Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Coast

Second time around

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The staff is friendly, the location is great, the price is good
Cons: the rooms floors could be cleaner
Location: Everything you want is nearby, the museum, the pyramids, Memphis, Tahir square
The second time around was every bit as good as the first time. The Food was delicious with many choices on the breakfast menu, there was also a late night meal for guests whom were fasting. It was great to see Mr's Marco, Muhammad, Honi, and the rest of the Staff, they did not miss a beat during there month long fast. I took a Hotel arranged tour, the name of the driver escapes me, he is a very good man, we did Memphis, the step, red and bent pyramids. I walked directly across the street to the Museum of Antiquities. I'll be seeing you again before this year is out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kemet from us

Next to the museum,great views,warm and friendly

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: LOCATION,LOCATION,LOCATION. Friendly staff, Good food, comfort and cleanliness
Cons: The building is old, not much you can do without sacrificing the old style workmanship
Location: perfect location,excellent opportunity to meet locals in el tahir square
City View Hotel has everything you need, great staff, comfort and cleanliness ,good food, and location, location, location. The Egyptian museum of antiquities is a minute and a half away, you merely have to walk out the front door, cross the street, and there she is, home of the most beautiful and meaningful artifacts in the world. El tahir square is around the corner, i went out at night and had the egyptian flag painted on me by proud, spirited youths,a great experience. The hotel has complimentary airport pickup, and a return trip is nominally priced. Mr. Muhammad and Mr.Marco control the lobby and House,. both are excellent in there professions, The morning buffet has something for meat eaters, vegetarians and vegans alike. My favorite was the foul, (Fava beans egyptian style) and the Peppers Tomatoes and Onions prepared by the house chef). Food and beverages are available in the hotel 24/7. Everything on the menu is inexpensive,and the quality is good. The City View Hotel gives you plenty of bang for your buck, all your needs will be met. I'll be returning again before summers here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff

Posted Jun 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very friendly staff, watch out for the door locks, not terribly secure, no 'do not disturb signs. Basic and cheap.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good location & Friendly Staff

Posted Feb 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was absolutely clean, the staff extremely friendly, the food terrific and the location right off Tahrir Square and the Museum of Antiquity with the subway just across the street. The price is fantastic bargain if you do not mind squeezing yourself into a small room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by André from rio de janeiro, Brazil

In the city's heart

Posted Dec 30, 2012
Pros: staff. location and view
Cons: old furniture, cleaness
Location: amazing, next to al tahir square and egiptian museum
amazing staff, very helpful. very good prices for the services. Incredible view, al tahir square on left side and egiptian museum just on the right.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Passing Through

Not sure why this was voted best budget hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
I stayed here at the tail end of a 9 day trip to Egypt. Previously I had stayed at the Santana Hotel on the other side of the Nile and I wish I'd been there rather than the City View. The service was very good. There seemed to be about a dozen people loitering about the lobby at all hours of the day, ready and willing to assist you with anything. It's the hotel itself that didn't impress me. Very shabby and oddly, similar to a 60's casino inside with blinking lights and dim lighting. As soon as I walked into my room I stepped on a huge cockroach. No biggie -- the old man who was carrying my bag laughed in embarrassment and picked it up with his fingers and pocketed it -- but it made me question the cleanliness. When my room was made up they didn't give me any more toilet paper, but I thankfully had a spare roll in my pack. Pressure in the shower was minimal, like taking a shower beneath a rain gutter, and I couldn't get the hot water to work. When I mentioned this to the clerk, he offered me a free ride to the airport as apology and he personally checked my shower. His conclusion: I needed to let it run for 15 minutes to get it hot. But I don't exactly expect to have to run water in my shower for 15 minutes before using it, so I consider that a bad mark against the hotel. The location can't be beat and I had an awesome balcony view, but I never felt fully comfortable. The next time I'm in Cairo I'll stay at the Santana or another hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

one word Tahrir

Posted Nov 3, 2011 on Hotels.com
Location, location,location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New Delhi

Comfortable and convenient

Posted Oct 9, 2011 on Hotels.com
Don't go by its looks from the outside. It is at the most convenient location, is neat and comfortable. Staff is warm and ready to help anytime. We got a nice day tour guidance from the relationship manager. The hotel is the best example of value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

BEST HOTEL IN EGYPT!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Jul 17, 2011
Amazing service, beautiful hotel, the best staff, will stay there every time I return to Egypt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2011 on Hotels.com