Ratings based on 334 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Booked a king room but didn't get it

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Great hotel, but very unhappy to book a king room and be offered a twin on check-in. Ended up settling for a twin queen but overall a bad check-in experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in great location

Posted Jul 27, 2014
The Shangi-La is the hotel write by the marina that you see on all the postcards from Cairns. The location is excellent, and the hotel staff is great. There was some problem with my registration, but it all got sorted out nicely and I got a free bottle of wine out of it. I booked two day trips from the concierge desk and was very pleased with both of them. A great overall experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best spot in Cairns

Posted Jul 16, 2014
We had an Horizon level room with a view over the Marina. Only a couple of minutes walk to get down to the Marina. Staff were great and we noticed that in the others rooms a renovation was underway. Our room was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Enjoyed our stay

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Great idea putting window between bathroom and main bedroom, made the space light and bright. Water being left by bed in evenings.
Cons: Long long long hallways. Miss matched curtains in our room, which were in need of repair due to backing fabric deteriorating.
Location: Close to harbour and great restaurants.
Initially we were disappointed by the room presented. We booked Deluxe Marina Views with King bed and were given a room with two double beds which was cramped and uninviting - it lacked substance with blank walls and the bath was a small corner tub. We were told that when booking through a third party (Expedia) requests were not always honoured. We upgraded to a Horizon room at $60 extra per night but the features Horizon Club offered it was well worth it. We had to settle for a beach view room, which unfortunately above a very noisy bar on Friday night. I would stay again as it was a lovely environment and close to amenities, but I would request room in the centre of the building to avoid noisy bars on Fri/Saturday nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel perfectly situated in the marina

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Location, facilities, nice room with great bathroom and views
Cons: Room in need of a light makeover but still very nice with great bathroom
Location: Excellent location, lots of places to eat, ideal for trips to the reef etc, good pool area and gym
Really nice hotel, good facilities, nice rooms with great views of the harbour , ideal location next to the Marina and boardwalk restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great location and service

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Stayed 4 nights in the deluxe Marina view room... great views, morning sun, courteous staff and a great swimming pool... will visit again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brett from QLD Aus

Great location

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Great location right in the middle of everything you could need. Great staff and service, fantastic view
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by heather from northumberland

Great location on waterfront

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Location: Highly recommend the sunlovers boat and snorkelling trips out to the outer reef, lovely crew!
Great location for a short trip to cairns, near everything and lovely to be so close to the waterfront.
3 out of 5
by Lam

Needs some fixes

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Our room was the "Superior" room. We were only there for one night. The room needs some updating and repairs. Hotel itself was nice and there was a nice coffee shop close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lyn from Central coast NSW

everything was excellant I felt special

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing needs fixing
Location: we went up for a wedding but will be back to see the area and stay in your majestic hotel
The room was beautiful with a majestic view,the staff were helpful and friendly,the food was excellant we will be back