Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Australia

Great Retreat near stunning beach.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
I spent a week staying at Kewarra and had a fantastic experience. The resort has a beautiful atmosphere and the staff were very helpful. Kewarra is in a good location out of Cairnes but close enough to explore everything with a car. I would recommend this place to couples. The shacks are nice and private and the proximity to the beach is perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice hotel close to the beach. Peaceful

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything, especially Day Spa:)
Cons: Maybe prices:) because everything expensive..Or at least greater choice on morning buffet:)
Location: Great location, about 20 minutes drive from Cairns, 5 minutes to Palm Cove, about 40-50minutes drive to Port Duglas. 10 minutes to the Cairns Zoo..
Better than expected. Close to the beach, in the middle of the rainforest. Peaceful and quiet. And the Day Spa is something aaamazing, loved it! Highly recommend it! The stuff is just great, very professional. The food in the resort restaurant was tasty, but every day the same and a bit pricy..so hire a car and drive just 5 minutes to Palm Cove, there are so many cafes and restaurants up there and a fantastic beautiful beach as well. We travelled with a baby and loved it. Also it's fantastic place for honeymooners, and for everybody who loves nature. Tourists spend heaps of money on various tours to the local rainforest but if you stay at Kewara Beach hotel, you can stay put and enjoy it from your own room. White beach is just 50 meters away and is ideal spot to laze around under the palm trees taking in picturesque view
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from arlington, va, usa

Paradise in a rainforest

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Why visit a rainforest from Cairns on a day trip when you can just stay in one? Beautiful setting for our romantic 2 day get-away after a GBF snorkel day trip. A Major highlight of our 10 day Australia trip to Sydney, Cairns and Brisbane. We booked a deluxe and we're upgraded to a beachfront bungalow. Exotic, natural and luxurious setting. Enjoyed the complimentary yoga on the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A beautiful location

Posted Mar 17, 2014
We stayed in a deluxe bungalow set in the rainforest. The location was beautiful but we thought the bungalow and the hotel looked a little bit tired in places. The location of the bungalow (in the rainforest) meant we had a few visits from the local wildlife such as a Wallaby. I would recommend a stay at this hotel but opt for a beachfront view if you a a little squeamish.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Amanda from Toronto, ON

Resort on the Beach

Posted Dec 7, 2013
Pros: The environment
Cons: The food.
Location: Beautiful Beach, and set in a beautiful forest. Palm Cove nearby for restaurants
Absolute Paradise. The food is hit or miss though.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mosquito infested swamp, poor food, poor transport

Posted Jan 3, 2012
We were in a room that was supposed to face the "lagoon". It was actually a mosquito infested swamp with muddy water. There is quite a distance walking to our room. They said there will be path will be lit at night - it was not and for the first night, we were groping in pitch darkness, worried that there might be snakes. When we told Reception, they gave us torches!! The food was also dreadful. The worst thing is there is only 1 shuttle a day which they charge for. There is no shuttle at night. Cost of going into the city is A$54 one way - as the food at the hotel was so bad, we had to go to the city. They also charge for transferring you to the airport. Very disappointing indeed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Paris France

best place to forget it all and get lost in the jungle ...with a great cook !

Posted Aug 6, 2009
the staff is fantastic, the bungalows lost in this tropical jungle are marvellous they have a great cook (we are franc !)and had dinner there every evening the free pick up at the airport is nice too we enjoyed feeling at the other part of this world in yet a cosy place
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Very nice but somewhat remote

Posted May 27, 2009
This is a very nice, quiet resort on Kewarra beach. Individual cabins are clean and well maintained and offer a porch setting to enjoy the tropical evenings. We enjoyed the stay here very much. The only drawbacks are the limited eating options with one restaurant on-site and nothing else nearby. Getting to town or anywhere else is a problem if you don't have an auto. The shuttle only runs a few times a day, and the city bus takes 1 hour to get to downtown Cairns. Service is good but the reception desk is not staffed 24 hours, but only during the peak hours. Despite some limitations, I would recommend this resort if an active nightlife scene is not important.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great Resort!

Posted Mar 18, 2009
We came here for our honeymoon, the resort was amazing! The staff went out of their way to be sure that all guests were properly taken care of. The food at the resort was very good and reasonably priced. The pool was fantastic, it was set up to really add to the fact that you are in the rain forest!! Kewarra was also great about helping us set up two great excursions - Snorkeling the Great Barrier Reef and a train/ski lift trip thru the rain forest! The rooms were very comfortable and clean. We would recommend this to anyone, and hope to someday get back!!