top up the coffee/sugar, change bin bags and towels if they felt like it. The overall general visual appeal of the place is very different from the pictures on any of the sites. Breakfast was simple but nothing to complain about, self serve toast and cerial with juice or tea and coffee. Our room was close to one of the staff rooms and seemed to be loud most of the time. Cheap rooms right in the heart of Cairns however wouldn't bother to stay there in the future...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Centrally located however very noisy.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was good and plentiful and very pleasant to have on the verandah.
Cons: The television sat in the middle of the table it should be mounted on the wall. A clock radio would be have been useful.more coat hangers.
Location: Good location very central to all attractions.
Room service was tardy not sure if sheets were changed in a week. I would not rate it any moor than two and a half star Paid for a superior room, just as well !! Would not stay there again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra, ACT

Hotel right in the city

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Hotel building is quite unusual with "antique" furnishings along the halls and each hallway different. Room was clean with a mid stay towel/toilet paper refresh and bin empty (no bed making). My only warning would be that every night, whether weekend or weekday was extremely loud in noise level from the pubs underneath.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from meredith vic

nice hotel close to all shops

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: the next day the staff move us to a quiet room very good ,and the staff was excellent thanks for that
Cons: close the pub at 11oclock
Location: very good center of town
1st night was no good nose from pub under our room ,lucky to have 2 hours sleep
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Overnight before morning cruise

Posted Jul 23, 2014
We had a 1night stay for 3 ppl. Staff was friendly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

not impressed and nervous staying there.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
stayed there one night. check in was 1pm but room was not ready yet when I arrived there. room was not very clean, water stains on the ceiling, lock on doors and windows did not seem secure. room was above Irish pub and was noisy. twin bed was uncomfortable. was awoken at 230 am by loud bang on my outside wall from someone throwing something at the wall. Pictures on site were much more flattering than reality. TV was about the same size as my laptop screen and did not have good reception(fuzzy picture and sound cutting out) It was one step up from a backpacker hostel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Nice hotel but very noisy

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Old world charm
Cons: CLOSE BAR DOWNSTAIRS
Location: Heaps to do nearby
Everything is fine except the noise from the bar till 3-4am. Then the street cleaners arrive. Such a pity for such an iconic hotel typical of councils to allow the bar to trade into the small hours of the morning under a hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Bevy from WA

Noisy neighbours

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was more than adequate, but the noise outside - neighbours shouting, rubbish trucks VERY early, roadworks commencing early, vacuuming of verandah early - made sleep very intermittent and short. I believe I could have asked for a quiet room...!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by John from Sligo Ireland

Basic accomodation central location

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Good breakfast, central location, view and atmosphere of hotel balcony.
Cons: Room 95 and any other room like it needs a complete makeover.
Location: Excellent base for seeing the Barrier Reef, and Kurunda.
Dreadfully sick smell in room 95 that not even the Air Con being left on could shift. A really dirty room. Sheets and pillow covers seemed to be years past their use by date and their clenseiness was questionable.