Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guam

Great layover hotel.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
We stayed here for about 12 hours during your layover to Sydney. It is close to the airport reasonably priced and clean so it worked for us well. I don't think we would have stayed here if we were staying in Cairns since it's pool is under construction and it is a ways from the Esplanade.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is looking tired, close too airport

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: friendly & efficient check in
Cons: rooms need refurbishing
Location: handy to airport
check in was good, friendly & efficient staff. Hotel currently going through some renovations so parking was limited. Room was quiet and comfortable but was in need of refurbishment, looked quite tired.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

This is not a 4 star hotel, it is over rated

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff
Cons: In desparate need of renovation
Location: avarage
A place to sleep no more This was a mistry 4 star hotel, I will never make a mistake of buying a mistry hotrl from Expedia again. We should have been told that pool was not availabe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matthew from Sydney, Australia

Good hotel, located outside of central Cairns

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Good size rooms, very clean
Cons: Bathroom could be renovated, shower was a bit old
Location: located on the esplande, 15-20 minute walk in to the town center
The hotel is located along the far end of the Esplanade and is about a 15 minute walk to the main centre and harbour area of Cairns. The hotel is in good condition, room had everything I needed and was a good size with a large balcony overlooking the Esplanade. The pool is currently being reconstructed but there is a shuttle to the Novotel where you can use the pool so this was not a problem. The bar and restuarant at the hotel are good and have a good choice available at resonable prices. This is a good 4 star option, good quality and very clean. It is a pleasant walk in to town or a shuttle operates once an hour in to the town for those who don't want to walk. I would stay here again if in Cairns for a few days.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The manager is terrible.

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: I would never chose this hotel for stay. Fortunately, the room cleaniness is very good.
We were waiting for the room for 9 hours on June 8. My husband and I arrived at the hotel at 6 am early morning on June 8 (After a 20 hours long trip). The staff told us that if we come back at 11:30 am or 12:00 pm there would be a clean room for us. When we came back at 12:30 pm, the staff told me that the room is still cleaning. I begged the manager( a tall young lady) to let me check in. I told her that I am very tired. I am eager for sleeping.But her manner is very bad. We were waiting for the check in at the lobby for another one and half hours. Nobody cared us. The manager walked up and down. They let other people check in at the same time. I am very anger for her manner.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't Stay

Posted Jun 11, 2014
On arrival, discovered that the pool that I had been looking forward to experiencing was in fact under repair. On discussion with the front desk, they quickly rearranged our accommodation to be relocated at the Novatel Oasis in Cairns with no cost to us. They completely understood that we were looking forward to lounging by a pool and apologised for not informing us earlier. Very friendly and accommodating.....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel location

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: The staff is really friendly and helpful
Cons: When we booked we didn't know swimming pool was getting rebuilt.
In general the hotel is good, we stayed in a waterfront room with a really nice view. Unfortunately the hotel is rebuilding the swimming pool so hotel arranged with Novotel to use theirs
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very disappointing . not 4 star rating .

Posted May 25, 2014
This property has the potential to be great ,but at the moment is very tired , shabby and dirty in places . the pool is closed for repairs but you can use the sister property pool about 3 blocks away .not very convenient as there is no where to shower after and you have to get changed in the toilet block. internet service very bad extremely frustrating 40mins just to print our boarding passes. On a brighter side the staff are very pleasant and tried to help out as much as possible
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room, no pool it was under construction

Posted May 25, 2014
Long wait to get room after having checked in, no pool but very nice room with ocean view as booked!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would stay here again.

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Cons: When we got there the hotel pool was under renovations. We were counting on swimming in it, it would have been nice to know in advance.
Location: It was a good location, not right in town so away from the noise. Just a short walk to all the main activities.
Over all this is a nice hotel and the staff are very freindly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2014
Thank you for your response to our Guest book, it is important that we receive feedback so that we can continue to improve our services and facilities to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Annick Dubois Assistant Manager