Ratings based on 988 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Adelaide

Room with a view.

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: The location (a bit away from the bustle of the main city), the spacious room and incredibly comfortable bed, great undercover parking and the view.
Cons: The carpet and curtains in the room where a tad 'tired".
Location: I only used the room for returning to after a day out and had no time to explore nearby but I did find it an easy place to find in my hire car.
I had been looking for a hotel that gave me a 'balcony with a view' for relaxing on after a rough day and upon enquiring if I had a view over the sea I was a bit disappointed when I was informed that it would be an extra $30 per night for such a room. I was informed that all rooms did 'have a view' however and that mine would face the mountains. I was pleasantly surprised to find that not only did my room have an excellent view of the mountains during daylight hours but I could watch the glorious sunsets and the city lights after dark affording me the relaxation I was so desperately seeking. Thankyou Mercure for an excellent and affordable stay in Cairns.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2015 by MercureCairns, Hotel Management
Dear Adelaide, Thanks for the great review. It is great to read you unwound and watched our amazing sunset from your balcony and hopefully a glass of wine was enjoyed. I hope you get to return in the future. Kind regards, Thomas Kelly Assistant Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chino Hills, CA

Nice hotel in a good location.

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Great location.
Location: Esplanade restaurants and shops within walking distance and pier activities nearby.
We stayed 6 nights here in April 2015 and the balcony view of the beach was just beautiful (but no swimming - full of crocs). The Esplanade area in front and down the street is nice for walking and has plenty of good restaurants to choose from. The hotel pool area was nice and the A/C worked great in the room as well. It was nice to have underground parking for our rental car too. The staff was always helpful and we enjoyed the breakfast buffet too. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2015 by Mercure Cairns, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for the great review!! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, enjoyed the facilities and met our friendly staff. Also it is great to read that you did not go swimming in the mudflats but I will point out that they aren't full of crocs just sometimes are sighted there; nothing to worry about. i hope you return in the future. Kind Regards, Thomas Kelly Assistant Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

terrible internet service for customer

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Cons: internet service
generally good except internet service....even next to reception internet service very poor....internet is very old version, too slow. continuous error while using internet and no ink in printer.... I couldn't believe this is 4star hotel internet service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by Mercure Cairns, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We understand our internet is not the best around but be reassured we are in the process of upgrading our offering. We look forward to your enxt stay. Kind regards, Thomas Kelly Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
by faye perhamfrom Australia - QLD - Regional QLD

Posted Mar 3, 2015 
Pros: Walking distance to town, food, bars, activities.
Location: Close to everything, Good views
Facilities: Good; Value: Affordable; Service: Courteous; Cleanliness: Spotless;
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2015
Thanks for the great review Faye. I'm glad you enjoyed the stay and didn't find the distance to far. I hope you return in the future. Kind Regards, Thomas Kelly Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2015
could not complain staff were friendly . rooms tidy and clean. lovely view from our room overlooking the water.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Mercure Cairns, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review. I hope you return in the future. Kind regards, Thomas Kelly Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
by John Bobinfrom England

Posted Feb 28, 2015 
Pros: Very polite staff. The hotel restaurant menu/food outstanding.
Cons: It is a good 20 minute walk to the restaurants/shops. You need to be fit.
Location: Reasonable access
Facilities: Nice ; Value: Affordable; Service: Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Beautiful; Maybe bathrooms could be modernised.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2015
Dear John, Thanks for the great review. I'm glad to see you enjoyed the food and our staff were great. I hope you return in the future. Kind Regards, Thomas Kelly Assistant Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ricardo Mfrom Joinville/Brazil

Recomendo

Posted Feb 15, 2015 
Excelente custo benefício. O quarto é muito amplo e confortável. Um ponto negativo é o restaurante do hotel onde o cardápio deveria ser melhorado.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2015 by MercureCairnsHarbourside, Hotel Management
Dear Ricardo M, Thank you for the review. Kind regards, Thomas Kelly Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
by Julianne Reiners

Posted Feb 10, 2015 
Pros: The view from an ocean room and late checkout
Cons: More undercover parking needed
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2015
Thanks so much Julie for the great review. 100% agree the view from the ocean view rooms is a massive thumbs up. Hopefully we see you again soon. Kind regards, Thomas Kelly Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beware of low flying planes

Posted Feb 7, 2015 
Enjoyed a relaxing stay with friendly staff in the restaurant and a wide range of food choice. Hotel's Shuttle Bus to centre of Cairns a bonus as the 20-25 minute walk in the hot temperatures is energy sapping. Great views over the bay. The position of Cairns airport means that plane noise is a problem for the whole town starts at 5.30am. and Cairns main street appears to be the flight path in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2015 by MercureCairnsHarbourside, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay even though the planes caused some disturbance. We hope to see you again soon. kind Regards, Thomas Kelly Assistant Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Good Hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Room was good. The only thing I didn't like was the Breakfast in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Mercure Cairns, Hotel Management
Dear Rachel, Thanks so much for the review. I'm sorry to read you didn't like the breakfast. I do hope this didn't impact your stay too much. I do hope you return in the future. Kind Regards, Thomas Kelly Assistant Manager