Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.3 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
2.1 Room cleanliness
2.4 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
1.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Heshamfrom Cairo

Down Town hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
nice stay at this was in a down town Cairo
3 out of 5
Recommended
by HESHAM

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix, Arizona

Review of Gresham hotel in Cairo

Posted Nov 13, 2011
The Hotel needs to be remodelled if it wants to attract customers. New elevator needed. The only good thing of this hotel is Price- very cheap.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom 福岡、日本

ロケーションはいいです

Posted Jun 30, 2011
ロケーションはタハリール広場、タラアトハルブ広場のすぐ近くなのでいいです。ただ部屋は薄暗く、建物もかなり古いです。ただ2人のスタッフと会いましたがどちらもすごく優しい雰囲気で良かったです。あとエジプトについたばっかりでホットシャワーの出し方がわからなかっただけなのかも知れませんが、ホットシャワーが出ずにかなり寒かったです。
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

A Certain Rough Charm

Posted Apr 23, 2011 on Hotels.com
Staying here is like staying in the "Fight Club" house--the building is old and decrepit, but it's a charming sort of decrepitude. Although the first floor gave the initial appearance that the building was abandoned, a walk up several flights of stairs revealed the hotel's front desk, where the very friendly and helpful concierge showed us to a surprisingly spacious room. The only major complaint is about the bathroom, which had no hot water and a plugged shower drain that never allowed the shower stall to be completely free of standing water, which is kinda gross. But that was just one room. Overall it's a good location and a good value for the non-finicky traveler.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Switzerland

One of the worst "hotel" I have ever visited !!!

Posted Apr 23, 2011 on Hotels.com
Being able to book through internet, I thought this hotel might provide the minimum comfort. Lift doesn't work, rooms are dirty. You have to ask for towels, but after getting some, you'd rather use yours. One of the worst "hotel" I have ever visited !!!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Gresham Hostel, Cairo

Posted Dec 26, 2010 on Hotels.com
arrived there at 3 a.m nothing was ready for me, they had not prepared any rooms like I've booked, but they had y reservation, when the guy at the reception finally found me a room, he gave me room with no clean sheets and very old, the celling were about to collapse and it was very smelly. I told him that it was not the room I have asked, he said he was sorry, and gave me a better room with bathroom for the same price, but this better room was even worst, the handle of the bathroom door stayed in my hand, the sheets on the bed were not clean neither and the water in the bathroom was not working, so I just said to him it was enough, it was now 4 a.m so I took my luggage and went out on the middle of downtown to look for another hostel were I finally found one, The Canadian Hostel wich was very nice, they let me in a dorm and everything was okay for an hostel, clean sheet, clean toilets and well maintained, finally like we expect hostels are. I will not recommended this hostel to anyone especially if you are really tired and you want to rest...
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom København

Så er bunden nået

Posted Dec 16, 2010 on Hotels.com
Hotellet ligger på 3. sal med en skummel, uindbydende opgang med en meget lang trappe til 3. sal. Mit værelse lå på 4. sal, og elevatoren virkede ikke og så ud til ikke at have virket på længe. Receptionisten virkede næsten overrasket over, at jeg ønskede både toiletpapir, rent sengelinned, et håndklæde og sæbe! Ellers var receptionisten (hotellets eneste personale) flink, venlig og hjælpsom. Alt var møgbeskidt. Tilsyneladende gøres der aldrig rent på hotellet - ihvertfald ikke på værelserne. Kan ikke anbefale dette sted til nogen!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Karlsruhe

Zentral aber schlecht.

Posted Nov 27, 2010
Keine frische Bettwäsche, keine Handtücher, keine Seife, kein Toilettenpapier, kein Zimmerservice, Zimmer schmutzig, Bad eklig, Dusche nicht zu gebrauchen. Zentral am Midan Talaat Harb, 10 Minuten vom Ägyptischen Museum und Midan Tahrir. Haus von 1932 offenbar nie renoviert, abbruchverdächtig, Hinterhof voll Müll und Trümmern. Billig und zentral, sonst nichts.
1 out of 5
by Marindafrom Haiti & South Africa

Be part of a HORROR movie... stay at the Gresham!

Posted Nov 26, 2010
This is NOT a hotel. More a hostel, right out of a "Alfred Hichcock" movie..or a "Twilight Zone" series. The filthiest place I have ever seen. The entrance is in a dark back alley. No reception on the bottom floor. A steel cage from 1930, which acts as a lift, but is out of order. After carrying your luggage (if you have the guts to go further than the entrance of the building) up to the 3rd floor, you walk through old bar doors, to get to a glimsy lit room, filled with smoke. That's the hotel lounge. The furniture dates back to the 1960's, with hardly any material left on them... The room has NO INTERNET, dirty NYLON sheets, and a disgusting toilet, with no towels. The grime on the balcony ballistrates built up since the day construction was completed (many, many moons ago) $5 a night is the most the hostel can charge anyone, but even if they PAY me, I could not stay there.