Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel is in a very convenient location

Posted Aug 11, 2014
The room was great and well appointed although room service overlooked refilling the tissue box for a couple of days. Milk was also omitted on one occasion, maybe because we had also bought some milk but only because the rations weren't enough. The restaurant was great with a good menu and the staff very personal and looked afters us. Overall our stay was very enjoyable and we would certainly return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great central location

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, pool
Cons: Bathroom so small you could only have one person in there at a time
Location: Great spot
Great central location. Hotel is ageing a bit but the room was still very well maintained. Main drawback was the bathroom was TINY.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great location and friendly staff!

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Positioned on the promenade - cant get much better than that! Had to check-in really early and was accommodated, top marks!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Mel, Hotel Management
Dear Ian, Thank you very much for your review. We are very lucky to have our hotel in such a prime position and guests love that it is only a few minutes walk to local amenities and attractions. Glad to hear you received great service you our staff. Our guests deserve the very best. Thanks again for staying with us and hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards Matt Rippin General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

5* location

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Just had two nights at the Holiday Inn and would thoroughly recommend it for a comfortable, good value stay. The view from our room over to the Marina was dazzling and the breakfats buffet is definitely worth including in your room rate. Staff were really friendly and helpful and able to recommend decent tours. Stepping outside you are on the Esplanade in a few minutes which is the best location!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Mel, Hotel Management
Dear KM, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. Glad to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. Providing our guests with exceptional service is something we take pride in. We are very lucky to be located just outside the Esplanade, it takes you to all the popular attractions around Cairns, something our guests love about us. Hope to have you stay with us again soon. Kind Regards Matt Rippin General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by value for money from SydneyResident

Holiday Inn, Cairns offers great value for money

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Location of the hotel is close to all amenities such as shopping and restaurants along the Esplanade. It is walking distance to the ferry terminal for all reef tours originating from Cairns. The hotel is also located in close proximity to the Cairns Central shopping mall and supermarkets. The hotel offers great value for money accommodation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Mel, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the hotel. Great to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and that our location was of great service to you. It would be an honour to have you stay with us again soon. Kind Regards Matt Rippin General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Libby from Adelaide

Comfortably close to all transport.

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Hotel full but service was not compromised. Staff helpful and friendly.
Cons: Only ordered room service once, Green Thai Curry was ordinary.
Location: Esplanade with many restaurants, RSL on next corner, an experience in itself with good meals. Caught public bus across road to Palm Cove, great!
Denise on reception managed to get my mobile phone recharged when I failed, by being patient and observent of 'wrong' number in instructions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Mel, Hotel Management
Dear Libby, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and that your stay was enjoyable. Glad to hear you received great service from Denise, we like to go that extra mile for our guests. I will pass on your compliments to Denise. Hope to have you stay with us again soon. Kind Regards Matt Rippin General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from Papua New Guinea

Overnight while transiting through Cairns

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, closeness to Esplanade and town, cheerfulness and knowledge of staff, efficiency
Location: Esplanade is within 200m for walking, running, exercise and views of the waterfront, restaurants and shopping in town within 800m
Excellent interaction and advice from front desk staff who provided good information on recreational activities, food and taxis, all of which proved reliable. Small functional gym which was well maintained. Quick check out early morning by cheerful front desk person.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by possum from queensland

Good position right on the esplanade

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Position
Cons: The fresh fruit at breakfast! this is the second time I have stayed here and find the quality very poor might need to change supplier
Location: Close to RSL club and Hospital
Enjoyed the bar and reception area very comfy, Found the staff in the restaurant very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a problem with the first room we were in, but Thomas at the front desk quickly and professionally took care of the situation. Beautiful landscaping!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by brett from NQ

Great location

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location being only a short walk from the restaurant strip and the lagoon. Great breakfast!