Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Not bad for the price

Posted May 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel in general was clean and the people were nice. The rooms are all individual bungalows which can make them a bit noisy, especially when your neighbours come home at all hours of the night. I think I also had a cat on the roof one morning scratching around, which couldn't be helped but is the risk you take in a bungalow. Also, my room was facing the morning sun so if you're sensative to light, ask for a room that doesn't face east. I booked my room on hotels.com and it was $66 a night, and my friend got a different price $99. I also rang the hotel and when I asked for the rate, they asked where I was from. Does the rate change for different nationalities? I'd book on hotel.com.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Oasis Hotel, Giza - Oct 4 & 5, 2010

Posted Oct 27, 2010 on Hotels.com
overall i have to give this hotel a high rating. although the taxi drivers had a difficult time finding it, the people at the reception desk were friendly and helpful. the hotel is very close to the pyramids and offers free shuttles to downtown Cairo (warning: 20-40 mins ride away). it is definitely not a 5-star hotel but it is still quite nice and served our purposes. the cost of water at the hotel is ridiculous when compared to what it costs in stores but the pool snack bar food was reasonably priced (for hotel standards) and actually some of the better food we ended up eating in Egypt! the hotel is put to shame by some of the resort hotels we eventually stayed at in Sharm El Sheikh, but was easily nicer than a similarly priced hotel we later stayed in in downtown Cairo. hopefully this helps!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Canberra, Australia

Beautiful Gardens

Posted Apr 9, 2010
ss
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Alabama

Oasis Hotel, Cairo - Decent enough

Posted Sep 3, 2009
The hotel is near the pyramids and Sphinx. It has nice grounds, a good pool, decent food, and a number of somewhat disinterested staff members. The extensive buffet breakfasts, included, were very good, and some staff were quite nice and attentive. The "superior" rooms, like mine, are in separate buildings scattered across the grounds. My building was nice and my room even had a front porch with chairs from which one could watch the tourists coming from their buses. I saw very few Americans at the Oasis (and lots of Italians). The beds were like WWII vintage military issue with a bit of sag, but I slept fine. The TV worked and the shower was quite good. I would rate the hotel about a 3.5 to 3.75 on a 0-5 scale. It was perfectly adequate for me, and it did have location for the pyramids. The airport, though, is far, far away - an hour in traffic and they do have traffic. That's why I had pre-booked another hotel for the night before my early morning flight out of Cairo. That hotel, a solid 5.0, was great, and only 3 miles from the airport with free (5 minute) shuttle service. But the taxi ride between the two hotels took an hour. The Oasis was not the place to be if the flight out is early - at least for me, and the Cairo airport area is not the place to be if one wants convenient visits to Gisa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Good Value...Nice Hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2008
Nice, clean, comfortable hotel minutes from the pyramids. Reasonably priced with friendly, attentive staff and manicured grounds. Good restaurants within and a complimentary shuttle into Cairo several times a day. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Franconia, NH

Good Hotel/Bad Taxi Service

Posted Oct 28, 2008
The taxis at the hotel are twice the price you pay if you just step out onto the road and flag one down. I assumed that they were more reliable, but this isn't the case. One driver got so lost I missed my appointment and then he tried to charge me another LE45 because he brought me back to the hotel. It took three meetings with the taxi captain to straighten that out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Aberdeen, Scotland

An OASIS within a very busy town of cairo,

Posted Sep 12, 2008
Hotel is in good condidtion, clean, helpful and friendly staff, option to pay extra to gain internet connection @ reasonable price of 80 LE for a full day access to their wirless network. The Hotel is a little bit out of town, but it has its advantages, after a busy day in cairo, chiiling by the pool surrounded by dates palms will make you forget the buzzing madness of cairo. Hotel resturant choices are limited but it is reasonablly priced, and the food is good. I do not recommend any buffet (breadfast, lunch & dinner). There is a free shuttle bus take hotel guest into cairo free of charge, the bus runs 3-4 time return daily, drop off & collection point just behind the Egyptian Museum. If missed the free bus back to hotel, it would be around 50-65 LE to get a taxi back to OASIS, which is not bad at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Jersey Shore, PA

The hotel scenery is beautiful but the staff was horible!

Posted Aug 7, 2008
Stay at a hotel that you know. American hotel are your best bet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom London

Definitely go back

Posted Apr 3, 2008
The hotel had a very friendly atmosphere and the staff very helpful at all times. Pool area well laid out and comfortable. Good selection in buffet. Garden very peaceful and beatifully laid out and maintained. Definitly recomended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton

Hotel was ok, but a little far from the action.

Posted Mar 4, 2008
This hotel is close to the pyramids, but with the busy traffic it takes a very long time to get to the centre of Cairo. It was really hard to go out & experience the nightlife because of this. The hotel is very accomodating in providing guests with reasonable rates for cars to tour you around in, but BEWARE: the drivers get a commission of what you buy wherever they take you. They will always suggest places to eat & shop that are owned by their friends, so you won't actually get that great of a deal in the end. Unless you ask to go to specific places you search out yourself, you will be taken to a friend's shop/restaurant. The food at the hotel is mediocre & very expensive. The breakfast buffet (included in our stay) was fantastic, but the dinner buffet was overpriced & not that great. Food off the room service menu is fantastic. The pool is beautiful & the grounds are well kept. It's great that the rooms are so far back from the main road. You don't hear traffic at all! Staff is so friendly & wonderful.