Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by TS from GUAM

reasonalbe value

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
room was okay said 2 beds on reservation but only one... only needed one so was okay. sounded bigger than it actually was but not a problem. perhaps a bit expensive for what you get.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maris from Sydney

Excellent staff

Posted Sep 8, 2012
Pros: Staff (reception)
Cons: Hotel conditions
Location: Sydney
Would recommend this hotel just for the staff! Hotel conditions are quite poor (sun beds broken, pool area is to be refurbished. Also in the room the yellow chairs werre getting black as they are too old). The hotel is clean but needs to be refurbished. However, the quality of staff really offset all that! So helpful, smily, pationate and customer service oriented. A pleasure. Would devinitly go back
2 out of 5
by R&M from Sydney

Our review

Posted Sep 8, 2012
Pros: Close to water and board walk
Cons: Bathroom not clean
Location: 20 min walk to pier I think which is pleasant to walk to.
It was ok for 2 nights as we were not focussed on being a tourist.
2 out of 5
by Peter from Orlando, FL

Disappointing

Posted Jun 4, 2012
There was no staff on duty and the rooms were worn out and need refurb
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from West Orange, NJ

Tropical Queenslander Simple, not fancy

Posted Feb 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
The room was very basic. The desk clerks were very friendly and helpful. The attached Vietnamese restaurant was NOT air conditioned and during their summer it was too hot. Food was fair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

ok

Posted Sep 29, 2011
The hotel was about a mile away from the tourist areas. Access to the western part of the Esplanade was very close. There were many places to run fom that area if you knew where to look. The hotel was mainly quiet except that there seemed to be a lot of families living there long term (I guessed because of the proximity to hospitals?). So sometimes the children were a little noisy, but not too bad. Air conditioner was noisy but worked. Nice kitchenette. Overall clean but old. The front desk was not staffed after 8pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2011 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bourbonnais, IL

Tropical Queenslander Review

Posted Jun 20, 2011
The Tropical Queenslander hotel is located a fair walk from the Cairns esplanade and waterfront, which is the heart of the city. So, it cannot boast the best location in the town. Also, its neighborhood, while nice enough, is not as good as the top hotels. But what the Queenslander lacked in location, it made up for in value. We had a very nice room with great amenities. The hotel staff was excellent and set us up with some very nice tours and directions around town. We had free parking for the car. Internet access was available (reasonable rate, though not free). And they had two very lovely pools. All in all, just what I was looking for at a great rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from PNG

Nice hotel, cheap, just about walkable into town.

Posted May 13, 2009
Hotel was good for the price. No complaints....
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Perfect!

Posted Feb 12, 2009 on Hotels.com
Comfortable, clean, very well equipped. we were only there for a night, but wish we had stayed longer! No complaints whatsoever.