Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom AF

I don't think so it's afive starts hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Swimming pool it's close , Internet and wifi it's expensive The price it's unbelievable for us but if you're Egyptian you will get all most have price for every things Car parking for a day it cost 480 Egypt P a day but for valit park it cost 120 per day .
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

This is NOT a Fairmont standard

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: The Food and Beverage department, Staff and food. The decore was nice too, There is a club downstairs, which was nice too, coz i didn't have to go far
Cons: the House keeping Department could do their job better, the Front desk can be more hospitable and informative. more courteous to their guests,
Location: Nile River. And close by you have the Ramsis Square, but other than that, across the bridge thers is Zamelek
Over all, it was disappointing, the room was nice looking, but my sheets were dirty, the shutters in the room were dusty, and the bathroom blind had gum on it. the Front desk staff were uninformative and vague. When I got there the pool was under construction (main reason why I booked),. No one upon check in told me it was out of service, I didn't get any email notifications either. The hotel charges for internet and local cell phone calls, and all of their excursions are charged in American Dollars, I did the same trips, for the same number but in Egyptian pounds when i visited them on my own. The hotel told me to take the cab everywhere, because it was safer that way, although the cab drivers gave me a tour of Cairo before arriving to my destination. So i decided to ride the local bus from Cairo to Giza. With basic Arabic, and a phrase booklet you can get around easily. the only awesome aspect of the hotel was their Food and Beverage department,. The food was AMAZING and the staff was awesome too, other than that everything else sucked! For all my issues that i had, i did get compensated with complimentary breakfast, light dinner, happy hour was included in the light dinner, and complementary internet, which would have cost me 293 CAD. Thats ridiculous. So that was good, but in general, I expected soooooo much more from a Fairmont property. Oh and they did make alternative arrangements for the pool,. but it was in a hotel that was a 20 min drive. :S
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Dalia E. - Digital Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback regarding your recent stay at Fairmont Nile City. We understand your disappointment with the challenges you experienced during your stay. We are equally disturbed that we failed to provide you with the level of service expected at Fairmont Nile City . What you have described is certainly not in keeping with the standards of professional and attentive service we are known for at The Fairmont. Please rest assure that we take all the comments of our guests constructively and we take necessary steps to reduce any inconvenience in the future. We do hope to have the opportunity to regain your confidence in Fairmont Nile City once again. Thank you,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel staff needs training

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Nice hotel but the staff is careless and does not know the meaning of service. Could not get drink in lounge with staff members standing around. Same story for breakfast, we had to get our own water and silverware while the well dressed wait staff stood around. Not good for what we paid and when they claim to be a 4 star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2015
The hotel site is very nice between Zamalik area and the capital Ciro and good transfering between them .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom jersey ci

new year in cairo

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: staff and the spa
Cons: no smoking areas in the restaurants and a later time for turn down service. internet connection is also slow .Maybe egypt rather than hotel?
Location: nile and museum close
the fairmount is a world class hotel, staff were impeccable and the spa very very good. saigon restaurant was superb. only complaint i would make is no smoking areas would be good as the egyptians smoke more than any place i have visited over the last 5 years. you will not regret staying at this hotel as the staff are all so wonderful. would recommend fairmont hotels to anyone as i have never had a bad experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kuwait

Excellent hotel located at Nile corniche

Posted Dec 26, 2014
This hotel is really nice, I really enjoined the stay, staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was specious and clean with a comfortable bed. The experience was just perfect from check in till check out...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Shahzadfrom Dayton Ohio

Egypt getaway!!

Posted Dec 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Absolutely amazing hotel, the staff goes above and beyond to please you. One of the best hotels I have stayed in. There is a mall attached to the hotel so that was a plus, there is Starbucks there and other food options if you don't want to eat in the hotel. The spa was included and was amazing. You can even see the pyramids from the roof top pool on a clear day. Book this hotel, won't regret it!!
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom hamburg

Schönes Hotel, schlechte Lage und überteuert

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Das Hotel an sich ist sauber und vom hören sagen, eines der gehobenen in Kairo. Aber die Lage ( embaba) erfordert ein Taxi, um z.b kleine Einkäufe zu tätigen oder die Stadt zu erleben. Die Taxen vor dem Hotel sind sehr überteuert. Zum Hotel. Bei unserer anreise war das warmwasser nicht gut einzustellen. Mal heiß, mal kalt. Mal schwach. Das gab sich etwas am folgerst, kehrte aber immer wieder zurück. Das Frühstück war mit 90 ägyptische Pfund auf der Expedia Seite aufgelistet. Dies war vor Ort bei 150. Die Preise bei Expedia sind daher veraltet. Ein Mietwagen kostet da 150 Dollar am Tag. Parken in Hotel sind mit einer tagespauschale von 90 ägyptische Pfund überteuert und für Gäste des Hotels nicht ermäßigt. Insgesamt ein Hotel für Business people. Hübscher skypool. Für Freunde würde ich ein Hotel mehr zentral empfehlen, da die lokalen Geschäfte doch um einiges günstiger sind und das Essen außerhalb authentischer und sehr zu empfehlen ist.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Husam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom singapore

Fair, exceeded expectation

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Needs more effective staffs. Check in was not good. Miscommunications on several occasions due to language barrier.