Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by janet from australia

president hotel.Zamalek, Cairo

Posted May 2, 2013
Pros: good laundry service
Cons: arrogance (as above)
Location: excellent
The house staff were great. The location is quiet and good. No tour assistance other than saying take a taxi. The owner/ senior man was aloof and not of assistance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz and Mike from Carlisle, Cumbria, UK

Give it a go for a safe adventure

Posted Dec 19, 2012
Pros: the staff
Cons: needs somewhere to sit outside
Location: safe, upmarket, quiet (for Cairo) area
Our ninth stay at the President and as always the staff are wonderful. Bedrooms need updating but are clean. Reception has been updated and along with bar has free wifi. The temperamental lifts and need to redecorate are more than outweighed by the welcome. The hotel is in a very safe area, far removed from the troubles. Do visit, the hotel needs you!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Copenhagen, DK

Great location, Okay hotel.

Posted Mar 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
I have lived in Cairo for 2 month now, and I would recommend President Hotel for a few days in the city. Hotel reflects the low price, but service is great. Great view of Cairo from the top of a building. Located in Zamalek which is one of the only 'safe' areas for tourists in Cairo. Not a 4-5 star place, but it comes with simple breakfast and pretty much anything else you need. Ask for room with balcony!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from england

president zamalek

Posted Feb 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
Basic accomadation but staff very friendly Area is close to downtown but zamalek is a very diverse culture of. Restaurants and pubs For what u pay it is worth the prce
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from England

Would recommend the Hotel. Good value for money.

Posted Jan 30, 2012
Pros: Clean. Good service. Security good. Fantastic laundry service. Staff very friendly and helpful
Cons: No internet access in the room. TV Reception poor. Breakfast basic-no butter or teaspoons.
Location: Good location on Zamalek Island.
Staff very friendly, good service, clean. Breakfast OK but basic. Need internet access in the room. Nice location. Quiet
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe NM USA

President Hotel Cairo

Posted Jan 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
We stay twice in this hotel, the first time our room was not clean properly but a maid came and clean it for us, we were at the 13th floor, so it was really quit, the bed was really comfortable, so we could really sleep well. Breakfast is ok, enought to start your day, the staff was accomodating and very helpfull on booking shows and other events, most of them spoke real good english, so it was easy to communicate. Plenty hot water and the room was headed, believe it or not, it was cold in Cairo. the taxis outside are a little more expensive than the ones you can get at the street specially with a taximeter, but they all spoke english, knew were they were going and at the end you are bargaining for 1 or 2. The Zamalek area is nice considering Cairo, we were sorrounded by embassies, so is a safer area, in between Cairo and Giza, although we never felt unsafe in Cairo or Egypt in general, even when we end up walking in some not to nice areas. We had a good experience at this hotel, good value for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from amman, jordan

BELOW the expected average

Posted Nov 19, 2011
Location: garden city or dokki
All quality of the hotel service, condition or maintenance of the hotel, cleaness and comfort of the room was not that bad BUT below the expected average .... surrounding neiighborhood was too bad
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Qatar

Not fit for a President.

Posted Aug 1, 2011 on Hotels.com
Smoky room, not cleaned very well, loose corrugated iron roof banging in the wind, power cut in the morning, only 2 bars of soap appeared on day 3. I wouldn't stay there again, but some other rooms could be okay, I suppose. Lobby nice, reception good, location nice in Cairo, breakfast and internet in restaurant good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from London

Good for experienced travelers

Posted Jul 5, 2011
This hotel is good for it's price. You get breakfast and free wi fi which others which may look slightly better don't provide. You also get a shower unit in a bath, where other hotels only give you a cubicle. If you've traveled before and are happy with the basics this place is fine and the area is quite rich, you just need to take a second look. if you want all the trimmings though look elsewhere however it costs. Here there are no hidden fees