Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
36% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheaper of two bad choices in Maadi, Cairo.

Posted Mar 10, 2012
This hotel is in a state of poor repair. The problem is there are really only 2 hotels in Maadi and this one is half the price of the Sofitel. I have stayed at the Sofitel too and it's not much better and certainly not worth twice the price of the Maadi Hotel. So, in the end you can just choose the Maadi Hotel based on price and make the best of it. Just keep your expectations low and you won't be disappointed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jeddah, Saudi Arabia

it is not as it was written 4 stars, it is not more than 2 stars

Posted Apr 27, 2011
The hotel need a lot of maintenace, particulary in AC, and Lefts. No Parking and you will find your self immediately in the middle of congested traffic street. So noisy at night with dog barking and people fights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bahrain

Satisfactory quality for the price.

Posted Apr 15, 2011
Having stayed at the hotel seven years before and lived in the town (suburb of Cairo) I knew what to expect and exactly what the location was. It's very close to anything you need in Maadi including the metro to go into Cairo. I had no worries about safety or security, taking usual precautions. Breakfast salads were fresh and other Egyptian-type items adequate and copious. This hotel does not cater too much to the luxury tourist trade but more for the working or business man. One can see that some years ago this hotel might have seen grander days. There is noise in the street from traffic, but not too late and the call to prayer sounds at about 5:30am. This is a Muslim country. The price was right for me and comfort was all I needed. Room cleaned, fresh and clean linens, no complaints.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cyprus

Shocked and angry

Posted Apr 1, 2009
This hotel is not 4 star it's worse than a hostel. My room had a tiny window with a view straight into the office block. The rooms a very basic. No room service, the mini bar is completely empty, no bottled water, soaps, shampoos, guide to the hotel or area, nothing! There is a strong smell of frying food. The reception staff don't speak english so can not assist you. Broadband access costs 50 pounds per day! The so called pool area is absolutely filthy, covered in scaffolding,broken tiles and the pool is empty. They won't change money or lend you an iron. If you need to iron something you'll have to pay the laundry and wait for it. The walls are paper thin and security is a joke. I was harrassed by taxi drivers phoning my room from reception! The receptionist was putting them through on the Hotel phone! There is no bar or coffee shop and the reception area is very very basic. I was too embarrassed to meet clients here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Not impressed

Posted Feb 4, 2009
The hotel lobby gives the perception of a better overall quality than the one I experienced. The hotel is clean but limited in terms of quality of furnishing, comfort, and service. The breakfast service had good selections but the food did not look good fresh to me. I do not recommend this hotel to others.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

off the beaten path

Posted Sep 12, 2008 on Hotels.com
not really convenient to anything or any sights. Unfriendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saudi Arabia

Not good enough

Posted Aug 13, 2008
the hotel is located in a good and quiet area and close to cafe and restaurants and markets, but the service is not good enough also the room is not clean comparing to other hotels in the same rate. Overall, I'm unsatisfied with the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2008
Filthy hotel...very noisy...cats are wandering around the stairs and make a lot of noise at night...smoking is everywhere and the smell gets to your room very easily...broken TV & remote...no curtain in the shower...windows are covered with molds...terrible hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ruther Glen, VA

WILL BE GOING BACK....

Posted Sep 18, 2007
Maadi Hotel is a comfortable, clean place to stay. I found the room ample in size and the bathroom clean. The bed was comfy. The help was friendly and didn't seem to anticipate tips which I found refreshing for Cairo. I found I had wireless internet service from the 8th floor which was a huge bonus. The food is good but the menu in the coffee shop is very limited and the front desk personnell could brush up on english a bit. Other than that, it is a lovely hotel. Be prepared to go back to the 70's in decor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

it was a mistake

Posted Aug 8, 2007
I think Expedia should take this hotel away from the list of choice. Worst than a one star motel!